Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than skills and strategies, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical GuideA few pages into this book I was heard exclaiming 'this is such a good book', and that was just the introduction! Essentially a book about practice and skills yet underpinned by theoretical references, this will be invaluable to the new mediator and a refreshing read for the experienced practitioner, reminding us of the significance of our interventions and strategies. There is a detailed analysis of all mediator skills, for example the use of questions, with working illustrations freely given. The author brings his unique and lengthy experience to the material which includes sections on managing high conflict and emotion and advanced level strategies. It is written with great clarity. If this book is not already on compulsory reading lists for mediation training then it needs to be, and not just for mediation but for any training involving communication skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide to Mediation procedures., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
This is the most useful practical guide I have come across and have already recommended it to several colleagues.Particularly useful to Mediation Supervisors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mediation Skills and Strategies by Tony Whatling, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
However experienced a mediator you are, buy this book. Everything you need to know is covered in the most easy to read, succinct way. Of particular use is the extensive number of useful questions and reframing examples. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars readable and useful, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good and informative style of writing, there are references to other modalities to compare approaches which is helpful. Recommended reading for mediators
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mediation Skills, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
this was a very useful book and had good content It arrived very quickly and was packaged well Would recommend to others in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 25 Feb 2013
By 
N. Leslie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
I am a trainee mediator and this was just the book I was looking for. It is concise and highlights some of the core skills which are important in mediation which can be easily lost sight of. I have read this book from cover to cover and it will definately be one I will dip in to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical Guide, 28 Oct 2012
This review is from: Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
This highly readable and authoritative analysis of mediation comes at a most important time. Family mediation is moving towards becoming the major dispute resolution option for people going through separation and divorce. Tony Whatling writes with clarity and the good sense derived from over 20 years of experience of mediation. I found the book a welcome reminder of the fundamental principles underlying how mediators should make positive, respectful links with their clients,as the essential first step to helping disputing people achieve their own solutions. I particularly like Tony's useful, impartial approach in commenting on the importance of mediators understanding and working with the differences in how men and women deal with conflict. It is a valuable book for every mediator, new and experienced alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical Guide
Mediation Skills and Strategies: A Practical Guide by Tony Whatling (Paperback - 15 May 2012)
17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews