Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars37
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2010
While this Amelia outing was as always quite entertaining it lacks the panache of her other books, for the first time I did not devour this at one sitting. Perhaps it is almost time for Amelia and Emerson to hang up their boots and enjoy their twilight years happily harassing all and sundry wherever they be. I for one would like to see the threads joining this series and the Vicki Bliss stories brought to an elegant conclusion.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
not as good as her others. It was quite shallow and did not have much of a plot line, the impression I have received is that she has run out of ideas for Amelia & Emerson, they were not as dreadful as they usually are.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
I read all of these books years ago, and was delighted to find them on Kindle. They are just as amusing as I thought them then and at least they attempt to show an Egypt we can believe in and I took kindly to the characters and still enjoy them
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
I love Amelia & her family & was thrilled to see one more title. Unfortunately this flattered to deceive as it was thin on the ground plotwise & lacking in suspense. I hope the next attempt at an 'infill' will have more punch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Have read all of this authoresses Amelia Peabody books, they are excellent entertainment, amusing, historically interesting,
she is the best as far as I am concerned, would recommend to anyone interested in Egyptology etc.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I am mad about Egypt and its history and to have such wonderful characters and animals just makes its perfect. I have them all on my Kindle and would now like to have the actual books as I would read them again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
This takes some getting used to, because it has to be fitted into its correct chronological slot in the Peabody/Emerson family saga. But it is vintage Elizabeth Peters - well worth reading!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
Another winner from Elizabeth Peters. Thoroughly enjoyed this whole series of books and was saddened to hear there would be no more Amelia books for me to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
This book fills in some of the missing years from the Peabody saga. Elizabeth Peters manages to take us back without any slips of continuity - that I spotted.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
I always enjoy books written by this author and this book
is no exception. Once you have read one of her books
You have to read them all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.