Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant
Pleasant. Not a bad thing at all, in my view. All of the Amelia Peabody novels are pleasant and that is sometimes all that one wants. This book was quite gripping too. It also had the advantage of taking a step back in time to when the Emerson 'clan' was not as large. It felt like that created fewer distractions and added depth to the characterisation.

Many...
Published on 25 May 2010 by S. Morris

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rambling and half-hearted attempt to continue the series
Set in 1910, this is another of the books that skips back in time (like Guardian of the Horizon (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery)) and is set immediately after that book and before the fateful Falcon at the Portals (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery). With war with Germany on the horizon, the Emersons are drawn into the pre-war machinations in the middle east. Ramses has taken...
Published on 31 July 2010 by Roman Clodia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rambling and half-hearted attempt to continue the series, 31 July 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Set in 1910, this is another of the books that skips back in time (like Guardian of the Horizon (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery)) and is set immediately after that book and before the fateful Falcon at the Portals (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery). With war with Germany on the horizon, the Emersons are drawn into the pre-war machinations in the middle east. Ramses has taken himself off to Samaria to put some space between him and Nefret, while the older Emersons are drawn into British pre-war intelligence - but, as usual, nothing goes quite to plan.

I was really looking forward to Emerson taking on the old testament but this is sadly a slow paced book which never really engages with any of the plot points that it sets up at the start. While Amelia is as spiky as ever, this novel lacks the levels and sub-plots that have made the earlier books in the series so wonderful, and also lacks emotional finesse, so that nothing new is discovered and nothing is ever really at stake.

The pacing is also deficient: Amelia doesn't even get to make one of her famous lists till p.279 of a 304 page narrative, a mark of the rambling story that feels like it's scene-setting until the end is suddenly upon us.

So if you're following the series then it's almost impossible not to read this, but this really isn't a good place to start for new readers. The earlier books are far richer, funnier, sometimes emotionally tense and just full of a kind of joie de vive that is conspicuously lacking here: I did enjoy this in a half-hearted kind of way, but the falling off in standards is everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anticipation not fulfilled, 22 Jan 2011
By 
Dogservant (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed the Peabody journals for years, even seeking out titles in New York that I couldn't get easily in UK, but......for the first time I have put this story down half finished.
Other reviewers are right, it's slow in pace & seems to have been an effort to create a decent plot. Amelia's narrative is not as witty as heretofore, (or maybe I've read too many & am a little jaded!)
Pleasant for bed time reading & I will finish it, but will not be quite so keen to seek out the next installment, sorry Ms Peters, you have served me so well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A River in the Sky, 20 Jun 2010
By 
Bruce I. Jamieson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is number nineteen in a series of books by Elizabeth Peters about an archaeologist Amelia Peabody and her family. The first eighteen books detail their escapades in Egypt where their lives as archaeologists are carefully intertwined with ancient Egyptian finds and modern detective fiction, as Elizabeth Peters blends real Egyptologists with fictional people. This book number nineteen in the series has Amelia Peabody in Israel where she is involved more in detection than in archaeology.
I hope her next book will return to the digging up the past rather than dealing with her detective role as it is in her writing about archaeology where she excells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible truth from a Peabody fan... I gave up reading!, 21 Nov 2011
By 
A. M. Henderson (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A River in the Sky (Amelia Peabody) (Paperback)
As a long standing fan of Amelia Peabody and E.Peters I have to admit the terrible truth... I gave up after about 20 pages! Such a boring, contrived, uninteresting book I have not had in my hands for a very long time.
There is no story to speak about, the jokes are tedious at best, there is no pace, no mystery...sorry but I would not recommend this book to anyone. If I could give it zero stars -that would be my choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, 25 May 2010
By 
S. Morris (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pleasant. Not a bad thing at all, in my view. All of the Amelia Peabody novels are pleasant and that is sometimes all that one wants. This book was quite gripping too. It also had the advantage of taking a step back in time to when the Emerson 'clan' was not as large. It felt like that created fewer distractions and added depth to the characterisation.

Many crime novels, particularly when the series runs to so many books, can seem a bit formulaic, but that seems to matter less with the Amelia Peabody books than with others. The writing is excellent and very entertaining, as ever.

Ultimately, it may boil down to a matter of expectations. If you want to relax, have a grin and learn a bit along the way, then please choose this book. If one is after a historical tour-de-force, then perhaps 'Crime' isn't the right category to be looking in.

By the way, I would love there to be a book in which Emerson is left to his own devices. It could be a little too close to home, mind you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing read, 23 July 2011
This review is from: A River in the Sky (Amelia Peabody) (Paperback)
I am a huge Peabody fan and bought the book in great anticipation, which explains the great feeling of disappointment. The plot is as shallow as described by other fellow readers, with the writer starting off so slowly I dropped off to sleep the first 8 chapters, and then providing half-hearted conclusions to all subplots too quickly in too few words, leaving me open-mouthed with disbelief and sadly, relief, when I reached the final page. Most importantly, the narrative lacks the dry humor which I had greatly enjoyed in the Peabody series. Perhaps the time has come, as the unfortunate practice has been in the industry, for a ghost writer to write instead of E.Peters herself?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A River in the Sky, 4 Jun 2010
not as good as her others. It was quite shallow and did not have much of a plot line, the impression I have received is that she has run out of ideas for Amelia & Emerson, they were not as dreadful as they usually are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Joyce Holmes "bookhound" (Lincoln.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While this Amelia outing was as always quite entertaining it lacks the panache of her other books, for the first time I did not devour this at one sitting. Perhaps it is almost time for Amelia and Emerson to hang up their boots and enjoy their twilight years happily harassing all and sundry wherever they be. I for one would like to see the threads joining this series and the Vicki Bliss stories brought to an elegant conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love these books but found this more bitty and confusing. However this did not really spoil my enjoyment of this fascinating family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A River in the Sky, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read all of this authoresses Amelia Peabody books, they are excellent entertainment, amusing, historically interesting,
she is the best as far as I am concerned, would recommend to anyone interested in Egyptology etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A River in the Sky (Amelia Peabody)
A River in the Sky (Amelia Peabody) by Elizabeth Peters (Paperback - 21 April 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews