Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A past that threatens the present.
The idyllic summer of 1972 and four teenagers, Katy, Danny, Simon and Trudie are spending that summer house sitting at Simon's uncles house in the tranquil Hereford countryside. The tranquillity is brought to a sudden halt and things will never be the same again.

Thirty years later and Katy receives a letter from Danny's mother asking to see her, bringing the...
Published on 21 Jan 2010 by Big Bertha

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual character driven mystery with a claustrophobic atmosphere
Thirty years ago, Kate Mayfield spent the summer in a country house with her boyfriend, Danny, and his best friend, Simon. On a day trip to the beach, they met free-spirited Trudie, who came to live with them. Her addition to the party created tensions between the group, and jealousy and passions soon erupted, followed quickly by violence...In the present, Kate receives a...
Published on 24 April 2010 by AR


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual character driven mystery with a claustrophobic atmosphere, 24 April 2010
By 
AR (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Pull of The Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Thirty years ago, Kate Mayfield spent the summer in a country house with her boyfriend, Danny, and his best friend, Simon. On a day trip to the beach, they met free-spirited Trudie, who came to live with them. Her addition to the party created tensions between the group, and jealousy and passions soon erupted, followed quickly by violence...In the present, Kate receives a letter from Danny's elderly mother, summoning her to a final meeting. How much can she possibly know about the traumatic summer that has haunted Kate ever since?

When I first started this book, I didn't think I would like it. For me, the beginning had an air of 'Surfacing', by Margaret Atwood, a novel I particularly hated, but it soon moved away from this. The book manages to evoke the Seventies atmosphere well, and I could imagine what it was like to be young in this time; plenty of Cat Stevens, cheesecloth clothes, long hair and sweeping skirts.

At first the story is a simple tale of youthful relationships, the mystery comes in the present day segments, where Kate dwells on her visit to Danny's mother, afraid of past secrets. As the story slowly unravels, through a combination of flashbacks and present-day discussion, a heavy, claustrophobic atmosphere emerges as the teenagers fight and loyalties change. The summer is unbearably hot, and the group are isolated from the outside world in a lonely house belonging to Simon's uncle. Whenever an outsider appears, their presence jarrs amongst the teenagers. The situation comes to a head with a mysterious death three-quarters of the way through the novel, and the remaining members of the group quickly descend into guilt and paranoia. Their feelings are convincingly drawn, and their petty disagreements and squabbles add realism to the story.

This isn't a standard mystery, it focuses on characters and is stronger for this, as the believability of the plot hinges on the complex nature of the four youths and the relationships between them. It is difficult to know which of the characters to sympathise with, as the story is told from Kate's perspective, Trudie is initially dealt with quite harshly, due to Kate's suspicion and jealousy, but as she gets to know the younger girl, another side of her nature is revealed. There are a few moments that might raise eyebrows, but in the end the story comes together convincingly, something Kate herself reflects upon. This isn't a fast paced story, but has a creeping sense of unease that will keep you reading until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A past that threatens the present., 21 Jan 2010
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pull of The Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The idyllic summer of 1972 and four teenagers, Katy, Danny, Simon and Trudie are spending that summer house sitting at Simon's uncles house in the tranquil Hereford countryside. The tranquillity is brought to a sudden halt and things will never be the same again.

Thirty years later and Katy receives a letter from Danny's mother asking to see her, bringing the past and secrets buried there back to the present.

A well written book that drew me into the plot and kept me reading, intigued to find out what happened. The lazy summer hanging out of students was well depicted as were the relationships between the four characters, the undercurrents that threatened their friendship and the tranquil setting.

A good solid read that kept me intrigued from start to finish, I'll certainly be looking out for more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exact character building, 8 Mar 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pull of The Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's the summer of '72 and 3 students set off to house-sit for a relative. Their idyllic summer of love is soon interrupted by an uninvited newcomer and the mounting tension that arises from the oppressively warm summer and their inactivity and boredom eventually leads to tragic events that will change their lives forever.

The story unfolds as a combination of flashbacks to that summer and present day in the life of one of the housesitters who is now a single, middle-aged, retired teacher. We as readers are not fully aware of what exactly happened till the very end (although most experienced crime readers probably have a pretty good idea) which in a less gifted author's hands could prove really annoying and unnecessarily complicated. However, I think it works rather well in this instance. By mixing the past and present, the author manages to convey the consequences these events still have in the lives of the survivors and just how deeply it has affected not only those directly involved, but their families and futures as well.

As some of the other reviewers have already mentioned, this kind of storytelling is not new or innovative, but Diane Janes does it very convincingly. She has managed to create an oppressive and suffocating atmosphere around the past as well as the present and it makes for an entertaining and gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive readng, 11 Mar 2012
I bought this for my kindle as it sounded like it might be a good read. It turned out to be a fantastic read with lots of twists and turns and in the end i just had to finish it in one sitting. I liked the smooth changes from the past to present day. All in all it was very well written and i really got involved with the characters. I'm now looking for something to fill the void i have now that this is finished!! Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful read,brilliantly written, couldn't put it down. Very atmospheric, I was completely drawn in as the story of events from a long-ago summer unfolded. Freedom, first love, deception, death....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Thriller, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pull of The Moon (Paperback)
Diane Janes usually writes non-fiction, this is her first published work of fiction, and a very good first novel too. Janes is quite obviously an experienced author, the book is well-written and although quite slow at the start, soon packs up the pace, she weaves a great story and I found myself reading faster and faster towards the end.
The story is told in flash-backs by Kate, a middle-aged single retired teacher. Kate has received a letter out of the blue from the mother of a boy spent the summer of 1972 with. She recounts the story of that summer which was spent staying in an isolated country house. Initially there were just the three of them; Kate, her boyfriend Danny and his university friend Simon. Then Trudie turns up - mysterious, young, spiritual, she soons changes the whole atmosphere of the house.
There is a certain feeling of dread, impending doom, the thought that something tragic is about to happen. The descriptions of the long, hot summer days, the old dusty house and the assorted and quite different characters work so well.
I enjoyed every page of this thriller, slow-paced but well told and it makes you wonder just how well do you know anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unexpected twists, 18 Nov 2010
By 
M. R. Cheung (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pull of The Moon (Paperback)
The Pull of the Moon is written in an elegant understated style which drew me in from the from very beginning. The hot summer of 1972 unfolds with a feeling of inevitable doom. The period is powerfully evoked through lots of small details from song lyrics, to clothes and even the names of ice-creams. The sense of adolescent boredom gradually begins to feel more and more dangerous and yet I misunderstood the nature of the danger. I was surprised at the end by the direction the story took - but when I looked back I found that the author had been perfectly fair - all the clues were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, dark secrets......., 10 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. K. Cross "keithcelt2" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pull of The Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A real page-turner is this book. It lets out its secrets little by little, & kept me guessing & wanting to know more. It takes place in 1972 & the present, & it flows seamlessly between each time zone. Before switching from one time to the other, we are teased with a cliff-hanger.
I loved the 70s sections because I was there! It was a very accurate portrayal of the time, & to add to the book's atmosphere, I put on my Cat Stevens CD with the track Moonshadow, as this song features in the story.
The story centres around four young folk & the events, one summer, that lead up to the terrible secrets Kate Mayfield (main character) has to keep locked away. All four are three-dimentional creations & the plot totally believable. There are a few genuinely creepy moments in this book too, ones that made me reluctant to turn off the light when my reading for the night was over!!!!
The climax of the book was absolutely unexpected & shocking! I realised that I was holding my breath, & had been for at least three pages!!!! My nerves were pretty much shredded!
This is an excellently written book: it flows, it thrills, it entertains, it shocks. I can thoroughly recommend this to anyone who enjoys murder/mystery/thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book. Well written, every page told the story and had me wanting to get to the next bit. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting atmosphere, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't put this one down! There was such a dark and brooding atmosphere throughout the story. Just loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pull of The Moon
The Pull of The Moon by Diane Janes (Paperback - 8 April 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews