Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable end to The Travelling Matchmaker series
Hannah is almost ready to give up her travels and settle down with footman Benjamin. She has realised that she is in love with her friend Sir George Clarence but feels their stations in life are too far apart for them ever to be married.

Meanwhile there are some interesting passengers on the Flying Machine going to York - Yvonne - the young lady who is clearly...
Published on 30 Mar 2011 by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MC Beaton
There are 6 books in this series and although they are chronological can be read in isolation.
Not as good as Agatha Raisin but easy to read.
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by helonwheels


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable end to The Travelling Matchmaker series, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hannah is almost ready to give up her travels and settle down with footman Benjamin. She has realised that she is in love with her friend Sir George Clarence but feels their stations in life are too far apart for them ever to be married.

Meanwhile there are some interesting passengers on the Flying Machine going to York - Yvonne - the young lady who is clearly French even though she speaks English very well; the mysterious Mr Smith who has an air of menace about him; the equally mysterious Mr Giles who is definitely not what he appears.

Then Sir George arrives to see her off and hands her an intriguing box which contains such things as a guide book to York, a scarf and some perfume and Hannah starts to hope that just maybe her dreams could come true. She has a reason of her own for going to York to see if she can track down her former employer - Mrs Clarence - who ran off with a footman.

This last episode in the Travelling Matchmaker series has the most complex plot and the most exciting ending. Hannah is her usual indomitable self and Benjamin is rapidly becoming more a friend than a footman and increasingly prone to standing up for Hannah in public. I read this book in an evening and found I just had to keep reading to find out what happened. It's the sort of book where I was almost sad to turn the last page. I recommend it if you want a light read with some interesting characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End of the Road, 7 April 2011
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yvonne Goes to York (Travelling Matchmaker, Book 6) (Paperback)
This is the final enstallment of MC Beaton's The Travelling Matchmaker series which sees former housekeeper Hannah Pym come into posession of a fortune of 5,000 and decide to fulfil her dream of travelling around the country on the Stagecoach - the 'Flying Machines'. Of course as there has been a through-story across the six books, this has to wrap a few things up, as well as having some romance for the eponymous Yvonne.

This has been a great, really entertaining series - the sort of thing PG Wodehouse would have written had he decided to pen a Regency romance! The baddies are almost comically bad and always get their comeuppance, and the good are suitably rewarded in the romantic stakes!

I loved all six book, although I think I might have to give the penultimate book as my favourite, but probably only because I share a name with the heroine (Lady Deborah)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At journey's end, 11 April 2012
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Miss Hannah Pym has become known as the Travelling Matchmaker to her friend Sir George Clarence, who waits to hear what has happened when she takes to those `flying machines' as the stage coaches are known.

However, now she feels that perhaps it is time to stop these adventures, and settle down in the country, somewhere quiet with her faithful if not rather disobedient gambling footman Benjamin. But after one last adventure, this time to York, where apparently there have been sightings of her deceased master's missing wife.

On the coach, she meets Yvonne Grenier, going to her father in York after a letter has been sent to her, where he has been in some sort of hiding after escaping Revolutionary France. Then here is Mr Smith, a rather colourless looking name who speaks perfect English, but his eyes focussing on the other passengers. Then there is plain old Mr Giles, a gentleman who has a presence by his sheer size and by entering a room, but his clothes are so well made, that surely an average man would not be able to afford such tailoring?

And so as the journey begins on the notorious road to York, what will befall the coach or any of its passengers on route? Whatever Miss Hannah Pym will be involved from the start, in the thick of it and also ensure a happy outcome for all involved. Perhaps this time as her last journey is rather exciting, she will be the one who has the tables turned on her?

The sixth and final book of M.C. Beaton's Travelling Matchmaker series, where everything comes to a culmination and there is a happy ending for everyone. What more could you want from these small but rather delightful little novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please NOT the end of the road?, 28 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of the Travelling Matchmaker stories, and love them for their lightness and wit, but most of all for the snippets of information about life and travel in the Regency period. These are adventures viewed from Miss Pym's down to earth view - say Jane Austin channelled through Victoria Wood - and very different from the newer style Regency Romances by mainly American authors.
Does this have to be the end of our dealings with Miss Pym? Could we not have more of her adventures at home and away
as a married lady? I would love to be able to read more.
Or maybe a radio play? Or a television series? Or a film? With Victoria Wood - or Julie Walters. Downton Abbey, eat your heart out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of the Matchmaker series, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved every single word of all the matchmaker series. I was so sorry when I read the last page but happy at the outcome of the series. I love happy endings. Makes the world seem a better place. I am going to have to read them all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting conclusion, 11 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the last book in the Travelling Matchmaker series, and I think that it is the one that I have enjoyed the most. Plenty of romance and adventure, this has a satisfying ending which is all that I hoped it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice End To The Travelling Matchmaker's Adventures, 8 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Yvonne Goes to York (Travelling Matchmaker, Book 6) (Paperback)
Book 6 of the Miss Hannah Pym Travelling Matchmaker series, and this time, Hannah is making her way to York with faithful servant Benjamin in tow. She is surprised and delighted when Sir George Clarence, the gentleman she's lost her heart to, comes to bid her farewell with a wonderful box of gifts. But her light heart doesn't last long. Firstly, she's embroiled in Revolutionary France's dangers when a young coach passenger, Miss Yvonne Grenier, is being pursued by a Parisian clerk of the 'Terror' who wants to take her father back to France to stand trial for turning against the Revolution and helping others escape Madame Guillotine. But he is not the only one travelling incognito. And it isn't long before the girls, the 'Frenchie' and his dissolute partner-in-crime and the stalwart Benjamin are caught up in the wiles of the Marquis of Ware, supposedly indolent but so much more than he seems.
Things take an even more complicated turn when back in London, Sir George receives a missive concerning the rumours that Miss Hannah Pym is his mistress, put about before Hannah's trip, and he decides to go to meet her in York in case she has been upset by these events. But adventure - and danger - have a habit of gravitating toward Hannah, and anyone who goes to meet her will inevitably be caught up in it, too...

'Yvonne Goes To York' is a good end to this series of lighthearted Regency romances. With a bit of bite to it in terms of the Revolutionary dangerous aspect that other tales have not had, it's a good fast read, with a fitting ending for the travelling matchmaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MC Beaton, 27 Oct 2011
By 
helonwheels (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yvonne Goes to York (Travelling Matchmaker, Book 6) (Paperback)
There are 6 books in this series and although they are chronological can be read in isolation.
Not as good as Agatha Raisin but easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting end to an adorable series, 13 Sep 2011
By 
G. Palmer "gorpalm" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yvonne Goes to York (Travelling Matchmaker, Book 6) (Paperback)
In the same vein as the previous books in the series - Satisfying and enjoyable reading, occasional episodes of 'light peril' to give the inevitably dashing hero something to do whilst keeping us undemandingly entertained. Quite short so you could probably read it in a day by the pool (did I mention that the series works quite neatly for holiday reading?).

Quite fitting that the last words are "happy endings".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle romance and mild suspense, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Yvonne Goes to York (Travelling Matchmaker, Book 6) (Paperback)
I enjoy M C Beaton's books, and especially the Agatha Raisin ones. This series is mildly enjoyable, but not so interesting to reread as the others.

I was taken aback by the wedding in a farmhouse, which would not have been legal after the 1753 Marriage Act, so were they merely going through the ceremony for the sake of their own consciences? If the couple wanted to be discreet and not have banns or else marry in a church other than their own, they could have got a special licence if they could have afforded it, but licences were not normally given for ceremonies in homes (unless they had their own private chapels) except in emergencies such as serious illness. This seemed rather odd and anachronistic to me. Maybe the author is thinking of American or Scottish customs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yvonne Goes to York (Travelling Matchmaker, Book 6)
Yvonne Goes to York (Travelling Matchmaker, Book 6) by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 24 Mar 2011)
5.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews