Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful, passionate, timely book
From the cover for this I thought it would just be another fun rant against political correctness, nanny statism and everything else that dogs our nation today (no bad thing in my view). But reading it I started to realise that it's actually an extremely impressive piece of research with an astonishing level of detail. I now feel very well-equipped to argue the case...
Published on 26 Mar 2010 by James Flanagan

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Laws
I purchased this book on the back of favourable reviews on Amaozon and the press. Like the curates egg, its good in parts. Writing on Health & Safety, the author contends that training in the use of ladders defies common sense, not to mention poor use of resources. He then goes on to say that in one year, 13 people were killed using ladders, and 25,000 were seriously...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by S. Bruce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful, passionate, timely book, 26 Mar 2010
This review is from: Bad Laws: An Explosive Analysis of Britain's Petty Rules, Health and Safety Lunacies and Madcap Laws. (Paperback)
From the cover for this I thought it would just be another fun rant against political correctness, nanny statism and everything else that dogs our nation today (no bad thing in my view). But reading it I started to realise that it's actually an extremely impressive piece of research with an astonishing level of detail. I now feel very well-equipped to argue the case against government interference in areas where they simply don't belong. I've read Mr Johnston's Home Front columns for some years now and always enjoyed them, but when extended to book length it not only hits home, it actually leaves you spitting with rage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Balanced Review of VERY Bad Laws, 1 May 2010
By 
Mr. Nicholas L. Evans "Book Worm" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Laws: An Explosive Analysis of Britain's Petty Rules, Health and Safety Lunacies and Madcap Laws. (Paperback)
This is one of those books that your stuggle to put down, particularly if you are 40 plus and remember with some affection 'the good old days'

The mess that the country is in requires some explanation and Philip Johnstone does this in a very clear and concise way that explains how decisions are made and why they are not properly thought through.

Anyone considering voting Labour should read this book as it does lay out quite clearly what went wrong with the Labour dream, although this is not (implied or otherwise) the books raison d'etre.

A damn good read and one I hope the new governement will take notice of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, 23 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Bad Laws: An Explosive Analysis of Britain's Petty Rules, Health and Safety Lunacies and Madcap Laws. (Paperback)
The last decade and a half has seen a volume of legislation that is unprecedented in human history, an event that has stemmed purely from government pettiness, intrusiveness and dangerous incompetence. Philip Johnston's argument is so comprehensive that it is pretty much irrefutable. Required reading in the run-up to an election. Shame the other lot haven't cottoned on yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Laws, 8 Jun 2010
By 
S. Bruce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Laws: An Explosive Analysis of Britain's Petty Rules, Health and Safety Lunacies and Madcap Laws. (Paperback)
I purchased this book on the back of favourable reviews on Amaozon and the press. Like the curates egg, its good in parts. Writing on Health & Safety, the author contends that training in the use of ladders defies common sense, not to mention poor use of resources. He then goes on to say that in one year, 13 people were killed using ladders, and 25,000 were seriously injured. The author considers the £200 it cost to implement ladder training poor value for money. When you factor in the cost to the NHS, as well as industrial injuries payments, ladder training would appear cheap at the price.

The author further argues that legislation has supplanted common sense. If the figures quoted above are anything to go by, there are a lot of people lacking in common sense. This is to take nothing away from the many valid points made in Bad Laws. But all too often, the author makes wide sweeping generalisations from specific points. Fine if you're looking for a bit of light hearted reading without the need to check facts. Not so fine if you're looking for some hard analysis of New Labour's tendency to replace thought with legislation.

Buy it for entertainment. Leave it aside if you're looking for a critical analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CRIMINALITY ON IT'S HEAD, 23 Feb 2013
By 
David J. Hayward (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Laws: An Explosive Analysis of Britain's Petty Rules, Health and Safety Lunacies and Madcap Laws. (Paperback)
This book is mostly aimed at the absolute mess the labour party made of the criminal justice system.
It goes into detail on a number of subjects as to how they managed to criminalise the public while getting ever softer on real criminals. Making criminals of those who would not argue as they had something to lose, and would not fight back, in order to convince those same people tha they were getting tough on crime, immigration and anti-social behaviour.

It details the incompetant and knee-jerk politics of new labour and shows how they abused and destroyed the legal system for politcal point scoring. Making new laws to cover stuff that was already illegal so we thought they were doing something, amendin them several ttimes before they were even brought in, and in some cases replacing them before they were even active.
And, also how labour abused powers reserved for war time to bypass the house of lords time and time again.

Philip Johnston shows us how the law was used as a play thing to occupy the hundreds of thousands of civil servants with nothing to do other than dream up ways of controling the lives of the people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The damage governments cause, 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: Bad Laws: An Explosive Analysis of Britain's Petty Rules, Health and Safety Lunacies and Madcap Laws. (Paperback)
Firstly this book will make you depressed and angry (at least for those living in the UK).

Saying that, it should be read by all voters and future voters in the UK (and also other countries where Labour type governments rule).

Bad Laws primarily covers the 13 years of Labour rule in the UK and the multitude of laws, rules and regulation introduced during that time.

It tells the story of corruption, stupidity, bureaucracy, law and disorder. It's about the damage governments can cause through the misguided belief that more laws equals a better society.

The last chapter covers the huge amount of money required to maintain these laws and how we as taxpayers are forced to pay for this.

I suggest our current leaders, Nick Clegg and David Cameron, read this book. They will find they can save billions of pounds simply by doing a clean-up and repealing these useless laws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lunatics are really in charge now!, 26 May 2010
By 
Barry Haves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Laws: An Explosive Analysis of Britain's Petty Rules, Health and Safety Lunacies and Madcap Laws. (Paperback)
The title of Chapter One says it all: 'The Theft of Common sense'. We now have an established elite consisting of politicians and bureaucrats who spend their time micro- -managing everything (to justify their jobs), thereby not allowing any of us to use our common sense. The politicians react to any situation by passing new Laws, when all that
is often needed is the enforcement of existing Law. It is the classic 'Appearance versus
Reality' situation: it is easier to appear to be doing something rather than actually doing
what is necessary. Any action that is taken usually penalises the law-abiding majority while sometimes letting the minority of culprits escape.

To compound the problem we now have another tier of unelected politicians doing the same,
passing Regulations and Directives that often have no relevance to Britain - I mean, of course, those gravy-train passengers in Brussels. But it will get worse - a further tier of unelected bureaucrats is being stealthily created in the name of bringing democracy closer to us: the Regional Assemblies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and funny, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Laws: An Explosive Analysis of Britain's Petty Rules, Health and Safety Lunacies and Madcap Laws. (Paperback)
Excellent book. There are so many dumb laws - a lot of them leftovers from other eras, to be fair. But Philip Johnston has dug out some beauties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommended, 31 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Laws (Kindle Edition)
This is a fine, enjoyable book from an accomplished communicator who is a master of his craft.

Important subject matter; solid facts, extensively referenced; clear, direct prose; powerful argument -- it's a revelation.

I strongly recommend this book both for its readability and for the information which it conveys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Booke review, 16 May 2010
This review is from: Bad Laws: An Explosive Analysis of Britain's Petty Rules, Health and Safety Lunacies and Madcap Laws. (Paperback)
I intend taking this on holiday next week and find out why I did not vote for Labour at the last election
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews