Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for fast easy flavoursome food
John Gregory-Smith's Mighty Spice Express is a follow up to his Mighty Spice cookbook; like the previous book, this is a supermarket friendly offering using readily available spices, but this time there is an added focus on quick and easy dishes inspired by streetfood, that are ideal for those in a hurry. There are six chapters: mighty bites, not quite lunch, midweek...
Published 16 months ago by FussFreeFlavours

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Novice person
3 Star due to lack of recipes
Lots of stories that's not what I wanted
The instructions are good for the recipes
Published 9 months ago by cybershot123


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for fast easy flavoursome food, 21 Aug 2013
This review is from: Mighty Spice Express Cookbook (Hardcover)
John Gregory-Smith's Mighty Spice Express is a follow up to his Mighty Spice cookbook; like the previous book, this is a supermarket friendly offering using readily available spices, but this time there is an added focus on quick and easy dishes inspired by streetfood, that are ideal for those in a hurry. There are six chapters: mighty bites, not quite lunch, midweek lifesavers, nice & easy, something spectacular, and naughty but nice.

Inspiration was taken from his travels to Morocco, Goa, South Korea and North-east China, so there's plenty of variety in terms of flavours.

I particularly like the look of griddled paneer with mint chutney, baked eggs with lentils and goat's cheese, zaatar halloumi with couscous salad, Mr Wong's hunan lamb, salmon bibimbap (excellent, when we made it), Dongbai roast cod with stir-fried spinach and peanuts, duck tostadas with black beans & salsa, and cinnamon fig tarts.The time to make each dish is listed with the heading, with many in the range of ten to fifteen minutes; if you're haven't (yet?) done your own streetfood tour of the world, but are looking for some inspiration when you're in a hurry and a cheese sandwich just won't do, then take a look at this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!!, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So many enticing flavours from around the world! Only found about 3 recipes I didn't fancy and could quite honestly cook from this page by page one at a time and be very happy for many months. I was looking for inspiration for healthy flavour-packed meals making the most of spices and herbs and this offers them up by the bucket-load. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants to try something a bit different but that isn't too challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Novice person, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mighty Spice Express Cookbook (Hardcover)
3 Star due to lack of recipes
Lots of stories that's not what I wanted
The instructions are good for the recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lover of all things spicy, I thought it take my chances with this book. It's currently being sold at a reduced price, and although I do not know this author...I am very impressed.

Initially I was a little bit dubious about some of the methods because normally an intricate dish takes time, and a lot of these are a 'quick' way of cooking. However, whilst delving further and further into the book o noticed that there are some recipes with no short cuts and this has reassured me somewhat. I have not had the chance to make any yet, however I was left salivating at the pictures and can't wait to give it a bash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars present, 21 Sep 2013
By 
M. P. Lambert "magbag" (essex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mighty Spice Express Cookbook (Hardcover)
bought as a present, recipient seems very pleased with it. Has done a lot of recipes from the Mighty Spice book so I expect he will be doing a lot of these from the Express
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mighty Spice Express Cookbook
Mighty Spice Express Cookbook by John Gregory-Smith (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2013)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews