Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing
This is a wonderful book,and the photography is amazing, it is many years since I have gained so much information and enjoyment all in one book. I think anyone who loves Ireland and is interested in its history will gain hours of pleasure.
It is a book to treasure and keep picking up to re read and look at the photographs.
Published on 6 Nov 2010 by henry george

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, but!
I like this book. The photographs are excellent but I think it could have be massively improved by including a photograph of each house in its heyday. I don't think it would have been difficult to source period photographs for most properties and would have helped the reader to visualize how the houses looked when lived in.
Very good but could have been much better
Published on 13 May 2011 by Malcolm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 6 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book,and the photography is amazing, it is many years since I have gained so much information and enjoyment all in one book. I think anyone who loves Ireland and is interested in its history will gain hours of pleasure.
It is a book to treasure and keep picking up to re read and look at the photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that truly captures the dereliction of these once beautiful homes, 29 Jan 2011
By 
J. Rawlin "whisptwo" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
I was immediately drawn into the wonderful photography within these pages. The evocation of a lost period of stunning architecture and elegance has been picked out in high definition 360o photography providing us with a glimpse into what were once Ireland's most distinguished homes. Anyone with an interest in Architectue, history, photography or a link to these houses, could not fail to be captured by this beautiful work of art, combined with thoroughly researched information on the occupants, their interesting links and lifestyles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very good, a beautiful and worthwhile book, but...., 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
This is a fine book, well worth owning for anyone involved in the preservation of historic and culturally important sites.

However, the actual facts concerning the various homes is often thin. The tragedy of the impending destruction of these extraordinary architectural masterpieces would be more completely understood if there were reference photographs of the residences before roofs were pulled off to reduce taxes, the sale and looting of architectural fittings and deliberate dereliction. The ruin often began with the abandonment by their families, and the sale of their historic furnishings and libraries, so again, period photographs would help the reader understand what has been lost.

Even so, this is a fine book with remarkable and beautiful photographs, worth owning.
Greg Hubbard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, but!, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
I like this book. The photographs are excellent but I think it could have be massively improved by including a photograph of each house in its heyday. I don't think it would have been difficult to source period photographs for most properties and would have helped the reader to visualize how the houses looked when lived in.
Very good but could have been much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 31 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
Abandoned Mansions of Ireland is a delightful book which illustrates
and records the histories of many of the fine houses of Ireland which are now lost for ever. Mr Tarquin Blake, I understand, is now writing another book on the subject which I very much look forward to reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings-rather disappointed, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
The photography seems faultless, I love the concept, but having devoured every detail of the Abandoned Ireland website and revelled in the uncommon details and stories accompanying the photos, I was very let down when I realised that the book did not contain any interesting stories. In the book, the photographs are accompanied by a lot of very factual information which seems to be mostly derived from the Census, and I found it all very flat and dull compared to the fantastic website. I'd happily pay twice the price, in theory, for the book if it was similar to the Abandoned Ireland website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative & beautiful, 12 April 2011
By 
Mr. V. Walsh (ireland galway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
A lovely book. Bigger than expected.
The one question we all ask when seeing a derilect beautiful builing is: "How did it end up like this?"
Thats what i liked about this book - it explained in a general sense why so many buildings around Ireland have fell into disrepair but also on a case by case study,documenting its history and demise.
I also enjoyed reading the census info of who was recorded as living in a certain property at a certain time and with there jobs were.
Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well researched and informative book with outstanding photography., 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
After purchasing this book as a gift, i had to also buy a copy for myself, as i was just so impressed by its content. It really should be part of anyone with an interest in Irish Historys collection.

Not only does it contain highly researched factual information, with numerous specific facts and figures, but also a plethora of quite evocative photographs that capture the true spirit of the lost heritage of Ireland.

I would recommend this book to anyone looking to expand their knowledge of Irish architecture or just wanting to enjoy the stunning photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 9 April 2011
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
I really love this book. It is a book that I know I will go back to every now and again. The photography is beautiful and it leaves you wanting more to read and see. Willow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For your coffee table, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abandoned Mansions of Ireland (Hardcover)
Great to have someone taking the time to document and record photographically these decaying memories of 18th and 19th century gracious living. OK - so the rest of the population lived in thatched cottages but the 'big houses' did provide employment for many. Nicely produced and some interesting camera work. A series worth collecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abandoned Mansions of Ireland
Abandoned Mansions of Ireland by Tarquin Blake (Hardcover - 10 Oct 2010)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews