Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Cat Lovers
Excellent book by an excellent writer, extremely well written too. This book is compelling reading, I wept and rejoiced reading this true story. Highly recommended read, for cat lovers or nature lovers, ect. Cheers.
Published on 26 Sept. 2010 by Mrs. J. M. Atkinson

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy cat memoir - not as good as Paw Tracks in the Moonlight
I read this book in great anticipation having read it's predecessor "Paw Tracks in the Moonlight" about the author's very special cat, Toby Jug, and their adventures. Admittedly that in itself was a bit of a guilty pleasure but it tugged at the heart strings and as a cat lover the tales (pardon the pun) made me chuckle. It also has a number of beautiful colour plates in...
Published on 23 Oct. 2011 by Open Ears


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Cat Lovers, 26 Sept. 2010
By 
Mrs. J. M. Atkinson "J.M. Atkinson" (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage (Paperback)
Excellent book by an excellent writer, extremely well written too. This book is compelling reading, I wept and rejoiced reading this true story. Highly recommended read, for cat lovers or nature lovers, ect. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Purrfect Read., 22 Oct. 2010
By 
A. McCarthy (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage (Paperback)
Another beautiful book by the wonderful Mr O'Connor. Anyone who has read and enjoyed Paw Tracks in the Moonlight will love this sequel. I thoroughly enjoyed this update of Denis's life with his wife and their beloved cats in the wild Northumbrian countryside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read for lovers of cats and countryside., 29 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage (Paperback)
After having read "Paw Tracks in the Moonlight" I couldn't wait to read this second book. It's a simply wonderful story and cat lovers cannot fail to be enchanted by the escapades and daily behaviours of these fantastic Maine Coons, and the dedication of their owner. Descriptions of the beautiful Northumbrian landscape, too, are a delight for nature lovers. But alongside the humour and entertainment which the author gains from his beloved pets, there is tragedy which the reader can readily share with Denis O'Connor. I was so gripped by this book, "Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage", that I re-read "Pawtracks in the Moonlight" and this similarly lovely tale of Toby Jug meant even more to me with a second reading. Will there be a third book next year I wonder - I hope so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More mesmerising feline magic., 6 Nov. 2010
By 
P. A. Noddles "mrboots" (Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage (Paperback)
Once again Denis has given us an insight into the wonderful world of his beloved felines, this time his cherished Pablo Carlos Max & Luis. I have the honour and pleasure of knowing Denis & his lovely wife Catherine and have visited them on many occasions and he is every bit the emotional sensitive and caring man, who comes across in this beautiful book.I am a bookseller at Waterstones in Durham and we had a signing with Denis recently and I only wish that everyone who has read and loved his books could meet this sweet sweet man, my life has certainly been enriched by knowing him. Pablo, Carlos and of course the incomparable Toby Jug were very lucky felines. Now Max & Luis have the unadulterated pleasure of being looked after, loved and cherished by Denis & Catherine. If you are an animal lover, nature lover or just want to lose yourself in a beautiful feel good book then please please read this beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy cat memoir - not as good as Paw Tracks in the Moonlight, 23 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage (Paperback)
I read this book in great anticipation having read it's predecessor "Paw Tracks in the Moonlight" about the author's very special cat, Toby Jug, and their adventures. Admittedly that in itself was a bit of a guilty pleasure but it tugged at the heart strings and as a cat lover the tales (pardon the pun) made me chuckle. It also has a number of beautiful colour plates in it which make it a little different to the standard "pet memoir".

I was really hoping for more of the same with Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage and to a degree this was what I got. However, while there are a number of amusing anecdotes, quite a few of these still recount the days of Toby Jug, despite the fact that by the end of this book, O'Conor has four more cats to write about! There are also times when the book lapses into quite prolonged descriptions of each cat's appearance and character which to the reader who has not known any of them, can seem to drag a little.

That said, it is a nice light-hearted read which I think most cat lovers would enjoy, if few others. There's a definite cosy contentment with life that comes across strongly in O'Conor's memoir and that in itself makes for a pleasant and relaxing reading experience. What's more, it is clear that if there is one thing that the author loves almost as much as cats (apart from maybe his wife and his two time home Owl Cottage) it is words and relishing using them. This comes across strongly in many of the lovely descriptive sections and I suspect that the opportunity to express himself in this way really underlies this book as much as the wish to continue and round off the story of Owl Cottage and the cats that have lived and apparently still live there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful story, 20 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage (Paperback)
Another beautifully written book to complement the original book- couldn't put it down and read it in a day.
cried a couple of times but it was so sensitive and detailed-passed it to my two daughters to read aged 14 and 11-they enjoyed the first one so much.Shirley Ambler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maine Coon cats, besotted with them, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
Mrs. Joyce Lees "Joyce Lees" (Tamworth, Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage (Paperback)
Having read Denis's earlier book PAW TRACKS IN THE SNOW, I was so pleased to hear that he had written another follow up book. It was so good to hear how things had moved on in his life and how he came to have another Main Coon, although ends up with 4. His description of their lives with the "Boys" is most enjoyable, moving, upsetting, funny, loving and his understanding of them and patience is just how you would like it to be for yourself. Cannot wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 13 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage (Paperback)
A beautifully written account of life with maine coon cats at owl cottage, if you love and have ever owned cats then this is a must read for you. equally as enchanting as the previous book, paw tracks in the snow. i could related to lots of the antics with the cats especially carlos the silver boy. it brought me to tears and made me smile. i do hope dennis o'connor will contine to write about life with his wife catherine and their lovely cats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cat lover's delight, 23 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommended to me by another cat lover, I found the book very moving in places and especially informative about Maine Coon cats. Denis O'Connor is certainly an expert in cat psychology and an entertaining author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paw tracks at Owl Cottage, 1 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage (Paperback)
Having read Paw Tracks in the Moonlight last year I was delighted to receive Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage for my birthday last week. This is such a lovely book, written in Denis O'Connor's unique style. Somehow he draws the reader into his magical world where care for the animals and the environment are high on the agenda. Any cat lover, animal lover or nature lover will be enchanted with this book. I couldn't put it down, but now I'm sorry to have finished it. His rapport with his cats is just amazing, and the stories will stay with me for a long time to come. This is a book you will want to read, to savour, and then to share with others. Will there be a further installment from Owl Cottage? I do hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage
Paw Tracks at Owl Cottage by Denis O'Connor (Paperback - 7 Oct. 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews