Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 13 Mar 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Icing on the Cake: Your Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Decorating Baked Treats (Hardcover)
Even for many accomplished cooks, baking and decorating baked goods can still be something they avoid where possible, feeling it is too difficult. This book seeks to show that this need not be the case.

The author runs a bakery which specialises in decorated cakes and here she gives a bit of an insider's look at an art form that need not be complicated. Time, patience and a sense of humour seem to be the key ingredients for success. Unlike other books the author cuts straight to the chase and within a few pages you would be making something that could not fail to get a gasp or two of appreciation from a recipient. Yet, when you look behind the curtain it isn't that difficult to do once you know how.

The book is open, accessible and literally splitting at the seems with information - there is a bit of unavoidable too-ing and fro-ing through the book but strangely enough this does not seem to be a problem. Possibly the brilliant, engaging photographs help draw you in, get you dreaming a bit and BANG, you are hooked! At the end of the book is a large chapter of "best-kept secrets" with a lot of hints, tips, templates and resources. You might find that you keep referring to this handy section even if you are using another book for a recipe source!

When you combine the book's content and its very low price (for what you are getting) this is really a steal, a key resource for those who need a bit of a hand with baking and decorating their baked goods. The more seasoned professional might not get as much out of this book as the beginner would, although you only need to find a couple of good recipes to get your money's worth! The only negative thing is that if you are on a diet, or should be.... too much temptation can be found within and you don't like to waste good food, do you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, step by step instructions and pictures., 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Icing on the Cake: Your Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Decorating Baked Treats (Hardcover)
A fantastic book for novice bakers and the more experienced. Great ideas and fantastic baking tips. The pictures are brilliant and the instructions are clear to follow. Guides for baking and sizes of tins and templates all available at the back of the book. Really pleased with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Icing on the Cake: Your Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Decorating Baked Treats (Hardcover)
One of the most helpful books I have on celebration cake making and decorating. All stages explained beautifully and many helpful tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab book...but check cake recipe quantities, 20 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Icing on the Cake: Your Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Decorating Baked Treats (Hardcover)
Overall, I'm really enjoying this book. It has a lot going for it for both beginners and more experienced cake decorators, with well explained ideas.....but
unless I'm missing something, the quantities for the cupcake recipes seem a bit adrift.

By this I mean that the book gives 50g of flour/butter/sugar + eggs etc to make 6 cupcakes, but on the same chart, goes on to say that 200g of the same ingredients will make 12 cupcakes.

I'm not saying that would make me not buy this book at all, just something to be aware of, as it's easy to substitute any cupcake recipe you already use and know. The proportions are right though, so I may have just missed something :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This has been a fantastic book which has provided me with the know-how to ..., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Icing on the Cake: Your Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Decorating Baked Treats (Hardcover)
This has been a fantastic book which has provided me with the know-how to make all kinds of cake creations that I didn't think were possible. Wedding favours with flood icing are very popular & this book has shown me how. Thank you so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal book, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
Dr. N. WOODRUFF (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Icing on the Cake: Your Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Decorating Baked Treats (Hardcover)
Extremely instructive and useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very happy, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Icing on the Cake: Your Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Decorating Baked Treats (Hardcover)
very happy with this product as it does what it is supposed to do and I will recommend to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my best books it is very well laid out and easy to follow with excellent tips and recipes very good for those beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good range of great ideas, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Icing on the Cake: Your Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Decorating Baked Treats (Hardcover)
This book covers a good range of baking and decorating ideas, from cookies, to cake pops, to cupcakes, and for all sorts of occasions. Is worth investing in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Icing on the Cake: Your Ultimate Step-by-Step Guide to Decorating Baked Treats
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews