Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


253 of 259 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must for anyone suffering from anxiety
Having suffered for many years from anxiety and thinking it was quite "normal" to feel that way, this book was a revelation. It is very easy to understand, it explains in a most simple way the reasons anxiety is such a problem for some people and not for others. In a step by step form it takes the reader through a process of self help and self understanding...
Published on 1 Mar 2002 by Susan Bone (boneysjoint@aol.com)

versus
45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title
The content of this book is mostly focussed on anxiety in workplace situtations and is not very helpful for those that do not work. e.g. housewives, retirees, etc.

Some of the exercises are useful and could be adapted for use by others but it could potentially put off those that don't immediately see how the narrative applies to them.
Published on 11 April 2009 by Corinne Harris


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

253 of 259 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must for anyone suffering from anxiety, 1 Mar 2002
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
Having suffered for many years from anxiety and thinking it was quite "normal" to feel that way, this book was a revelation. It is very easy to understand, it explains in a most simple way the reasons anxiety is such a problem for some people and not for others. In a step by step form it takes the reader through a process of self help and self understanding. One of the benefits is you can work at your own speed, you can work alone or enlist help from family or friends. It has passages from fellow anxiety sufferers, which makes the reader realise they are not alone with their problems. Having worked through this book and its Cognitive Behavioral approach myself, I found its contents most enlightening and it certainly helped me to work though and overcome my problems. I highly recommend this book for anyone suffering from anxiety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, 11 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
The content of this book is mostly focussed on anxiety in workplace situtations and is not very helpful for those that do not work. e.g. housewives, retirees, etc.

Some of the exercises are useful and could be adapted for use by others but it could potentially put off those that don't immediately see how the narrative applies to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 119 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in Parts, 29 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
This book offers perhaps the best description of what anxiety is and how it effects us that I have ever read. It is extrememly good for gathering information on anxiety then. However, it is much less good when it comes to the techniques for actually overcoming the anxiety. For example the section on Challenging Worrying Thoughts does not list enough 'cognitive distortions'. It alludes to 'Jumping to Conclusions' without explaining it properly. The section on Distraction is not completely clear either. I am glad i read it for information, but will look elsewhere for techniques for overcoming anxiety. The worksheets are also not as convenient as those in other cognitive therapy books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book really helped me!, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Gordon Thomson (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll keep this short because if you’re suffering from anxiety about something you need to get to this book, read it, and use its recommendations. This is not a quick fix to “all that ails kinda book but, from the start, it does give you useful tools to use to reduce, and deal with extreme stress. The approach in this book really worked for me. It took me about four weeks to get “even” and realise I was doing the right thing, and if it didn’t work out right? It helped me have the right attitude about that too. Yes I did wake up worried – I found ways to deal with it, Yes I did make a huge issue out of the approaching event – this book helped me to keep things in proportion. I recommend this book very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful and helpful book for anxiety sufferers, 6 Jun 2008
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
I found this book to very helpful and useful with some excellent techniques in dealing with Anxiety. As a generalised book it will have some parts more useful or relevant than others, but this is to be expected.

It is very readable and avoids getting bogged down with too many complicated or arduous theories or practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioral Techniques (Paperback)
one of the best on the subject, highly recommend to anyway leaving with anxiety who wants to control their life instead if the anxiety controlling it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative and structured book. Ideas and suggestions invaluable. Easy to understand. Prove very useful to anyone suffering with anxiety
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overcoming Anxiety, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. A. J. Gregory "Buxton Mountainman" (Buxton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioral Techniques (Paperback)
I thoroughly reccomend this book, it is easy to read and take in the advice and information it contains. It has been a great help with my problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Jonathan Gazeley "dj_judas21" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
This book has been useful to me. While most of the advice seems like common sense that you could have thought up yourself, it helps to have it clearly laid out. I have worked through parts of this book with a counsellor and it has helped me a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality delivery, 26 Mar 2009
By 
I. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Anxiety (Paperback)
Book bought for my wife, who suffers from anxiety. Finds it well worthwhile and gives a number of ideas how to cope. As usual prompt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overcoming Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioral Techniques
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews