Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Goldenage Who Done It?
A very enjoyable 1920s detective romp as Daisy takes a train north and inevitably encounters, murder and mystery. This is one well connected young lady - wherever she goes she bumps into friends and acquaintances!

The setting is good and gradually the irritating slang of the time is decreasing as the series progresses. Nice artwork on the front cover evocative...
Published on 12 May 2010 by Westcountrybookworm

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sayers?
[ASIN:1849013306 Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple Mystery)
The blurb says that Sayers fans will like this book. But it's one thing to try to recreate an earlier era and quite another to write in a contemporary milieu as D.L.S. did - thus avoiding what becomes in this novel anything but seamless research. The writing is fluent but the number of...
Published 18 months ago by George Stevenson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Goldenage Who Done It?, 12 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
A very enjoyable 1920s detective romp as Daisy takes a train north and inevitably encounters, murder and mystery. This is one well connected young lady - wherever she goes she bumps into friends and acquaintances!

The setting is good and gradually the irritating slang of the time is decreasing as the series progresses. Nice artwork on the front cover evocative of the railways posters of the time. The on-going relationship with Inspector Fletcher and his daughter develop satisfyingly.

These are not books for those looking for deep meaning or too much subtlety but they are satisfying in their own way and I would definitely recommend them to anyone who enjoys a nice 1920s setting for their murder and mayhem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daisy and a quarrelsome family, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daisy is on her way to write a magazine article about a country house in Scotland. She has treated herself to a first class ticket on the Flying Scotsman. She is surprised and worried when Belinda Fletcher, daughter of her friend, Detective Chief Inspector Alex Fletcher appears in her compartment. Belinda has run away from her grandmother and stowed away on the train without a ticket in the hope that she can reach her father who is working on a case in Northumberland.

One of Daisy's former school friends appears in her compartment having recognised her on the platform and tells her that she and her whole family are on their way to Edinburgh to hear what a relative is intending to do with his large fortune. But before the train has got much further than York, an elderly gentleman who Belinda has befriended is found dead and it looks like murder.

There are some marvellous characters in this story - the ill assorted members of the family - all of whom are suspects in the murder; the local police especially Superintendent Halliday; and Belinda herself. This is the first book in the series in which Belinda has played a large part and she is an interesting character. I particularly liked the Indian doctor who sees more than many people think he does and he features in one of the most amusing scenes in the book towards the end.

The plot is beautifully complex and will keep most readers guessing until very close to the end. This is an enjoyable read and it is the fourth instalment in the Daisy Dalrymple series which started with Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden Age frolic, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
Short of something to read in the genre I love (cosy whodunnits by female authors, preferably set in the Golden Age of murder mysteries), I tried the first of the Daisy Dalrymple books. Unengaging, I thought, trivial, a bit silly,what do I care who dunnit and who didn't? Still, I ploughed on, since I could get the books for a penny each plus postage on Amazon and at least I could read them at bedtime and be very effectively sent to sleep! Then I came to this one and suddenly, I was involved and started to care about what happened to Daisy and her beau, Alec the gorgeous detective. The stories work well on a fun level. All serial whodunnits are pretty unbelievable, if only because any real heroine who repeatedly encountered dead bodies would have had a nervous breakdown coupled with a major persecution complex. The ability to suspend disbelief is particularly vital for fans of this genre. Still, good books of this kind can still tell interesting and perhaps important truths about human nature and experience, feeding the hunger for understanding of the world we inhabit - well, my hunger for it, anyway. The only thing this series helps me understand is how to construct an entertaining and well-structured romp when you haven't got much depth of content. That's a worthwhile lesson, I suppose, if you like writing.
Daisy is travelling to Scotland and finds that Alec's daughter has run away because she is not allowed to play with her Indian school friend. This introduces the theme of discrimination in 1920s Britain, linked with both class and race. An elderly gent is murdered while travelling to Scotland accompanied by his family, most of whom hope to inherit from him. The chief suspect is the main beneficiary, a young Indian doctor. Alec boards the train to investigate the crime and we see how he relates to his young daughter and how deeply he feels for Daisy while the plot progresses at a brisk pace to an entertaining denouement. It is well-done and, for once, my mind didn't wander and I genuinely wanted to read the next book to find out what happened to Daisy, Alec and Belinda. I conclude that either, if you bludgeon your brains for long enough, you start to enjoy the experience, or Carola Dunn is getting into her stride and the books are moving from OK to good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sayers?, 25 Jun 2013
This review is from: Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
[ASIN:1849013306 Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple Mystery)
The blurb says that Sayers fans will like this book. But it's one thing to try to recreate an earlier era and quite another to write in a contemporary milieu as D.L.S. did - thus avoiding what becomes in this novel anything but seamless research. The writing is fluent but the number of characters makes it difficult to want to go beyond the first chapters. Neither are they differentiated enough to make the reader care much about any of them. The exchanges between Belinda et al are natural, and Daisy emerges as a kind and patient woman (although she doesn't appear to like babies)but I'm not tempted to read anything else by this author. The skull and crossbones on the front of the train, by the way, is a definite turn-off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Daisy Dalrymple romp!, 7 Sep 2010
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book a great deal - there are some fun characters in this one, and Daisy seems to have them all summed up as soon as she meets them! Carola Dunn manages to totally immerse the reader in the period and it's really quite lovely to read about times when ladies were treated like ladies.

Daisy is always caught up in the middle of murder and mayhem - even when she is on a train she doesn't manage to escape trouble!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder on the Flying Scotsman, 4 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another brilliant Daisy Dalrymple Mystery. Honestly I don't know how she does it!!! Great read, and fun but not too taxing.
Will continue to be an avid fan.
Thanks Carola - carry on!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gave up after 100 pages, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
I have hardly ever given up on a book but on this occasion I just lost interest. Clearly most reviewers enjoy this author, but I found the writing style ponderous and contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Whodunit!, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
On the back of the book it says that it's "for fan's of Dorothy L. Sayers novels" and while I have not read Sayers, I have watched the dramatizations of her novels on TV and I agree, this is perfect for fans of classic whodunits novels. This is a real beauty. Daisy Dalrymple, Honorable and journalist, travels on a train to Scotland in a first class carriage. There she is reacquainted with a school mate that is now married. Said old friend and her entire extended family is on their way to Scotland to try to persuade her grandfather to alter his will. In the same carriage travels the friend's aged great-uncle who everybody hate and they try to persuade him to change his will as well. The train only stops one time on the way between London and Edinburgh so no suspects coming aboard or getting off during the trip. And of course one person gets killed. Daisy is in the middle of everything again. When the Detective from Scotland Yard, Alec Fletcher, arrives he is more than upset at her once again meddling in one of his cases but of course since they both are very fond of each other, he is not upset for very long and actually find her useful again. Very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
More of the same, but when it's as well done as this then one shouldn't complain. The plot is way beyond implausible, containing as it does a number of coincidences that even Carl Jung would have dismissed as preposterous, but it carries the reader along with it anyway. There are no outrageous twists at the end, but nor is it completely obvious exactly who dunnit. The relationship between the two lead characters inches forward glacially - well it is the 1920s and, as Daisy herself reflects, 'Emancipated she might be, immoral she was not.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK..., 8 April 2011
This review is from: Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple) (Paperback)
This was given to me as a gift.

It is my kind of book, but, it didn't `do it' for me.

After the first 100 pages, I was ready to give up as so little seemed to have happened, Things did pick up later on, but I have found other detective books much more engaging.

The characters never seemed to develop; there was the odd typo and grammatical error, but worse, citing the Beano and Dandy, not available until the late thirties.
These inaccuracies made me doubt what I was reading.

If you enjoyed it - great.

For me, it disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple)
Murder on the Flying Scotsman (Daisy Dalrymple) by Carola Dunn (Paperback - 25 Mar 2010)
£7.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews