Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light, Easy Reading
I must admit that I wouldn't like to live in Carseley or the surrounding environs. Chances of being murdered must be nearly twice as high than if you live in Midsomer, and that's saying something. I am a big fan of the Agatha Raisin books, simply because they are fun to read and are pure escapism.

When Tristan Delon comes to Carseley as Alf Boxley's curate he...
Published on 31 Aug. 2010 by M. Dowden

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars M C Beaton and the Curiously Throwaway Novel
The Agatha Raisin novels have never been the deepest in nature and instead should be taken as a light and breezy piece of crime fiction that you can sit down and finish in a session or two. `Agatha Raisin and the Curious Curate', takes the traditional paper think plots and makes the story so light that it floats away into non existence. This time Agatha is caught up in...
Published on 10 Dec. 2010 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light, Easy Reading, 31 Aug. 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit that I wouldn't like to live in Carseley or the surrounding environs. Chances of being murdered must be nearly twice as high than if you live in Midsomer, and that's saying something. I am a big fan of the Agatha Raisin books, simply because they are fun to read and are pure escapism.

When Tristan Delon comes to Carseley as Alf Boxley's curate he definitely increases the size of the congregation as most of the women start swooning over him. Chatting up the women and being very friendly with the older ones it comes as a surprise when he is murdered at the vicarage. Could Alf have been his killer? But when the bodies start mounting up is there something about Trstan's death and his past life, or is something more sinister happening?

With Agatha and her neighbour on the case, surely everything will eventually be solved. This is one of the better Agatha Raisin tales. They are all good, but some are just better than others. With its mix of mystery, romance and humour the Raisin books are something that you can put your feet up to and relax and enjoy yourself. Some peope say that there is little or no characterisation to the tales, but at the end of the day this isn't high literature, and it doesn't purport to be. If you like something that is light and frothy that you can use to escape from everyday woes, then you can't really go wrong with a Raisin book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Curiosity can get you nearly killed, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and the Curious Curate (Paperback)
They say that thirteen is an unlucky number. But for this thirteenth outing for Agatha raisin, this is one of the stronger stories. Of course nothing is lucky for Agatha but then if you are a fan of the series then you will know that.

Agatha is certainly going through a man hating phase, James her ex husband is no longer around and no one knows where he is. The new neighbour made advances that Agatha was not prepared for and when the new curate, Tristan turns up it seems he is prepared to overlook Agatha as well.

Tristan is bringing the flock to church, but they are not there for any religious direction but to simply adore this man who has swept into the village and swept the hearts of many ladies away. The congregation is rather female dominated all of a sudden. The vicar, Alf Bloxby is starting to resent this intrusion into his vocation and Mrs Bloxby doesn't like the fact he is upsetting her husband. It all seems too good to be true.

When Tristan ends up dead, the last person having seen him alive being Agatha and the vicar being the prime suspect. Mrs Bloxby wants Agatha to try find out the truth, who really killed him and why.

Once again Agatha is one step ahead of the police but blundering about when she gets there, you know that there is going to be some scrapes that she is needing to get out of as she gets to the truth.

This is a good example of an Agatha Raisin story, you can see the vulnerability of being an unloved woman that agatha is, but also the brash hard faced parts of her that upset people and somehow get them to tell the truth.

Great escapism read and ideal if you want something short and light with no real guts or gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars M C Beaton and the Curiously Throwaway Novel, 10 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and the Curious Curate (Paperback)
The Agatha Raisin novels have never been the deepest in nature and instead should be taken as a light and breezy piece of crime fiction that you can sit down and finish in a session or two. `Agatha Raisin and the Curious Curate', takes the traditional paper think plots and makes the story so light that it floats away into non existence. This time Agatha is caught up in a series of murders in and around her village that seem to be linked to the first victim, a curate who may be less pure than he first seems. By going around to people's houses, chatting a bit, finding another clue and then visiting another house, Agatha plans to crack the case. The only problem is that the trawl through the various suspects, back and forth, is quite dull.

