Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars42
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2011
Carola Dunn has really got a handle on the 'between the wars' detective novel. I do love a poison pen story and this one depicts the traditional village plot with admirable skill. The clumsiness and the contrived langauge which sometimes spoilt the flow of the earlier novels has all but disappeared and Styx and Stones is a thoroughly enjoyable read with excellent characterisation and the cleverest plot so far. The involvement of the children in the story is particularly well written and believable.

This is great cosy comfort reading
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
Set in the 1920s Daisy Dalrymple, who is engaged to Scotland Yard Inspector Alec Fletcher, is asked by her brother-in-law to discreetly investigate a series of poisoned pen letters that many of the local villagers including himself have been receiving. She travels to Kent with her soon to be stepdaughter to enjoy the countryside and find out who the writer is. Unfortunately before she can solve the mystery the brother of the local vicar is murdered. There are plenty of suspects. Daisy is a person in whom people easily confide in and the information she gains proves invaluable to the local police and her fiancé in solving the murder.

The novel has a good sense of period and the characters particularly the children are well drawn. It is an easy but good read and Daisy makes a very endearing heroine.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 September 2013
She may be an honourable but that does not stop Daisy Dalrymple taking a free lunch when she can get one, in one of the more posh parts of London. However there is no such thing as a free lunch as she discovers when lunching with her brother in law. He has an ulterior motive. Can Daisy help him find out who is sending poison pen letters to him, and quite possibly other people in the village where he lives. He does not want his secrets to come out and upset his wife.

Daisy cannot resist a bit of sleuthing all rather amateurishly as she knows that if her fiancée Alec Fletcher of Scotland Yard finds out she is up to something, he will not be pleased. An innocent visit to her sister, with Alec's daughter Belinda in tow, seems like the perfect cover.

Daisy finds that the village is teeming with gossip and hatred, and it could be a number of people who have put pen to paper. Without trying it is Daisy that discovers a body and suddenly it seems her cover of simply visiting her sister innocently could be blown. Alec is not going to be pleased putting herself as well as his daughter in potential danger.

This is the seventh Daisy Dalrymple mystery and I think that Carola Dunn has hit her stride with this book. It has just the right amount of class divide, big house in a village, gossips, red herrings and childish antics to make you fly through the pages. Of course it is always going to be alright and the culprit is going to be caught but there is always that maybe moment or too.

Great escapist mysteries, where there is very little violence (notwithstanding murder of course) but it is not a gory tale and the setting makes you think that Miss Marple is going to pop up at any moment and offer some assistance. A great fun read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Daisy Dalrymple's brother in law, Lord John Frobisher, asks for help in finding who is sending him poison pen letters. In order to investigate the mystery she goes to stay with him and her sister Violet in the small village in Kent where they live. She soon finds that there are other recipients of the unpleasant letters and almost an equal number of suspects. Then things get more serious when someone is found dead under a stone angel in the churchyard.

This is the first book I've read by Carola Dunn and I shall be looking out for the other books in the Daisy Dalrymple series. The characters are well drawn and the nineteen twenties background is convincing. I liked Daisy and Belinda - her soon to be step-daughter and I also liked Daisy's sister Violet. I didn't see enough of Daisy's fiancé the Scotland Yard detective to decide whether I liked him or not.

This is an enjoyable mystery novel and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys David Roberts' Verity Brown series or Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton stories.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
this time Daisy is off on her own investigating some poison pen letters. There are a few twists along the way, and of course a murder. Thoroughly enjoyable read. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys a good 'old fashioned' murder mystery.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
England, 1920s, and the Honourable Daisy Dalrymple is called to aid her brother-in-law Lord Frobisher, who's suffering from the maliciousness of a 'poison pen' letter writer because of a past fleeting indiscretion just after the Great War. Daisy hotfoots it down to his village, with her fiance Detective Inspector Alec Fletcher of Scotland Yard's daughter Belinda as company for Daisy's nephew, to see what she can do to discover the identity of the poison pen.
It soon becomes apparent that the village is a hotbed of scandal and secrets, some of the little white variety, but no-one is safe from the nasty words of the letter writer. Daisy sets about investigating and soon has a host of suspects as well as victims to puzzle over. Then things take a fatal turn when a prominent figure is found dead in the churchyard and Daisy herself comes under suspicion of his murder. But Alec is soon on hand to help proceedings.

Overall, 'Styx and Stones' is a great read; pacy and lively and with plenty to keep you occupied. However, I have to say that a couple of things made this less than 5* for me: firstly, there were a bit too many suspects (seriously, you would not want to live in this village) and secondly, I did find the fact that the police let Daisy not only 'tag along' to all the official police interviews but also take an active part a bit hard to swallow, and the actual solving of the crime and villain was a little bit rushed, after a great story. But still, overall, worth getting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
I am reading the DD stories in sequence so have come to know what to expect. Plot similar to others and I am starting to realise that Carola Dunn's research is good but not infallible! e.g. the Dandy and Beano comics would not have been published in 1923!!!!! Nevertheless, the story travels along at a good pace, holding attention and never quite sure if I've got it right. Love it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 March 2014
Carola Dunn writes with lively wit and imagination and her plots are very reminiscent of whodunnits actually written during the period she describes, such as those by Agatha Christie and Marjorie Allingham, the golden era of the cosy aristocratic mystery. because she is having fun and not taking herself too seriously, we have fun, too. Daisy and her love, DS Alec Fletcher, and his vulnerable young daughter, continue to develop their relationship, Warmly sympathetic and shrewd, the aristocratic Daisy becomes the repository of other people's secrets and determinedly runs the gamut of police disapproval and family pressure to carve out the life she wants and help the people she meets. Perhaps not one of Carola Dunn's best, but entertaining, well-paced and literately written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
This is another Daisy Dalrymple book which got me hooked and managed to read in 2 sittings.

This book reminds me of Agatha Christie's Moving Finger, which was about a poison pen and subsequently murder. The setting are similar in that they are in a village.

This book is very easy to read and holds your attention as there are so many suspects/victims as regard the poison pen. Also you see Alec and Daisy's relationship tested for the first time too

I thought I knew who the murderer was, but was wrong. Won't give it away, but was very well done.

Great book. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
One of my favourite characters in yet another satisfying detective tale. Always a mystery until the end, with plenty of suspects in a sleepy village.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.