Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining as always
In Buss, England, thirty-eight-year-old Fellworth Dolphin is still a virgin in more ways than just the sexual. The depressed Fellworth Dolphin knows life has passed him by. He works as a waiter at a local hotel during the day and cares for his chronic complaining mother at night. Fell has no hope for a future until the evening he came home from work and sees his widowed...
Published on 13 Feb. 2001 by Harriet Klausner

versus
54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE ODD COUPLE...
I have read and loved many of the other British cozies written by this author. In fact, she has written a number of series: Agatha Raisin, Hamish Macbeth, and the Edwardian Mystery series. I have enjoyed them all. This one, however, does not compare favorably.

The author introduces the character of Fellworth Dolphin, a nearly forty year old virgin who comes...
Published on 23 Aug. 2010 by Lawyeraau


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining as always, 13 Feb. 2001
By 
In Buss, England, thirty-eight-year-old Fellworth Dolphin is still a virgin in more ways than just the sexual. The depressed Fellworth Dolphin knows life has passed him by. He works as a waiter at a local hotel during the day and cares for his chronic complaining mother at night. Fell has no hope for a future until the evening he came home from work and sees his widowed mother sitting in her armchair. She is dead.

To his shock, Fell inherits a fortune which enrages him even more towards his parents as they blackmailed him into giving up the university to bring in income to ensure the family never starved. He begins to wonder where the loot came from and wonders if his father, a railroad signalman, was involved in an unsolved train robbery. Fell begins to investigate the train robbery accompanied by Maggie Partlett the waitress who is also equally emotionally deprived. As they work together making inquires, they begin to fall in love, but neither one was ever the recipient of unselfish love. Will they recognize their feelings before the danger they stirred with their sleuthing causes permanent harm? What will the truth do to the already fractured psychological psyches of two individuals with deep emotional scars?

THE SKELETONS IN THE CLOSET is a delightful amateur sleuth tale, but not quite at the level of M.C. Beaton's wonderful Raisin or MacBeth novels. The characters make the story line gel, but readers will feel anger and pity for the stars, who allowed emotional blackmail to cripple them. That reaction by the audience slows down a tale that fails to attain the mark of excellence expected by Ms. Beaton's fans.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE ODD COUPLE..., 23 Aug. 2010
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have read and loved many of the other British cozies written by this author. In fact, she has written a number of series: Agatha Raisin, Hamish Macbeth, and the Edwardian Mystery series. I have enjoyed them all. This one, however, does not compare favorably.

The author introduces the character of Fellworth Dolphin, a nearly forty year old virgin who comes into a tidy little inheritance when his cold, unfeeling mother dies. As he and his mother had lived a working class existence when his mother was alive, Fellworth is both surprised and confused by the wealth of riches to which he suddenly finds himself heir,

Fellworth buddies up with a Plain Jane, Maggie Partlett, a waitress at the same hotel in which he also waits on tables. When Maggie moves in with Fellworth, they both begin to blossom, as does love. Together they seek to solve the mystery of Fellworth's surprising inheritance.

The problem with the book is that the characters are neither particularly well-developed nor engaging, nor is the plot all that intriguing. The dialogue is tepid, and the pace is languorous. That being said, fans of this author will derive a modicum of enjoyment from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read., 9 Aug. 2001
This is another great mystery by M.C.Beaton although very different from his usual series but that's why I liked it. It moves to a different part of the country with two main charactors who you feel a great deal of sympathy for. As the story progresses they both begin to turn from very forlorn sad people into lively and interesting subjects both having there individual problems. Along with this is the mystery surrounded with plenty of suspects again the book keeps you in suspense and I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, it's ok, 19 Aug. 2011
Having not read any of this kind of "cozy mystery" type books before I wasn't sure what to expect. The result was an easy to read, unchallenging, straightforward mystery story. You won't find anything earth shattering in this book but at the same time it is perfectly readable on a rainy afternoon with a cuppa.

The story follows Fellworth Dolphin after the death of his mother. He comes into money he never knew his parents had and starts to discover that his family has "skeletons in the closet" and, along with his "fiance" Maggie tries to unearth the events connected to his inheritance.

The book loses stars because the plot is fairly predictable and is rushed in some places. I also found Fellworth annoying. He came across as a whiny, petulant, ungrateful person and I found it hard to believe Maggie's constant adoration for him.

It was an OK book and does the job if you want a quick uncomplicated read but it has not inspired me to read any more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cash in the attic, 18 July 2011
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Skeleton in the Closet (Paperback)
As usual with M.C. Beaton this is a well-written and light-hearted mystery story. Fellworth Dolphin unexpectedly inherits a small fortune from his parents and, despite his previously timid nature, sets out to unearth a few family secrets. I picture him as being a little like Timothy out of the BBC sitcom Sorry with Ronnie Corbett.

Even though this is up to the author's usual standard and style, there is the usual problem (common to Agatha Christie) that you tend to miss the familiar gang of characters when a stand-alone book comes out. I found myself longing for Agatha Raisin and the Cotswolds or Hamish Macbeth and his beloved village of Lochdubh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars garnetstone, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't it enjoy it very much but it was a read. I guessed the ending long before I should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not very good very basic, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
expected better than a story that has been collected from old news pieces found it very basic and did not really whant to read the next page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good idea for a story but overall it turned out to be a bit disappointing. Two really drippy main characters who were difficult to feel any sympathy for. At no point did I feel like I was eager to get to the end to see the mystery solved, more like I wanted to get it over and done with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Her Best..., 21 Jan. 2013
MC Beaton is one of my favourite authors but this was well below her usual high standard-perhaps one of her earlier works. I would recommend that you give this one a miss. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth 99p, 13 Mar. 2012
By 
S. J. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I took a punt on this as a 99p kindle offer of the day. Sadly I wish I'd saved my pennies. The main characters are made of cardboard, and the author pins emotional responses on them that make no sense - although apparently buying new furniture is the perfect response to being threatened with a gun. Mind you, I am in awe of the heroine. She managed to buy two new beds, get them delivered and have the old beds picked up and taken away all in the space of one morning. I would kill for that level of administrative expertise - maybe that explains the plot which veers crazily from tedious domestic trivia to wild revelations about parentage, train robberies and murder with scarcely a paragraph break between.

Seriously, take your 99p and go to McD's for a burger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Skeleton in the Closet
The Skeleton in the Closet by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 23 Jun. 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews