Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "He was Legend"
Basically this is a mixture of fiction and biography. The style reads more like a biography for much of the book and as wikipedia would reveal there is a lot of accurate biographical detail. Seth Grahame Smith has taken Abraham Lincoln's life and added vampires to the mix in a similar way to his addition of Zombies to Pride & Prejudice (although this is darker than Pride...
Published on 19 Aug. 2010 by Bob Marlowe

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twisted History
OK so this isnt a literary masterpiece and is as scary as a deflated souffle but it is fun. The author has cleverly twisted real history and events in Abe Lincoln's life with elements of vampire myth. So much so, in fact, that there were times when I started to ask myself if an incident he described really did happen or if he invented it to keep the story going...
Published on 7 July 2010 by Thomas Hand


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Abe!!!, 23 Nov. 2010
What an amazing book!!! I could not put it down!!!
It feels so real when you read it, the pictures are almost perfect and it gives a great alternate explanation of the American Civil War (Providing vampires existed of course!)
Perfect balance of Fact & Fiction for any reader.
Definately worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Paperback)
Brilliant book. I've seen the film and liked both
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter, Seth Grahame-Smith, 17 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Paperback)
The novel is set in a sort of Biographical way, where Grahame-Smith retells the story of Lincoln's youth, using his long lost journals (which existence has been debated by historians ever since Lincoln's death!) The novel tells of how Lincoln was first introduced to Vampires at an early age after the death of his beloved mother. First believed to have died from milk poisoning, Lincoln later finds out from his father that she was murdered by a Vampire. This sends Lincoln down a path where he swears to `kill every Vampire in America'. However on his first attempt, Lincoln is nearly killed himself, believing that Garlic and Holy Water will repulse any of his foes! After receiving a broken leg (and other injuries!) Lincoln is saved from death by Henry Sturges, who as Lincoln later finds out is also a Vampire! Sturges introduces Lincoln to the correct way of Vampire hunting and tells him the secret that throughout history, Vampires have always been behind the world's leader. Sturges tells Lincoln that in this part of time, it is the Vampires who are behind the slave trade in Southern America. That they use the slaves as a way to feed without the fear of been hunted by mortal men, because the white ruling classes in the South don't care if a few worthless black slaves go missing!

This secret convinces Lincoln to become part of the underground group, The Union. A group of mortals and Vampires who want to see co-existence between the two different species. The Union convinces Lincoln to become President of the United States and helps him to achieve his aims. However when the Southern Vampires discover The Union has their man as the President, they decide to succeed, causing the Civil War. The book argues that the Civil War was not fought for state's rights or the emancipation of slaves, but was a war between the two species Vampires and Humans. A war that if the South had won, the whole of the human race would become their `cattle', only existing as a food supply for the Vampires.

I found this book very interesting and like I said above there are parts that seem very believable! I think this is because Grahame-Smith manages to coincide parts of Lincoln's secret life with historical events. Events such as the death of Lincoln's children. This sickness that killed them was not a fever or illness but a poisoning from a Vampire's bite. The events at the first battle of Bull Run and the South's victory where not because of better tactics or the fact that the South fought back the North's flank, but because the South had Vampires in its' ranks and therefore couldn't lose. These explanations from Lincoln's journal and Grahame-Smith's use of the historical events does suggest that history `could' of happened the way Lincoln says in his journals and that Vampires do really exist.

However, been a history student and looking at this book from a historical point of view there are many flaws to Grahame-Smith's argument. The first would be where are Lincoln's journals now? In his introduction, Grahame-Smith says he was `loaned' the journals by a 21st Century Henry Sturges and that when he completed his manuscript he had to return them. This seems a little too convenient. That he should have access to these legendary documents, write a novel that is the definition of the word `conspiracy' and then say that the documents he based his entire argument on are no longer his (and that no one else has ever read them to back up his argument) is stupid! How can he expect people to believe him if he gave back all of his evidence?

The second flaw is that some of the quotes Grahame-Smith uses are too broad. As a historian, it is common to use quotes to back up you argument but it is also common to twist quotes to back up your argument! An example of this is that Lincoln says he wanted to `get rid of every Vampire in the U.S. government'. In this book Grahame-Smith twists the word `Vampire' to literally mean the blood-sucking, sharp fanged creature of legend. However I could twist the word `Vampire' in this sentence to mean someone who is sucking the life out of America, i.e. someone who is corrupt in government, someone who blocks new measures within government or someone who is hindering progress. Is does not mean that there is literally Vampires within the U.S. government!

And the third and final flaw in Grahame-Smith's argument was the photo's he uses for evidence. Some of the images (even from looking on my Kobo) look photo-shopped! Some are just pictures of normal people who Grahame-Smith says are `probably' Vampires. Why? Why are they Vampires? They look like normal people to me! They don't even have the resemblance to Vampires which Grahame-Smith gives in the book! Whilst some of the images used were painted after Lincoln's death by people who had never met him and had never been at the events they were painting. I could paint a picture of Lincoln with an axe in his hand and a dead Vampire at his feet, but it does not mean he was a Vampire Hunter, it is just a picture!

I know I have been hard on this book (and my review is a little long!) but as a historian I have to look at the evidence Grahame-Smith gives for his argument and I find that evidence very weak. However it does not mean I didn't enjoy this book, I loved it! I thought it was an interesting concept and as I have said, at times Grahame-Smith does a good job of making it believable by coinciding events in Lincoln's journal with actual historical facts. All I would say is that as a piece of analytical, historical argument it is lacking, but as a novel it is great!

I would suggest this book to anyone who is a fan of Vampire novels or is a fan of Abraham Lincoln, as the book does have an interesting concept!

For more great book reviews check out [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 17 April 2011
Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter is simply one of the best books I have ever come across. Its blend of historical fact and horror fiction is unmatched by any other titles that I have read. Its maintains a regular pace throughout and will grip you until the very end. Seth Graham-Smith has done a fantastic job to blend the life of one of the greatest Americans with an enticingly grizzly vampire tale (i found refreshing at the moment with the current 'twilight' portrayals of love struck bloodsuckers). These blends are so suttle that it is hard to seperate the two, this being the case I found myself constantly checking facts online throughout the read. The story is well structured and stays true to the real life story of Lincoln making it accessable for history/politics fans. The vampire side will appeal to traditionalist fans of the genre that should be ready to expect feelings of genuine tension and terror. If your a fan of interview with a vampire this is definately for you, as i found that the book constantly rustled up images of rich 19th century America. Cleverly written as a piece of non-fiction it creates a amazingly entertaining alternative to the life story of Abe, that i was entirely absorbed into. I really could'nt put this one down and would reccomend it to anyone. If your were to take me up on this reccomendation then may i suggeest that you read this at night, alone and you'll soon be checking over your shoulder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not what I expected, very structured., 2 April 2013
By 
zoe (Newark, Nottinghamshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
Just not my sort of thing, i tried and got two thirds through and gave up. I can see why it gained the attention it did, and it was well turned out. Just not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Competent Thriller That Fails To Spark, 23 Jan. 2012
By 
CriticalMass (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title promises much - I took the plunge after hearing about the film currently in production for release in 2012. I enjoy comparing and contrasting novels with their celluloid interpretations and it is always interesting to see how a scriptwriter/director translates a novel to the screen, some more so than others with varying amounts of success.

The problem I have is that this novel simply doesn't fulfil its full potential. Historically it is interesting to read the synergy of fact and fiction and the first few chapters get off to a great start and gather momentum. For me the second half and especially the latter chapters begin to experience a drop-off in terms of character development and story with the ending seeming very rushed and crudely thrown together indeed.

There is some tense and enjoyable writing here and the way Lincoln talks about his family is at times heart-wrenching but overall I was a little disappointed.

Interested to see if the film can forge a more balanced experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Cochrane, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Paperback)
Just loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it - at a price, 22 Sept. 2011
I enjoyed it but as many of the tragedies are based around real events, I could not help but feel that turning them into vampire stories was debasing them a bit. I still finished the book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars does have its long moments, 9 July 2010
decent reading, although there is a lack of "action". and the link between the vampires and the southerners can be guessed fairly quickly, considering the hero of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abe: Vamp slayer, 22 Mar. 2011
This was a very entertaining book. I liked how the author mixes fact with fantasy, or is it fantasy? Hard to put down. Smith takes the reader into the world of vampires set in the 1800's were our 16th prez learns to fight them and save humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith (Paperback - 21 April 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews