Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another homerun for M.C. Beaton!
This is the nineteenth (not eighteenth, you must include A Highland Christmas) in a series of mysteries featuring the detective work of small town, Highland Scottish detective Hamish Macbeth, P.C. In this book, Hamish must work overtime to avoid a promotion out of his beloved Lochdubh. But, that is not all of his problems. During a recent visit to the tiny village of...
Published on 16 Feb 2004 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!
Having read all the Macbeth books in order I eagerly await my time off to start the next one. This is one I wish I missed out on. Several sub plots within the main story, sadly all very predictable and if you have read previous Macbeth books you'll have no problem predicting the end. I feel really sad to write this as a review as I normally thoroughly enjoy Hamish and his...
Published 10 months ago by amanda & christopher wallen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another homerun for M.C. Beaton!, 16 Feb 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This is the nineteenth (not eighteenth, you must include A Highland Christmas) in a series of mysteries featuring the detective work of small town, Highland Scottish detective Hamish Macbeth, P.C. In this book, Hamish must work overtime to avoid a promotion out of his beloved Lochdubh. But, that is not all of his problems. During a recent visit to the tiny village of Storye, he finds that the people there are acting quite strange, as if some sort of religious mania has gripped them. When the situation there turns dangerous and then deadly, Hamish knows he must get to the bottom of whatever it is that is going on.
This is another homerun for M.C. Beaton (pseudonym of Marion Chesney)! This story is every bit as good (excellent) as the other Hamish books, and makes for some gripping reading. Somehow, the author succeeds in making the Hamish Macbeth stories swing effortlessly between lighthearted humor to deadly mystery, all without losing the seeming reality of the story.
The characters in this story are likable and interesting, the story is gripping and entertaining, and the mystery quite fascinating. I think that this is a great book, one that you should consider buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TOWN WITHOUT PITY..., 8 Mar 2012
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death of a Village (Hamish Macbeth) (Paperback)
This is the nineteenth book in a series of cozy mysteries featuring lovable Highlander, Hamish Macbeth, in charge of law and order in the village of Lochdubh and its environs in the north of Scotland. As always, the book is laced with sly humor throughout that is engaging, and the dialogue creates a feeling of authenticity of place, making the book highly enjoyable. One does not read these books for their literary value. One reads them purely for the fun of it.

This time, Hamish is called to the isolated village of Storye, where something is just not quite right, as the normally god fearing, Calvinist population has seemingly taken fear of the Almighty to new heights, and are now seemingly fearful of everything. Just what is going on in Storye? Well, that is what Hamish tries to discover, that is, when he is not daydreaming about his ex-fiancée Priscilla, who is now engaged to be married to someone else, or sparring with local news reporter Elspeth Grant, who seems to have taken a shine to our local constable.

As with all cozy mysteries, it is not so much the mystery that is of import but the characters that revolve around the mystery, and the characters are certainly quirky and entertaining, adding to the charm of the series. With the oddly endearing Hamish Macbeth, the author has created a character that is a winner. I love this series of cozy mysteries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religious revival in Stoyre, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There seems to be a religious revival on Stoyre but none of the villagers are willing to talk about it. Hamish is determined to get to the bottom of it especially after one of the villagers of Lochdubh appears to have been frightened to death when she visits the village.

Before the mystery can be solved though there is the strange business of the old people's home, whose owners appear to have a novel way of making money. One of the Lochdubh residents is keen to move in to find out what it going on, but Hamish has doubts about her putting herself in danger.

This is one of the most exciting of the Hamish Macbeth stories which I have read so far with some nail biting incidents which could go either way for Hamish towards the end of it. Village life and manipulation of the press are much to the fore in this story with Hamish once again in danger of earning the promotion he does not want. I really enjoyed this book and liked the way the many different characters are portrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspend your disbelief, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the usual Hamish working on instinct and guile. I don't want to say too much about the plot but the villagers' gullibility does stretch credibility. There are, however, plenty of subplots to keep you interested. This is another good read in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read After Work, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hamish Macbeth is always a good read and this was a joy - not too taxing on the brain just enough for an evening after a hard days work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hamish, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
like all Hamish Macbeth books enjoyed them all. Sometimes a bit predictable in the storyline but does not detract from story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all the Macbeth books in order I eagerly await my time off to start the next one. This is one I wish I missed out on. Several sub plots within the main story, sadly all very predictable and if you have read previous Macbeth books you'll have no problem predicting the end. I feel really sad to write this as a review as I normally thoroughly enjoy Hamish and his antics. Beaton definitely not at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Glad I don't live there, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Hamish Macbeth very much. Can Highland villagers really be this stupid? I'm not at all sure this portrays the area very well at all. Hamish himself redeems a dubious plot, but I'd be taking offence if I lived up there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Hamish story, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Village (Hamish Macbeth) (Paperback)
I have been enjoying M.C Beaton's Hamish McBeth stories for some time, and hope to have the complete series eventually ! I feel that I know many of the residents of Lochdubh, The story line in Death of a Village is excellent and the characters, as always seem to come to life! Be warned, this is difficult to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more mayhem in the highlands., 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Village (Hamish Macbeth) (Paperback)
This hamish mcbeth story is a bit darker than the usual stories of m.c.beaton but still enjoyable. Those who like me enjoy a who's done it should enjoy these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death of a Village (Hamish Macbeth)
Death of a Village (Hamish Macbeth) by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 5 Nov 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews