Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Year Zero: 1945, an end or a beginning?
I first encountered Ian Buruma's writing in 'Wages of Guilt' which I found intelligent and original so I looked forward to this book.

The author shows in 'Year Zero: A History of 1945' the many shades of grey that governed human behaviour when the victors came to dwell with the liberated and the vanquished. The realities of living in damaged or broken societies...
Published 14 months ago by Ultima Thule

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Factual but not riveting
I learned a lot from this book but it was not an interesting read - not enough personal stories for my taste.
Published 12 months ago by Barbara Cassia


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Ruins, disaster, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Zero: A History of 1945 (Hardcover)
Excellent book, to be read. Gives a broad picture of the starving, destroyed countries in Europe but importantsly also in ASia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating and eye opening slice of history, 13 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Year Zero: A History of 1945 (Hardcover)
Recommended - a riviting read that is hard to put down.How can fellow human beings resort to such vile behaviour out of revenge? Its hard to believe its not fiction. An engrossing historical account that has to be read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Zero: A History of 1945 (Hardcover)
Great, interesting book, loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Zero: A History of 1945 (Hardcover)
Fairly dry... but informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To remember from our past in Europe, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
Markku Ihantola (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Zero: A History of 1945 (Hardcover)
Important book from our past in Europe to understand why we must have deep co-operation in Europe. War is not a play and consequences were horrible to everyone in Europe. Background to understand European Union. Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been an avid reader of books on the 2nd World War for many years it was great to be able to read about the outcome following peace. A thoroughly enjoyable book. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 28 Oct. 2013
By 
D. J. Powell (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very original if gloomy account of 1945. I learnt a lot. I was impressed by its global reach.

David Powell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and insightful, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Zero: A History of 1945 (Hardcover)
Well written book about a period of history one never thinks about.
Yes, the war ended. One side won and the other lost.
Yes, after the war it was all about reconstruction.
But what actually happened during those first few months after may 45? How did people on both sides of the divide begin to readjust to normalcy?
Focuses on the big issues and the small intimate episodes of learning to live again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling account of the first year of the contemporary world, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is hard for us to imagine how dreadful the situation was across Europe and the Far East in the aftermath of World War Two. This book gives us a brilliant perspective on what that year was like. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year Zero: A History of 1945 (Hardcover)
As a student in year Zero, I was aware of the basics but completely unaware of the enormous scale of events. Well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Year Zero: A History of 1945
Year Zero: A History of 1945 by Ian Buruma (Hardcover - 3 Oct. 2013)
£22.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews