Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice mix
Hi All

I'm new to the photography world so I don't really know any photographers or have any favourites. So from that perspective,I think this is a great book. Even though I've not liked all the submissions in there, I still rate it as it's exposed me to a broad range of photographers and their various styles and I'm starting to learn what I like.
Published on 10 Dec 2010 by Will

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing erotic about this book
Looking through the photographs I cannot find any that are the least bit erotic. In fact most seem to be dreary and if I had known what I do now I would never have purchased this book.
Published on 25 Jan 2012 by Steve B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice mix, 10 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Hi All

I'm new to the photography world so I don't really know any photographers or have any favourites. So from that perspective,I think this is a great book. Even though I've not liked all the submissions in there, I still rate it as it's exposed me to a broad range of photographers and their various styles and I'm starting to learn what I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty Content - Great Value For Money!, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
I've always enjoyed Jakubowski's eye for a great erotic photograph in the past, and this new volume does not disappoint. The book offers exceptional value for money, containing over 6 pages of content from each of the 70 plus photographers featured. There are some established names to be found here including, Eric Kroll, Chas Ray Krider, Peter Gorman, Christine Kessler and Dave Naz to name a few, but in my opinion it's some of the the new names included that excite most; Primarily Hudson Manilla, Ben Fernon, and Pierre Dal Corso (amongst others), prove they are gifted photographers of the highest calibre whose imagery is very sexy, but not sexist, in that they do not objectify their subjects. This book is of really high quality and well worth the modest outlay. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Little Book, 7 Jan 2012
By 
Daniel Greenway (Norwich,Norfolk, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
This is a good book for someone who is just starting out in photography,many of the shots are interesting in composure and lighting while not being outright pornography.In my opinion the biggest letdown was the size of the book itself - being little more than A5 sized much of the detail is lost.
However this seems is counterbalanced by the relatively cheap price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing erotic about this book, 25 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Looking through the photographs I cannot find any that are the least bit erotic. In fact most seem to be dreary and if I had known what I do now I would never have purchased this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will get your creative juices flowing ! ! !, 4 April 2011
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
If you are interested in this genre of photography, then I strongly recommend this book. This book does exactly what it says on the tin, it is filled with photographs that will inspire you and get your creative juices flowing. Along side the photographs is a short biography of the photographer who took the pictures.

What I liked about this book is that it does not try to be a 'Jack of all trades and a master of none'. If you are looking to learn about lighting techniques, rule of thirds and composition, then this book is not for you. There are other books on the market that cover these topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars book, 19 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Kavanagh (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
not really that good, most of the pictures show little imagination ,and arnt really erotic,but that is this industry all over, lots of bad photographers making money ,scandalous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite ok..., 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Hi, this one is quite ok, alright maybe it's not Helmut Newton but definitely there are few very nice pictures included. Less interesting pictures can be always used for CD covers. I think this book is worth these few quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of images from different photographers, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a great compilation of erotic images from loads of different photographers from all around the world. The kindle book version is hi resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars :-), 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Good for alternative photography very insightful if you are looking for inspiration for your work or general creative inspiration and has good background Info on the creators of the works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have several versions of the "Mammoth book of..... series in print, and this hold up very well against those. I'll definitely be buying the Kindle Fire versions from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books)
The Mammoth Book of New Erotic Photography (Mammoth Books) by Maxim Jakubowski (Paperback - 30 Sep 2010)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews