Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Having suffered for many years from anxiety and thinking it was quite "normal" to feel that way, this book was a revelation. It is very easy to understand, it explains in a most simple way the reasons anxiety is such a problem for some people and not for others. In a step by step form it takes the reader through a process of self help and self understanding. One of the benefits is you can work at your own speed, you can work alone or enlist help from family or friends. It has passages from fellow anxiety sufferers, which makes the reader realise they are not alone with their problems. Having worked through this book and its Cognitive Behavioral approach myself, I found its contents most enlightening and it certainly helped me to work though and overcome my problems. I highly recommend this book for anyone suffering from anxiety.
0Comment|281 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
Brilliant book that helped me tremendously when I thought I was going mad . It put a name to all my symptoms and explained how to overcome them .
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Very informative and structured book. Ideas and suggestions invaluable. Easy to understand. Prove very useful to anyone suffering with anxiety
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
This is a good book, full of tips on identifying and dealing with anxiety. You feel calmer the minute you start to read which is no bad thing. Happy to recommend.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2009
The content of this book is mostly focussed on anxiety in workplace situtations and is not very helpful for those that do not work. e.g. housewives, retirees, etc.

Some of the exercises are useful and could be adapted for use by others but it could potentially put off those that don't immediately see how the narrative applies to them.
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Having bought Overcoming Depression by Paul Gilbert, I was disappointed by this offering. There were too many case studies and repetition, overuse of the 'chest pains thinking you are having a heart attack' example. There was not much that I found useful or helpful, with most advice being very obvious.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2004
This book offers perhaps the best description of what anxiety is and how it effects us that I have ever read. It is extrememly good for gathering information on anxiety then. However, it is much less good when it comes to the techniques for actually overcoming the anxiety. For example the section on Challenging Worrying Thoughts does not list enough 'cognitive distortions'. It alludes to 'Jumping to Conclusions' without explaining it properly. The section on Distraction is not completely clear either. I am glad i read it for information, but will look elsewhere for techniques for overcoming anxiety. The worksheets are also not as convenient as those in other cognitive therapy books.
11 comment|114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Not very overcoming anxiety friendly. More a professional viewpoint / work-related / study / techniques book
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2008
I found this book to very helpful and useful with some excellent techniques in dealing with Anxiety. As a generalised book it will have some parts more useful or relevant than others, but this is to be expected.

It is very readable and avoids getting bogged down with too many complicated or arduous theories or practices.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
This book has been useful to me. While most of the advice seems like common sense that you could have thought up yourself, it helps to have it clearly laid out. I have worked through parts of this book with a counsellor and it has helped me a lot.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)