Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


260 of 268 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must for anyone suffering from anxiety
Having suffered for many years from anxiety and thinking it was quite "normal" to feel that way, this book was a revelation. It is very easy to understand, it explains in a most simple way the reasons anxiety is such a problem for some people and not for others. In a step by step form it takes the reader through a process of self help and self understanding...
Published on 1 Mar. 2002 by Susan Bone (boneysjoint@aol.com)

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy Overcoming Depression instead
Having bought Overcoming Depression by Paul Gilbert, I was disappointed by this offering. There were too many case studies and repetition, overuse of the 'chest pains thinking you are having a heart attack' example. There was not much that I found useful or helpful, with most advice being very obvious.
Published 13 months ago by Katrina Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

260 of 268 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must for anyone suffering from anxiety, 1 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
Having suffered for many years from anxiety and thinking it was quite "normal" to feel that way, this book was a revelation. It is very easy to understand, it explains in a most simple way the reasons anxiety is such a problem for some people and not for others. In a step by step form it takes the reader through a process of self help and self understanding. One of the benefits is you can work at your own speed, you can work alone or enlist help from family or friends. It has passages from fellow anxiety sufferers, which makes the reader realise they are not alone with their problems. Having worked through this book and its Cognitive Behavioral approach myself, I found its contents most enlightening and it certainly helped me to work though and overcome my problems. I highly recommend this book for anyone suffering from anxiety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy Overcoming Depression instead, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioral Techniques (Paperback)
Having bought Overcoming Depression by Paul Gilbert, I was disappointed by this offering. There were too many case studies and repetition, overuse of the 'chest pains thinking you are having a heart attack' example. There was not much that I found useful or helpful, with most advice being very obvious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, 11 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
The content of this book is mostly focussed on anxiety in workplace situtations and is not very helpful for those that do not work. e.g. housewives, retirees, etc.

Some of the exercises are useful and could be adapted for use by others but it could potentially put off those that don't immediately see how the narrative applies to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 124 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in Parts, 29 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
This book offers perhaps the best description of what anxiety is and how it effects us that I have ever read. It is extrememly good for gathering information on anxiety then. However, it is much less good when it comes to the techniques for actually overcoming the anxiety. For example the section on Challenging Worrying Thoughts does not list enough 'cognitive distortions'. It alludes to 'Jumping to Conclusions' without explaining it properly. The section on Distraction is not completely clear either. I am glad i read it for information, but will look elsewhere for techniques for overcoming anxiety. The worksheets are also not as convenient as those in other cognitive therapy books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful and helpful book for anxiety sufferers, 6 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
I found this book to very helpful and useful with some excellent techniques in dealing with Anxiety. As a generalised book it will have some parts more useful or relevant than others, but this is to be expected.

It is very readable and avoids getting bogged down with too many complicated or arduous theories or practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Rated from my doctor , and now me ., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioral Techniques (Paperback)
Brilliant book that helped me tremendously when I thought I was going mad . It put a name to all my symptoms and explained how to overcome them .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative and structured book. Ideas and suggestions invaluable. Easy to understand. Prove very useful to anyone suffering with anxiety
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relevant: Good reading., 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioral Techniques (Paperback)
This is a good book, full of tips on identifying and dealing with anxiety. You feel calmer the minute you start to read which is no bad thing. Happy to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide, 6 Jun. 2009
By 
Jonathan Gazeley "dj_judas21" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
This book has been useful to me. While most of the advice seems like common sense that you could have thought up yourself, it helps to have it clearly laid out. I have worked through parts of this book with a counsellor and it has helped me a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making sense!, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having suffered with anxiety out of the blue for a number of years now with the odd panic attack, I have purchased several books.
I have to say although having not completed this book yet, it gives you more of an understanding and confidence on how to tackle such a problem as anxiety.
It is simple to read and I have to say it has helped me feel a lot better, I now control my breathing as to not get myself agitated in certain situations, you do need to work at it but I am so glad I purchased this book!
Highly recommended to anyone who wants a straight forward no nonsense read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overcoming Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioral Techniques
Used & New from: £5.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews