Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read
This was one of my first C J Box books and I was extremely impressed. It is so unusual to read a book that combines a strong environmental message with an excellent thriller story line.

Joe Picket is a game warden who finds trouble where ever he lands. He is committed to his job and is committed to enforcing responsible hunting which is a pleasant change from...
Published on 10 Mar. 2011 by A. Kinsella

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not top of the shelf stuff
Apologies for adding to the confusion here as I provide a 3 star rating next to the existing 4 and 5 star ones. (I am actually at three and a half though!).

A dying criminal and his environmentalist son wreak havoc across America as the father, in a make-good effort, supports his son in attacks on those considered to be responsible for environmental damage...
Published on 4 Aug. 2011 by johnverp


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not top of the shelf stuff, 4 Aug. 2011
Apologies for adding to the confusion here as I provide a 3 star rating next to the existing 4 and 5 star ones. (I am actually at three and a half though!).

A dying criminal and his environmentalist son wreak havoc across America as the father, in a make-good effort, supports his son in attacks on those considered to be responsible for environmental damage. The pair is also thought to be responsible for the kidnap of Joe Pickett's foster daughter who was assumed to be dead. Joe is a game warden who acts more like a policeman or FBI agent although not always strictly within legal boundaries.

This is an OK novel but it is not sensational. Most will like Joe and his family members and will sympathise with them for the predicament they find themselves in. The father-son pairing is more difficult to understand and, to me at least, was a strange ingredient in the plot. I was not blown away by the story, which effectively is a long chase, despite the twist which is delivered. The writing doesn't really inspire although Box does well in describing rural America where much of the story takes place. There are messages on environmental issues but none is over-powering, nor do these matters dominate the book.

There are typos and formatting problems but nowhere near as bad as they can be in many Kindle versions of books.

The novel rolls along pretty well but is more of a beach read than the thrilling or intriguing crime story I was expecting. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
A. Kinsella - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was one of my first C J Box books and I was extremely impressed. It is so unusual to read a book that combines a strong environmental message with an excellent thriller story line.

Joe Picket is a game warden who finds trouble where ever he lands. He is committed to his job and is committed to enforcing responsible hunting which is a pleasant change from most modern day heroes. Joe is contacted by what he thinks is a ghost, his foster daughter and starts a cross country track to find her and rescue her. Joe is a great hero as he has his faults and is not clean cut. He must co-operate with the FBI in order to find her safely.

C J Box combines a great thriller without a lot of needless gore or the tendancey of late to go for horrendous crimes against children like so many authors. There are great suspense filled scenes and it keeps you guessing until the end. He also has real characters and does not need for everything to be roses at the end of every book. I would really recommend him as a writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Saga continues, 15 Mar. 2012
If you have been unlucky enough to have missed the previous instalments of the Pickett family you really need to start at the beginning. The fast pace and delightful plots make for an inthralling read. The pace seldom flags and the story lines are convincing and plausable. A brilliant series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Below Zero, it definitely is not!, 23 Aug. 2012
By 
Tom Stronach (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Below Zero, number 9 in the ' Joe Pickett' series and he continues with a thrilling story resurrecting past mistakes made by Joe personally and by Agent Portenson of the FBI and others.

An old man, his adult son and a teenage girl head out of Chicago, 'they' go on a killing spree and Sheridan Pickett, the oldest of the Pickett girls starts to receive strange text messages.

As usual, Joe, since losing the Saddlestring District at the hands of Director Pope, he is away from home and in the midst of another 'manhunt' trying to catch a crossbow killer elsewhere in the state, when he receives the frantic phone call from Marybeth about the messages opening up painful memories for the whole family...

Box continues to write clear and flowing narratives, jumping seamlessly between Joe out in the field and the family. Old friends come back into play as do old enemies. Issues of trust and mistrust are re-evaluated as Joe and Sheridan race across the state to find out if the person sending the text messages can possibly be who they think it is. If it is, can they save her, does she want to be saved? As the stories of the Pickett family move along in years, so Box keeps it up to date with texting, iphones and carbon pollution of the planet giving a contemporary feel to the stories and plots.

The Picket family is growing, Marybeth's business is growing and Joe is away from them for longer than he or they would want. The strain is showing and teenage rebellion and angst is heavy in the air.

Nate Romanowski is still wanted by the FBI and Joe still won't tell them where his friend is. Tension as usual from a writer who knows how to build it and then when you think all is going to be revealed your hopes along with those of the central characters, are dashed and lost and new anxieties are brought boiling to the surface. Finally, Box uses the emotions built up in the previous pages to make you try and hold back tears of joy and sadness in a 'will it be all right in the end' conclusion. Well, you are going to have to read it for yourself to find out my friends

Book 1 - Open Season √
Book 2 - Savage Run √
Book 3 - Winterkill √
Book 4 - Trophy Hunt √
Book 5 - Out of Range √
Book 6 - In Plain Sight √
Book 7 - Free Fire √
Book 8 - Blood Trail √
Book 9 - Below Zero √
Book 10 - Nowhere to Run
Book 11 - Cold Wind
Book 12 - Force of Nature

Editing for Kindle /iPad: 5 out of 5
Reading Enjoyment: 5 out of 5
Page length on kindle /iPad: 342
Plot: 5 out of 5
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 16 Jun. 2014
By 
Malcolm Roy Ash (Aston-by-Stone, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought one as trail and liked it so much I read the lot one after the other to the exclusion of anything else. Coming from England Wyoming seems as foreign a cultural and geographic landscape as anywhere in Asia or the Middle East. The plots might seem mundane except for two striking things. The first is the essential decency of the central characters who navigate the challenges thrown up by criminals and anti social local dignitaries and the second is the (for a middle Englander) slightly exotic features of a state like Wyoming which is a lot different to my own country. So whilst the language is English the culture is different and that enhances the story. The books are also well written and the action exciting and unlike a lot of writing now is not politically correct or written for a marketing demographic. Don't think that the style is disrespectful to anyone, its not but its not burdened with the need for everyone to be the same. But there is one more thing that I think is important. In an age when the US hegemony and values are eroding its very nice to see decent values in terms of honor, trust and respect for whats right come through at a time when the US and the West in general no longer seem to stand unequivocally for such things. Its not a political series at all but reaffirming traditional decency and right thinking is a good trend in contemporary writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the Joe Pickett series and the backdrops to the stories: is it me or does anyone else got a bit smarmed off by Joe's utter 'goodness' though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the others, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rather disappointing and contrived story - it's OK as part of a series but the other books are much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't go wrong with this authors books, another good tale, will continue reading his work, always keeps me entertained, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab story, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book from CJ Box. I've loved all his books - I highly recommend it! Go and and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Below Zero (Joe Pickett 9)
Below Zero (Joe Pickett 9) by C. J. Box (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2011)
£7.40
In stock on April 8, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews