Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read for the loo or sofa!, 15 Sept. 2009
By 
James May must now surely be the most famous of the 'Top Gear Trio', and this book is just another example of his excellent writing skills.
Some I had already read from his regular column in The Telegraph, but were a joy to read again. He is a fine example of a writer, who writes in a form of a diary, sharing experiences from his own life, including his local,'Woman' and Fusker the cat.
More books please James!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading., 5 Sept. 2009
By 
Robyn L. Carlson "Librarian" (Keyser, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You do not have to be a car junkie to like this book. James May covers many subjects with insight and humor. I really wish he would write more books, an autobiography that covers his travels would be a great read. The projects he gets involved in would no doubt be a great second volume. I encourage anyone that likes a good story to read Car Fever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful collection of articles - readable and witty, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
James May comes across as the most thoughtful and intelligent member of the Top Gear trio - this book further enhances that image. It's a collection of his newspaper articles and is largely car - centred, hence the title. You think of a famous car that the show has featured and it's almost certainly mentioned here either in passing or in depth.

However James does touch on other topics, but always with a witty, astute, slightly surreal eye that doesn't really come across fully in the TV programmes. Observant readers/viewers will recognise the flamboyantly floral blue and white shirt he wears in his cover photo and the shirt gets a little history of its own.

It's a great book for bedtime reading, containing little literary nuggets that will give you a quiet chuckle as you turn the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Car Fever:Simmered to perfection, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
Lampros Markou "lmk" (Thessaloniki,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In Car Fever,James May shares his amusing reflections on cars, the state of modern society and life in general. You are sure to find yourself laughing out loud at times at his clever turn of phrase and entertaining musings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Top Gear spin-offs, 6 Oct. 2011
Amusing in places and well-written throughout. Although I'm sure May himself would be first to admit that he does have a tendancy to witter on a bit about things that hardly matter, he does also occasionally display novel, eye-opening views on some subjects as a British eccentric should.

In his own pedantic style, I feel that 4* is a bit mean as I enjoyed this book more than all the other Top Gear offerings, but 5* should be reserved for literary titans, so I award this 4.333* recurring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gas!, 21 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like wordplay, irony, self deprecation, humour (but not of the laugh-or-I-shoot kind) etc. this is for you. Don't be afraid, it's not about cars really, although they do come into it a bit, but it's mostly about the slightly foggy, clumsy, man-in-shed kind of bachelor, in short, May himself and the many non-adventures in his life which, apart from a few trips to places like Iceland, isn't very eventful or adventurous. Which makes it all the more fun to read about his battles (of sorts) with tools, pets, officialdom, colleagues (you know who), vague friends, someone called 'woman' and yes, cars and motorcycles. Delightful, wordy and inventive entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing piece of James May' brain, 20 Mar. 2010
By 
Vladimir Kulev (Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Car Fever: The car bore's essential companion (Audio CD)
I do recommend strongly this audio book. This is an inspiring story of the world around and red by James' relaxing voice. I covered miles in the rain with earphones and still can't go back home. Listened it several times and I will again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reformed reader, 5 April 2011
If you're as mad a fan of Top gear as I am, then you'll love James May's comments on everyday motoring and the like, from his own personal point of view. What a HOOT!!, you just can't put it down!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James May, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Ms. P. S. Taylor (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As always, eminently readable. In fact, I gobbled it down in a day! Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as ever, 6 Nov. 2011
By 
Toad (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
Ideal for when travelling on train, or on holiday. short, light hearted stories. easy to pick up, and put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Car Fever: The car bore's essential companion
Car Fever: The car bore's essential companion by James May (Audio CD - 20 Aug. 2009)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews