Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead in the Water
I've just finished this book in just a couple of days and thoroughlly enjoyed it. I've read these books in order and I'm glad that I did because the development of Daisy and Alec's relationship to the point of engagement is covered in the first six books.

This story is about the Henley Regatta and the university rowers based at Daisy's Aunt's house, where...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by Mrs. A. L. Maddocks

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Daisy Dalrymple Mysteries
Great literature they are not. But, when you want a light read (and who does not sometimes?), the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries provide just the right balance of narrative and problem solving, through the discussions, speculations and disagreements of a range of characters, all underpinned by a romantic entanglement which keeps the reader hoping, and hopping, from one book to...
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by rosebuds


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read for sheer escapism. Imagine yourself back in the 1920s when a gentile pace of life and manners prevailed. The Hon.Daisy still much in love with her Scotland Yard detective. A book to take you away from the demands of modern day living for an hour or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 27 Feb 2013
By 
Margaret Stevens (a village in Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm so glad there are so many books in this series, it is lovely to read a book without overt violence, but makes you think. I loved this book's descriptions of Henley regatta, so similar to the way it was when I was young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good light-hearted romp, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Cat (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Based in the 1920s with a slightly improbable cast the Daisy Dalrymple books are a fun light read. If you like the early Agatha Christie you'll probably enjoy these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm steadily reading the whole series - in order, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These come from a bygone age when people dressed for dinner and took morning coffee and afternoon tea in the drawing room. A far cry from today's hectic lifestyles and the books are relaxing and wonderful escapism for that reason. Great plots too and the 'goodies' are all people of integrity which is also refreshing. Great wholesome fun. Recommend for anyone who shies away from anything that warns you of bad language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good easy reading when travelling, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a historical mystery book that can be put down and the story easily picked up again therefore perfect for travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dead in the water, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has an excellent plot and is a really good read and have no hesitation to recommend it even if you have never read any Carolla Dunn books before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Daisy Dalrymple mystery..., 24 Oct 2010
This review is from: Dead in the Water (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
this time the setting is the Henley Regatta. Daisy and her Scotland Yard Detective boyfriend are supposed to be on holiday but you can always guarantee wherever Daisy is a murder will shortly occur. There are a number of suspects and as usual Daisy is in the thick of it trying to solve the case. A thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series of books, 7 Sep 2010
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead in the Water (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
Daisy Dalrymple is a cool young lady, who manages to attract crime in the same way as Jessica Fletcher (Murder She Wrote) or Miss Marple - you would absolutely dread her turning up to your event, because there's bound to be a murder before long!

Having said that, she's a likeable character, there are a few other characters who follow her through her adventures and I found that it's quite easy to get caught up in the period Carola Dunn writes about with such wonderful detail.

My only criticism would be that there are SO many characters in each of the books, that it is sometimes hard to keep up them all, and remember who's who!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daisy and Alec go to Henley, 14 Sep 2010
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead in the Water (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
this time Daisy is staying with relatives to cover the Henley Regatta for an american magazine and gets herself involved in a murder of one of the rowers. as the investigation continues the suspect never changes until the very end and very surprising o find out who did it. we get to see daisy and alec in a more social setting aswell as investigating crimes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead in the Water (Daisy Dalrymple)
Dead in the Water (Daisy Dalrymple) by Carola Dunn (Paperback - 25 Mar 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews