Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars6
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2001
4th book from Rowland and one of the best. Difficult to put down. Well writen story that gives a great historical input and will appeal to readers of James Clavel's Shogun and Gai-jin.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
I enjoy both the way Jo Roland's writes and the different setting of old Japan that she uses in her books. She must have done quite a lot of research to get her backgrounds. I tend not to reccommend the books I read to others as many of my friends are the Mills and Boon types
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
I found the story very interesting.I dont like crime stoyries at all so I am still not a big fan. But I enjoy her writing and characters a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
a must have rowland does it again have all the series you can really get lost in the character sano and how his career progresses a must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2010
The reviews for this book are glowing and I'm interested in Medieval Japan, so I bought it, hoping for something akin to Shogun or Across the Nightingale Floor (Tales of the Otori) by Lian Hearn or something like Boris Akun's Russian novels. Alas, no such luck. The first chapter was good, but after that the book is a fairly standard romantic novel, with not particularly well drawn characters -- the fairly standard fiesty female and good man misunderstanding each other (but I'm sure they get together fine in the end -- didn't read past the first 60 pages)-- the devious empress/mother and spineless king/shogun...yada yada. Standard fare belying the promise of the cover and the reviews. If you're after a nice predictable romance with a bit of murder mystery you'll be happy with this. If you expecting a bit more cultural detail and depth forget it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.