I have always liked the character of Agatha Raisin, but this time things end up going in a peculiar direction. Her on/off neighbour John convinces Agatha to pretend to be engaged to him, for no reason. It is just a mindless plot piece for M C Beaton to try and spice up the relationship, only to see it fail and write them off. Sometimes, Beaton's style of writing is like a stream of consciousness and that she never goes back and actually changes things that do not work. Too busy writing her next book. This is a weak entry in a series that can ill afford such writing - hopefully the next in the series will be a return to the pleasantly average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Agatha Raisins, 7 Nov. 2008
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I find the Agatha Raisin series quite uneven, with the earlier ones usually far better than the later ones. However this one is great! Agatha is as spiky, fierce and foolish as usual but there seems to me to be a bit more depth to some of the characters and emotions.

A new curate arrives in Carsley, a man of such beauty that the village church is packed constantly and all the ladies are falling over themselves to get near him. However he is killed after dinner with Agatha (of course!) and Alf Bloxley the vicar is one of the suspects which upsets his wife desperately. She urges Agatha to find the real murderer, but it seems there's a bit of a serial-killer on the loose in the Cotswolds...

Undoubtedly light, funny and tart this is pure entertainment. Kick off your shoes and sit back for a perfect switch-your-mind-off read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable and easy crime read., 18 April 2013
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and the Curious Curate (Paperback)
Agatha Raisin's thirteenth outing as amateur detective finds her again involved in murder and intrigue a bit closer to home this time when Carsley's new curate is found brutally slain in the rectory. For the second time, Agatha teams up with her new next door neighbour, crime fiction writer John Armitage.
The appearance of a new curate, Tristan Delon, in the village of Carsely sets hearts fluttering amongst the women of the village but he is not all that he seems. After inviting Agatha round for a meal, Tristan is found stabbed to death.
Agatha and John take it upon themselves to find out who would want to kill a man of the cloth. Digging into Tristan's past and present, it transpires that there are plenty of suspects each with a good reason why they would the blonde haired curate dead.
I found this an enjoyable read and slightly more believable than other Agatha books which made it one of the better novels of the series. I think that the change in Agatha's sidekick has proved refreshing and I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book For Agatha Raisin Fans., 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gift for my grown up daughter who's hooked on Agatha Raisin Books. Both myself and my daughter found M.C.Beaton's style slightly strange at first, but we soon got hooked on these books once we got the hang of the author's way of writing. There are the usual intriguing twists and turns in the plot, while still keeping one's interest in Agatha's personal and love lives. A great read for those who love 'cosy crime'. It's always useful to be able to look inside books before deciding to make a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this. Terrible casting., 28 Dec. 2009
By 
Anne Roche (Leixlip, County Kildare Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this low rating because I have read every Agatha Raisin book 2 and 3 times, and the characters chosen to portray the written word were light years away from how they were described in the books. If you too are a committed Agatha Raisin fan and have read all the books, don't buy this and ruin your own private ideas of how people should look. Cannot understand how M.C. Beaton ever agreed to such inappropriate casting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A curious little book, 4 April 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Carnall (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and the Curious Curate (Paperback)
Agatha appears to be living in the 1950's, judging by the shirtwaister and the dinner party menu, and the general tone of the book. However the curate might be "gay", one of the characters is wearing a boob tube, and Agatha is able to buy microwave meals in the shops. This was all very puzzling, and I suspect is just carelessness on the part of the author. It's mildly entertaining, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Curious Curate, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is no surprise I love most of her books. They are funny and entertaining and depicts village life as we like to think of it.

The plot is good and just as you think you know who the culprit is bang goes your theory as a new development occurs and so the story unravels with the turn of each page. Keep writing MC in this style and I for one will continue to read your books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another great story in the Agatha Raisin saga, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you haven't read the Agatha Raisin books you're missing out. She's self centred and snobby but charming and endearing at the same time. Try to read them in the right order as there is an underlying story that carries through the books. Also try the Hamish McBeth stories by the same author. They're a great read and I really recommend them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Raisin and the Curious Curate
Agatha Raisin and the Curious Curate by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 27 May 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews