Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exhaustive if slightly old-fashioned Greek grammar
Smyth's Greek Grammar is the standard handbook of Greek Grammar. It was first published in 1918 and can seem slightly old-fashioned, but it is easy to use and has sections on every phenomenon found in the Greek: declensions, verbs, cases, syntax, clauses, morphology etc.etc. Moreover, there is a useful section with figures of speech, lists of verbs, and, of course,...
Published on 12 Sep 2001

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Smyth: Greek Grammar
For the first time, I have been thoroughly disappointed by a purchase from Amazon, not because of the content of the book, which is a well-accredited standard text, but because of the abysmally poor quality of the paper and printing, barely legible in places. I wonder if it would have been better to have bought the more expensive hard-back version; such a decision...
Published on 4 Nov 2010 by Iatros


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exhaustive if slightly old-fashioned Greek grammar, 12 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Greek Grammar (Hardcover)
Smyth's Greek Grammar is the standard handbook of Greek Grammar. It was first published in 1918 and can seem slightly old-fashioned, but it is easy to use and has sections on every phenomenon found in the Greek: declensions, verbs, cases, syntax, clauses, morphology etc.etc. Moreover, there is a useful section with figures of speech, lists of verbs, and, of course, numerous examples drawn from Classical writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Leviathon of a reference book., 12 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Grammar (Hardcover)
I should be surprised were someone to learn the Greek language from scratch using only this book as their grammar tutorial. It is simply too detailed for this purpose.

In conjunction with a smaller, more user-friendly grammar, however, it shines. Once you've learned the basics of a subject, you can use this to supplement and increase your efficacy in the chosen subject. For example, pages 313 to 337 detail the various uses of the genitive case, including possession, partitive, quality, explanation, cause and crime & accountability.

Smyth provides a hefty amount of accidence, although the cases follow Nom, Gen, Dat, Acc, Voc rather than the N V A G D that I would normally expect to encounter. The dual is explicitly catered for, instead of the passing footnotes many of the modern text books seem to espouse.

In summary, I should not recommend buying this book first. Invest in a smaller grammar and familiarise yourself with it before obtaining this weighty tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When in doubt, I ask myself 'What would Smyth do?', 31 Mar 2008
This review is from: Greek Grammar (Hardcover)
Not particularly user-friendly, but contains the answer to every possible question on Greek grammar - and with the aid of the index it's fairly easy to track down the information you need. Possibly a bit daunting for beginners, but invaluable for improvers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But don't buy the wrong edition!, 17 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Grammar (Hardcover)
Beware: there are two different products on offer here.

The black photo is the 2010 Benediction Classics edition. It is just a photographic reproduction (dot matrix!) of the 1918 first edition (510 pages, "perfect-bound"). It's not cheap. Avoid it like the plague. 1 star.

The brown photo is of the 1984 Harvard copyright-renewed edition. It was revised by Gordon Messing in 1956; it has 784 beautifully sewn together pages. It's definitely better than Goodwin and worth every penny. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior, 15 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Greek Grammar (Hardcover)
The Smyth Greek Grammar is the undisputed heavyweight champion of Attic Greek Grammars. Whether you are using it as a school, university or self reference text, you will find everything in here.
Massive declension and conjugation examples.
Exhaustive example of grammar in action throughout the text.
The most complete and comprehensive index I have come across with clarity in Morphology and Syntax.
My own Greek understanding has grown enormously since I purchased this. It really is incomparable. If it were a dictionary it would be the Unabridged Liddle and Scott. If it were a Latin Grammar it would be the Gildersleeve and Lodge. (However please be aware if I were to rank both of these side by side - and I do own both - I would rank on a scale of nought to ten, the Gildersleeve around a 5/10 and the Smyth 10/10 - yet on comparing Latin grammars only I would say Gildersleeve was one of the best - thus bringing into relief how uniquely comprehensive the Smyth grammar is)
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Smyth: Greek Grammar, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Grammar (Paperback)
For the first time, I have been thoroughly disappointed by a purchase from Amazon, not because of the content of the book, which is a well-accredited standard text, but because of the abysmally poor quality of the paper and printing, barely legible in places. I wonder if it would have been better to have bought the more expensive hard-back version; such a decision reminds me that in certain aspects traditional bookshops still have a definite advantage over Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a little difficult to navigate, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greek Grammar (Hardcover)
This grammar includes all the information I can recall needing for ancient greek - but sometimes it can take a while to find the particular article you're looking for. Not a beginners grammar, but great for more advanced use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Treat for Attic Lovers, 27 July 2012
By 
Shane Slade (Sevenoaks, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greek Grammar (Hardcover)
The 1984 hardback edition with the brown cover is the edition to buy. I do not think this comes in paperback on Amazon.

Dip into any random page and there is a rewarding exposition of any aspect of ancient greek. There is no condescension or pomposity.

The multiplicity of examples illustative of a grammatical point are often witty and memorable.

The only complaint I would have is that the type on the examples can be on small size. But then perhaps its my age!

Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As it should be, 14 Dec 2010
By 
T. R. Mortimer "G2JL" (Old Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greek Grammar (Paperback)
I bought a book I wanted, second hand. It arrived in good time. It was as described. What more can one say ? Some things have not shown up; most do; some you win, some you lose.

Thanks to all concerned, MX & HNY from TRM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa30ab2b8)

This product

Greek Grammar
Greek Grammar by Herbert Weir Smyth (Paperback - 25 April 2010)
18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews