Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love takes people to dark places
Sam Taylor is was raised by a single mother who marries a man who turns into a violent step-father and Sam becomes one of the many young men who are thrown out of their `family' homes by a man who usurps the role of head of householder without choosing to serve as father. After a few years of roughing it, Sam turns his life around, at least on the material level, and...
Published on 6 Jun 2011 by Kay Sexton

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I'm missing something but...
...it seems I'm in the minority in not exactly being overwhelmed by this novel. I found it a fairly decent, though not spectacular read if I'm honest and this is the sort of book that I will easily forget about now that I've finished it. I'm not knocking the writing style, which was certainly appealing enough- its just I found it hard to feel any kind of connection or...
Published on 10 Aug 2011 by Nicola F (Nic)


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The dangers of chemistry..., 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird and the Bear (Paperback)
The Hummingbird and the Bear is a real page-turner - I rushed through it and then regretted it! The book opens at a very sedate and middle-class wedding in the Cotswolds but quickly turns into a fast-paced romantic thriller.

An exploration of love, chemistry, adultery, `the one', conforming, choices, fragility, dysfunctional families etc Hogg brilliantly captures the emotions of the central character as he embarks on his journey.

The only downsides - there were a couple of cliches (I won't mention them as I don't want to spoil the ending!) and I didn't much like any of the characters. However neither of these things stopped me really really enjoying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hummingbird and the Bear by Nicholas Hogg, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Hummingbird and the Bear (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book. The portrayal of the main character developed depth as the story progressed. I particularly enjoyed the way in which the novel gained pace from a leisurely beginning in the Cotzwolds to a frenetic and taut conclusion. By the second half, it was very hard to put down. The ending was very believable but entirely unpredictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put this book down!, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Hummingbird and the Bear (Paperback)
For someone who mainly reads autobiographies,this book was recommended to me and i found it a great read.It really painted vivid pictures in my mind,of the people involved,of the places&events it is set around and of the relationships of the characters.

You could really feel the emotions of Sam,Kay,Chris and Jenni and Nicholas Hogg's success with this book is that it is set a such a pace and build up of tension. You don't want to put the book down,as you want to know what happens next.

The exploration of Sam and Kay's past upbringing in particular,helped you understand the characters and whilst their actions were dysfunctional and a little crazy you still had some empathy towards them.This book interestingly explores the somewhat irrational nature that human emotion is capable of.

Sam seems to have it all,a loving fiance(Jenni)a good job and quality of life,especially after much turmoil in his formative years.However a chance meeting with the intriguing married(to Chris Segur)American Kay at a friends wedding changes everything.This leads to a rollercaster of emotional risk taking,that challenges both their lives and ultimately their partners.

It is set against the financial crisis of 2008,but for me this is a minor part of the plot,except it's the reason Sam ends up in New York.However his feelings for Kay was the driver for that destructive decision.The journey's/chases towards the end of the book are action packed and you are almost nervous to turn the next page,as to what has happened!

I thoroughly recommend this excellent and thought provoking Nicholas Hogg book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, enthralling novel, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Hummingbird and the Bear (Paperback)
As mentioned in another review - many of the themes in this book are usually found in "chick lit" and that is one of the reasons that this book is good and Hogg an outstanding author - he delves into the psyche of characters and takes us to the dark places of personalities. The actions and reactions of the characters in this book are true to their personalities, and futility and the meaning of happiness are very cleverly explored and questioned, yet left to the reader to draw conclusions on. This is a great novel - the action, the humour, the darkness and the very original twists and turns make it very hard to put down. My only minor criticism is Hogg refers to Sonic Youth as a Seattle band, when we all know they are from New York and were around long before "Grunge" started :-). Well done a brilliant novel Mr Hogg, I anxiously await the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dangerous liaison, 22 Sep 2011
The Hummingbird and the Bear is the story of a passionate and dangerous love affair.

What starts in a beautiful and perfect wedding in the English countryside develops into a dark transatlantic adventure from New York to the Mexican border, entwined through flashbacks with the characters' lives, taking in a working-class childhood in 70s Midlands, the unemployment doldrums of 80s Britain, the Seattle Grunge scene of the 90s, and the financial boom-and-bust world of the 00s.

A real page-turner I found hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 6 Aug 2011
love......... how to live it how to deal with it... it just happens.. that is what the author lets us understand and we all know how true that is. A great read.......a great truth. Read it enjoy it and think about it. Amazing how much a woman can allow for love.. i highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic tale - a modern classic?, 8 July 2011
Just finished The Hummingbird and the Bear. What a cracking read. Infatuation, adultery, deceit, poverty, desperation, addiction, crime, family dysfunctionality, a car crash, jealousy, rage, blood, bullets, a chase, an escape...and I'd better not spoil the ending. Just hope we don't have to wait as long again for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hummingbird and the Bear
The Hummingbird and the Bear by Nicholas Hogg (Paperback - 26 May 2011)
9.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews