Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars50
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 April 2013
Daisy Dalrymple is still trying to make her own way in the world through her writing - her latest assignment is to report for an American Magazine at the Henley regatta. She gets the chance not just to experience the rowing but also to spend time with her fiance Alec Fletcher and Inspector at Scotland Yard and not your average choice of man for an honourable lady such as Daisy and her set.

But this is the 1920s and everything is changing in the world. Those from the lower classes are suddenly on a par as those who have had a privileged background and where money, positions and who you know gets you to where you want to be even if you are particularly no good - certainly this is the case for the members of the Oxford Rowing Team who also happen to be staying in the same house as Daisy.

The class war is alive and well in this story and it is with some obvious prediction that one of the warring rowing team is going to end up dead - and the other is going to be the main suspect. So Daisy and Alec's quiet weekend away turns into an average few days for them as they investigate and try to find the culprit.

This particular story is heavy on the number of characters within it and it was rather confusing especially as we were introduced to them in a rather random way. Their full names given and then all of a sudden hit with nicknames we were meant to grasp immediately as well as there relevance to the story line - too many for such a short book and some with little purpose. Some were related to Daisy which I could not get my head round at all even after rereading the relevant passages. If you can accept this then the book is simply a jolly cosy mystery and goes along fairly well but for me not one of the better Daisy Dalrymple's I have read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
Great literature they are not. But, when you want a light read (and who does not sometimes?), the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries provide just the right balance of narrative and problem solving, through the discussions, speculations and disagreements of a range of characters, all underpinned by a romantic entanglement which keeps the reader hoping, and hopping, from one book to the next.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
I've just finished this book in just a couple of days and thoroughlly enjoyed it. I've read these books in order and I'm glad that I did because the development of Daisy and Alec's relationship to the point of engagement is covered in the first six books.

This story is about the Henley Regatta and the university rowers based at Daisy's Aunt's house, where Daisy happens to be staying with her cousin. There are some likeable characters in this book, although I have to say I didn't think they had much depth to them. The nasty character, however, did have depth to him and you could understand why he was disposed of.

This book is a very easy book to read and the story flows. Having said that, I do feel that some characters could've been developed better.

Good book would recommend.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Daisy Dalrymple and her fiancé Detective Inspector Alex Fletcher of Scotland Yard and aiming to spend the weekend of Henley Regatta with Daisy's aunt who lives close by. Unfortunately a crew member of one of the boats dies in the middle of a race and it looks as though it could be murder. So Alec's weekend away soon becomes a busman's holiday as he is right on the spot when the man collapses and there are three country boundaries involved in the case.

The victim - Basil DeLancey - is far from popular and he has had a very public argument with the cox of the team in which he rows; which naturally puts the cox, Horace Bott, in the frame for the murder. But Alec and Daisy are not convinced and between them start to look a bit further.

This book in the series didn't hold my attention quite as much as many of the others have done. It is an enjoyable story and I liked the descriptions of life on the river but the plot was not as complex as some and I felt the story flagged a little in the middle and some of the incidents came over as a little contrived.

It is still an enjoyable read as it shows Alec and Daisy's developing relationship and her friendship with Alec's staff. This would not be a good book to start with if you are new to the series. Though the books can be read in any order it is probably best to start with the first one Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple Mystery 1)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
I read this book right after nr. 5 in the series, "Damsel in Distress", where the Honourable Daisy Dalrymple and Alec Fletcher of Scotland Yard celebrate their engagement at a big party, on the last page of the book. It was a little bit frustrating that the author in this book, backs up 14 days, till right after the kidnapping case in the previous book, to set the stage for this mystery. It was not believable and irritating.
This said, it still was an exciting book if one count away that I personally have absolutely no knowledge at all of rowing. I got utterly lost in the technicalities of the sport, the rules and what the boats look like. There were also too many people running around and when the final chase took place, all men trying to catch "the murderer", I was completely lost in staircases, bushes and you name it. This book would definitely do better on screen than in written form. I hope the next book will contain less motion!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
This is the first time I've met Daisy Dalrymple and sorry to say, I may not continue the relationship. She's a nice enough girl but I found her adventure into the floating boating world too much of a 'too' story: too many characters, too many cross references amongst those too many characters and possibly, too weak a premise in the first place. There is a neat little twist towards the end that, as the baddie in one of the Red films says, "'I didn't see that coming!"' - and neither did I! Very neat.

I'm really trying not to damn Daisy with too faint praise as this is not a bad book. It's a pleasant enough light read, and I do applaud the author's juggling of the characters and her obvious thorough research. So all in all, I'm not sorry to have given time to reading this, it's more a case of okay, read it, what's next?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
I love the Daisy Dalrymple books so when someone bought me the CD version I excitedly started to play it only to be horrified that an American was reading it. She did her best but the whole book was spoilt by the Americanism of the reader, wrong pronunciation, wrong emphasis on certain names and every now and then a total slide into her natural accent. If this was published in America surely there are ENGLISH people who know how to pronounce 1920's upper class words with the correct accent and emphasis who could have been found. It would have been good to here the people of Birmingam speak worth a Birmingham accent and NOT a LONDON one it would have been lovely to here a word like REGATTA pronounced in the correct way and not REGARTER and so on and so on. This has stopped me from putting more Carola Dunn's on my wish list sad to say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
The Daisy Dalrymple stories are always entertaining and evocative of the 1920's. Wherever she goes she has a murder to investigate. Much to the displeasure of her fiance Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher of Scotland Yard. Daisy goes to Henley-On-Thames to visit her Aunt and Uncle and to watch the rowing competition when one of the rowers turns up dead. Her fiance is joining her later but the murder has already taken place and when he arrives he takes charge. The investigation proceeds and with Daisy's help the culprit is found.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 December 2010
As usual with Ms Dunn's Daisy Dalrymple series there is a well-constructed plot at the heart of the book. But equally important is the well-drawn world that the characters inhabit.

I very much like the fact that in England in 1923 as she draws it almost every action and speech is overshadowed and affected by the Great War. That is surely how it must have been at the time. As usual the characters being so affected are - with the exceptions of Daisy and her paramour - essentially sterotyped figures that have seemingly walked out of other fictions written or set in the period. I don't mind that particularly myself; at least one knows where one is. If I have a complaint it is that those on the receiving end of the prevailing snobbery never seem to interpret their situation in political terms. Compare, for example, Bott in this book with Quiggin in 'A Dance To The Music Of Time'.

In any event it is, like all the series, a pleasant - if unchallenging - light read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
These come from a bygone age when people dressed for dinner and took morning coffee and afternoon tea in the drawing room. A far cry from today's hectic lifestyles and the books are relaxing and wonderful escapism for that reason. Great plots too and the 'goodies' are all people of integrity which is also refreshing. Great wholesome fun. Recommend for anyone who shies away from anything that warns you of bad language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.