Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Read
Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage is the fifth book in the series written by M C Beaton.
Continuing from Beaton's previous novel Agatha is about to marry her neighbour James Lacey but at the last moment Agatha's secret is discovered - she is already married! Many deaths follow, and Agatha and James, once again, become amateur sleuths much to the annoyance of...
Published on 8 July 2004 by jackieg1

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO WEDDING, SEVERAL FUNERALS
A dramatic start. Agatha's wedding to James is wrecked by the sudden appearance of drunkard husband Jimmy, he not seen for thirty years. In front of all, Agatha threatens to kill him - later to be arrested when he is found dead.

In this fifth book the usual ingredients are shaken up a bit: Agatha's cottage sold; nice DS Bill Wong infatuated with ambitious...
Published on 25 July 2010 by Mr. D. L. Rees


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Read, 8 July 2004
Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage is the fifth book in the series written by M C Beaton.
Continuing from Beaton's previous novel Agatha is about to marry her neighbour James Lacey but at the last moment Agatha's secret is discovered - she is already married! Many deaths follow, and Agatha and James, once again, become amateur sleuths much to the annoyance of the local police force.
Once again Beaton gives us many insights into the lives of Carsley's inhabitants. I for one cannot wait to read the next instalment.
For those readers new to Agatha Raisin, when the books were recommended it was suggested to start with the first book Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death and read the series in order. I would offer the same recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO WEDDING, SEVERAL FUNERALS, 25 July 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Paperback)
A dramatic start. Agatha's wedding to James is wrecked by the sudden appearance of drunkard husband Jimmy, he not seen for thirty years. In front of all, Agatha threatens to kill him - later to be arrested when he is found dead.

In this fifth book the usual ingredients are shaken up a bit: Agatha's cottage sold; nice DS Bill Wong infatuated with ambitious DC Maddie Hurd; Agatha and James drifting apart and frequently sparring. Simply to clear their own names, they uneasily join forces to try solve the murder - only for several they question to be dead within hours. Not for the first time, undertakers are going to be busy....

An enjoyable, involving first half. Sadly the novel then begins to rely on creaking contrivances (oh dear, the two resorting to another totally unconvincing break-in!) and increasingly ludicrous aspects - not least a heavily disguised Agatha slumming it with London's down-and-outs. On the plus side are further glimpses of Agatha's vulnerability. Behind that tough facade is someone desperately lonely, longing for true love, the chance to settle down and to be happy.

Entertaining enough, but perhaps not as greatly as many would wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got me hooked on M.C. Beaton, 4 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This was my first Agatha Raisin book, and I loved it. I work at a library, and now I've read nearly all of them. You'll love the village and the recurring characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Aggy!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A reasonable romp with our Aggy. I like to read these books between more 'serious' stuff as they raise a smile and distract one from the turmoils of life under this government. Not my favourite so far but worth a read. Looking forward to the next adventure, she is becoming a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Paperback)
Agatha Raison is in excellent form in this book. It is a very amusing and engrossing read. I would thoroughly reccommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Murderous Marriage, 29 Dec 2009
I've read quite a few of the Agatha Raisin books and rate this one as average. The story was fairly entertaining but I thought it was too obvious who the killer was from about halfway through the book. It was interesting to see and find out more about Agatha's husband Jimmy though. That was probably the best thing about this book, the worst being that the relationship between Agatha and James Lacey takes center stage. I don't get what the attraction is (for either), and also don't find it plausible that they would ever get to the wedding stage. Overall though, it was a decent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit!, 18 May 1999
By A Customer
Read anything by MC Beaton or Marion Chesney you can get your hands on. She's got great character development in every slim volume that she publishes. What a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good light read, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ideal to read between weightier tomes. The world of Agatha Raisin is perfect to dip into before a deeper read. This type of book is excellent for me to use in this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aggie Raisin - Bridget Jones with a purpose, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When you find something you like you stick to it. Agatha is no different, but each book brings something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Agatha Raisin, 7 Mar 2013
By 
George (Crewe, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With Agatha you always know what you are going to get and I think she is a great character. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage
Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage by M.C. Beaton (Paperback - 29 April 2010)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews