Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gents Bedside Book
I bought this book as a gift but dont you always look through a book before you wrap it up. It looked like a good fun read - designed to occupy the reader for the last few minuts of the day before you go sleep - assuming you have nothing better to do! Had great tips on such things as how to grow a moustache, how to open your champagne with your trusty sword some chat up...
Published on 14 Jan. 2011 by Jean P.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars what oh!
Good tips for today's gentlemen, and for those not in the gentleman's class.
A useful guide don't you think Jeeves
Published 11 months ago by sdt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gents Bedside Book, 14 Jan. 2011
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bedside Book: Entertainment for the Last Fifteen Minutes of the Day (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift but dont you always look through a book before you wrap it up. It looked like a good fun read - designed to occupy the reader for the last few minuts of the day before you go sleep - assuming you have nothing better to do! Had great tips on such things as how to grow a moustache, how to open your champagne with your trusty sword some chat up lines and some unusual swear words and heaps more. All the essential hints a chap needs - should be on every bedside table - you'll be awake for ages and will want to them share with everyone at work the next morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book every gentleman should own, 29 Nov. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another book I got because of the title thinking it will be another attempt at being funny. This book is not only funny but it's also extremely clever. You can learn something about world around you. I will now pay more attention to abbreviations in my patients record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prezzi, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bedside Book: Entertainment for the Last Fifteen Minutes of the Day (Hardcover)
Brought this for my boyfriend who loved it. Ideal as a fun, sightly quirky birthday prezzi. Also ideal to be kept in the bathroom for when you need a giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for your Kindle, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice bedtime read - bed you can't just read one topic- supposed to help you get off to sleep - made me laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars what oh!, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good tips for today's gentlemen, and for those not in the gentleman's class.
A useful guide don't you think Jeeves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it!!, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book. Well worth reading, although don't try reading it straight through as you would if you were reading a novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Item was as ordered, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I Chose this rating as the item was as ordered and as how I expected
delivery was as stated when ordered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Funny in parts..., 6 Sept. 2011
By 
PB (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the early parts of this book amusing but it ran out of steam. There is some puerile, made-up stuff in between some really interesting information. The chat-up lines were corny and - I suspect - reflect the writer's age. His ever so jolly style wears a bit thin after awhile as does his use of the word 'blimmin''. It's difficult to know what this means. If he means 'blooming', why not say it? There are stronger words in the book.

The other main problem is the sometimes sexist humour. This may have been OK 20-30 years ago but is either a bit tired now or just insulting, depending on your point of view. The book made me giggle sometimes but I am not sure I will be buying too many copies as stocking fillers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bite-size nuggets of information, well presented, 17 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book, although some stories and sections were more entertaining than others and it was very much dependent on whether I had an interest in the subject. On the whole it was well-written although I did find the 'quirky' writing style started to irritate a little bit if I read more than a couple of chapters at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Dec. 2011
By 
R. Burnett (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bedside Book: Entertainment for the Last Fifteen Minutes of the Day (Hardcover)
I had put this on my Christmas Wish List, and my brother-in-law very kindly bought it for me, so I feel somewhat churlish in writing anything but a favourable review. However, I cannot in all honesty say much positive about this publication; as another reviewer has said, it is puerile pretty much throughout. The humour tends to be at the expense of others who are not in a position to put their point of view, either because they are deceased or because this is, after all, just a book so no conversation is possible. There are typos throughout (granted, I could give the average proof-reader a headache, but still...), a German translation of "Jabberwocky" is missing the final line, and the writer breaks several of his own avowed (albeit tongue-in-cheek) rules for writing better English.

The writer compares his illustrator to E. H. Shepard, who must be creating a faint whirring noise by spinning in his grave. The illustrations appear to be generated on a computer, not by hand. Clip art it ain't, but it's not Winnie the Pooh, either.

There are plus sides: it smells pleasant; it feels good in the hand; the paper is fairly high quality. Just don't don't judge this book by its cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Gentleman's Bedside Book: Entertainment for the Last Fifteen Minutes of the Day
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews