Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Among the best of the series
If you like the Daisy series you'll enjoy this one.

All the familiar elements are in place - Daisy is in the wrong place at the right time, a selection of characters as a suspect pool, Alec roped in to investigate, interrogations for her to sit in on, and confidential confessions made to her.

After being disappointed with 9 and 10 in the series -...
Published on 26 July 2011 by Janet, Book Addict

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad - but why not read the real thing instead?
If you're a fan of crime writers of the old-fashioned sort, like Agatha Christie or Dorothy L Sayers, then you might like this modern take on a 1920s country house murder mystery. It's full of titled posh people with names like Binkie and Teddy, a mixture of cads and good eggs, and there's a Cluedo-like puzzle to solve - who didn't come down to tea/who was lurking in the...
Published on 4 Mar 2012 by Bookwoman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Among the best of the series, 26 July 2011
If you like the Daisy series you'll enjoy this one.

All the familiar elements are in place - Daisy is in the wrong place at the right time, a selection of characters as a suspect pool, Alec roped in to investigate, interrogations for her to sit in on, and confidential confessions made to her.

After being disappointed with 9 and 10 in the series - this one is back on form. Daisy is at her best in a country house with a selection of aristocrats - one of whom is a murderer. Witty dialogue, "upstairs downstairs" atmosphere and familiar characters such as Lucy & Binkie who are very central to the plot of this book, as well as Sergeant Tring and DC Piper.

PS I can't help wondering if Daisy eventually sets up home in Midsommer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first meeting and shes got me gripped, 12 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not come across this writer before, which is odd as I am a prolific reader of historical novels and detective stories! This was on special offer in the Kindle sale so I grabbed it and I am now hooked!
I enjoyed the light hearted and elegant style of this, and found it an easy and enjoyable read. Its not for those who want a blood thirsty murder mystery, its very calm and dignified. I have already downloaded the next 2 in the series and no doubt will be grabbing the rest as well.
Very much in the Georgette Heyer detective stories style, a bit Agatha Christie 'ish!
Well worth a read if you like this sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad - but why not read the real thing instead?, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Bookwoman - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Mourning Wedding (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
If you're a fan of crime writers of the old-fashioned sort, like Agatha Christie or Dorothy L Sayers, then you might like this modern take on a 1920s country house murder mystery. It's full of titled posh people with names like Binkie and Teddy, a mixture of cads and good eggs, and there's a Cluedo-like puzzle to solve - who didn't come down to tea/who was lurking in the conservatory? etc - before the final revelation of whodunnit at the end.
Or you might hate it for being a pale and rather pointless imitation of the real thing. I was torn between the two. This is my first Daisy Dalrymple mystery - up until now I've been put off by that twee name and the titles and cover designs - and I was surprised: this was more than just a pastiche and I quite enjoyed it. It was clever and it had an authentic twenties feel.
But in the end I found it all a bit too light and superficial. There's little sense of danger, fear or suspense: a ruthless killer was at large in this house yet no-one seemed to be taking it very seriously, so neither could I. Should the tone be so Bertie Wooster-ish, when there's a dead body lying on the floor?
There's no sex or violence of course, fine by me, but not a lot of real emotion either. It's all very well to mimic those 1920s stiff upper lips, but some of these characters come a bit too close to being caricatures. There are an awful lot of them, too, so the complicated family tree was helpful, but it's not a good sign when you keep having to refer to it to remember who's who right the way through to the end.
And would a Scotland Yard detective have been drafted in to take over the case, particularly as he knew some of the house guests/suspects, and one of them was his wife? And at the end, after ploughing through all that detail and all that police procedure, it's wrapped up far too abruptly. Daisy just pulls the solution out of a hat, which I found neither satisfying nor convincing.
If you're looking for an undemanding and inoffensive whodunnit to pass the time on a journey, then it's worth giving Carola Dunn a try.
I don't know whether I'll bother with any more, there's plenty of the real thing to choose from, after all - Agatha Christie alone wrote over eighty books like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Country House Murder Mystery, 10 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mourning Wedding (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
The Honourable Daisy Dalrymple, now Mrs Daisy Fletcher and newly-pregnant, refuses to miss seeing her best friend Lucy Fotheringay follow her into wedded bliss, so is delighted to be invited to the huge 'bells-on' event at Lucy's grandfather's country house estate of Haverhill. Lucy, however, is less than pleased by the whole event, which she only agreed upon to keep her mother and sweet-but-gullible groom 'Binkie' Gerald Bincombe's parents happy. So she persuades Daisy to come down a few days early, without her beloved husband, Scotland Yard Chief Inspector Alec, to save her from the hoardes of family and hangers-on who will be converging on Haverhill for the big event.
As it turns out, the big event is not a wedding, but a murder, when the morning after Daisy's arrival, Lucy's great-aunt - the matriarchal gossip Lady Eva Devenish - is found strangled in her bed. The wedding is postponed, Alec is summoned early from London and instead of arriving at the house as a guest, is now in the unenviable position of having to find a murderer among the wedding guests, as well as trying to take care of his well-meaning but curious wife, who will insist on finding out things. Then there is another murder, and Alec now finds himself and his men racing against time to solve the crimes before the villain can strike again...

'A Mourning Wedding' is one of the better ones of this 'cosy' murder mystery series set in the 1920s. All the 'usual suspects' are there - Daisy and Alec, of course, along with Tom Tring, Ernie Piper, Lucy and Binkie/Gerald - with some interesting characters in the form of Lucy's numerous family members and their servants, many of whom apparently had motive or opportunity to commit murder. The solution is very satisfying, and one of those where you go 'Oh, yes...!' in your head! The only slight niggle I had with it was I found it a little difficult to remember who was who and related to whom at first, because they all had very similar names, if not the same surname, so I could have done with a list! But overall, well worth a read, particularly if you like this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deaths and weddings, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lucy Fotheringay is getting married and her old friend Daisy Dalrymple, now married to Alec Fletcher, Scotland Yard detective, are invited to spend a few days in the country at Haverhill - Lucy's grandfather's country estate. Daisy hopes to write an article about society weddings but that idea falls by the wayside when Lady Eva - one of the family - is found strangled. All the guests are suspect and the wedding has to be called off.

Naturally Alec Fletcher is called in to investigate one of the most complicated cases of this entertaining series. All the guests have motives for doing away with Lady Eva who is a great collector of scandal and may or may not be a blackmailer. When another member of the family is found dead in the conservatory things get worse for everyone.

Alec and his assistants - Detective Sergeant Tring and Detective Constable Ernie Piper - are totally puzzled by the case and it takes a few insights from Daisy to set them on the right track. I enjoyed this story - which is darker than some - and I thought all the characters were very well drawn, even the minor ones. I also like the developing relationship between Alec and Daisy and their sometimes prickly, friendship with Lucy. Overall this is an enjoyable read and can be read as a standalone novel though it is part of a series which started with Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple Mystery 1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fine plot, 8 Sep 2011
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One advantage of writing a series such as this is that one doesn't have to invent new central characters each time, but one does still have to dream up a decent mystery in which to place them. It may be that Dunn has come up with the goods this time because she places Daisy et al back in her natural surroundings: an English country house surrounded by a large number of bonkers aristos, seemingly any of whom could have done it or indeed been next to have it done to them. The villain isn't obvious and there's a convincing twist whereby Mrs Fletcher steers Mr Fletcher in the right direction without making him look too ridiculous. Highly satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Daisy triumph, 21 Aug 2011
By 
Robert Ward (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Mourning Wedding (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
The engaging - and now married - Daisy is invited to her friend Lucy's super-posh wedding, where, to everyone's alarm and dismay there is some skullduggery going on that taxes even Daisy's ingenuity. Through some twists and turns, Daisy, with her husband's help, gets to the startling truth. As usual with the Daisy series, Carola Dunn - wittingly or otherwise - comes up with some intriguing puzzles, and not least of the interest - to me, at least- is what goes on outside the novel. Here for instance, although Alec and Daisy unmask the villain and even get a confession, with a good defence team at the trial the prosecution would have a hard job even proving murder, let alone convicting the alleged perpetrators! Did the author intend that, I wonder, or was it just serendipity?

But a great read - I heartily recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 10 Aug 2011
By 
Gwen Madoc "Gwen" (Swansea, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book a lot and the plot was very satisfying. Daisy Dalrymple is a delightful character. The pace bowled along nicely and good pace is something I always look for in a novel of this genre.
Initially I was confused with all the characters' names given to me at the start but once I met each one they sorted themselves out. I shall be reading more of this aurthor's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good old Daisy, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mourning Wedding (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
I love Daisy! This book was a bit heavier going for me just because of the sheer number of characters! So very many Fotheringays etc I kept getting confused as to who was related to whom and how. Still, a crack in good read and as usual a satisfactory outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daisy does it again., 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Invited to her best friends wedding at the family home,huge house acres of land. The family gather, a confusion of old and young. An elderly is found dead, the local police are called at Daisys insistence. Lucy, the bride persuades her grandfather to call in Scotland Yard. Alex and team are sent, then a second body is found. It's not an easy case,too many Lords,Ladies and their honourable children. Alec, Tom Tring and Ernie Piper with an inspired idea from Daisy solve the crime. Loved it, looking for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Mourning Wedding (Daisy Dalrymple)
A Mourning Wedding (Daisy Dalrymple) by Carola Dunn (Paperback - 15 July 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews