Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great one volume history.
Wings is a well-researched and well-written romp through aviation history. Bishop is naturally strong on WWII, but there's plenty of colour and to be found in the material on WWI too. Bishop conveys that the story of the RAF was as much driven by personalities as technical innovation. Egos and eccentrics alike were responsible for the triumph of the Battle of Britain and...
Published 22 months ago by Kevin Norwood

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An inadequately reheated meal.
I am a Patrick Bishop fan but this book will not be added to my collection of his other books. The most descriptive passages rely on material which has appeared in some of his other books.

I blame the editors for the irritation I experienced in the first few chapters which was caused by their disorganised nature with, for example, the same 'tales' popping up...
Published 6 months ago by Gers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great one volume history., 1 Oct 2012
This review is from: Wings (Hardcover)
Wings is a well-researched and well-written romp through aviation history. Bishop is naturally strong on WWII, but there's plenty of colour and to be found in the material on WWI too. Bishop conveys that the story of the RAF was as much driven by personalities as technical innovation. Egos and eccentrics alike were responsible for the triumph of the Battle of Britain and Dambuster's raid.
It's difficult for the post-war drama to live up to previous chapters but there are plenty of engaging testimonies from pilots of the more modern period. There's also an added layer of interest in that the author was a reporter during the Falkland's, Gulf and Afghan Wars.
I would have perhaps liked some more comment on drones and the future of aerial warfare and the RAF, but otherwise this is a great one volume history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings, 2 Oct 2012
This book starts off almost with a list of those magnificent men in their flying machines, but then soon gets to grip with the military applications of flight. There is a healthy sense of a lack of a health and safety culture among pre war and WWI pioneers.
The chapters on the Second World War run over familiar ground, but there's no harm in being reminded about Dowding, Bomber Harris and the spirit of the pilots in the RAF. Bishop is perhaps our greatest historian on the myths and heroics of our finest hour.
I learned a lot from the chapters on the post war story of flight and the RAF, although the drama and characters fail a little to live up to the earlier material.
Bishop often returns to themes of mavericks in the RAF and how pilots are a breed apart to give Wings an overall cohesiveness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An inadequately reheated meal., 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a Patrick Bishop fan but this book will not be added to my collection of his other books. The most descriptive passages rely on material which has appeared in some of his other books.

I blame the editors for the irritation I experienced in the first few chapters which was caused by their disorganised nature with, for example, the same 'tales' popping up more than once. The early chapters needed editing to make them flow.

The middle chapters were a reheated meal from other of Patrick's WWII books and the end chapters included bits from '3 para' which drove the point home of this being constructed from old ingredients. Iraq; the Gulf; and Kosovo etc were names sprinkled in to 'tick-the-boxes' to show that more recent events had been noted - bur there was no 'meat'. What is there has appeared in the newspapers.

Someone has commented how this book was like an essay and I agee with that view except for the WWII bits which were taken from Patrick's previous works and were good - when read the first time.

Unlike his other works, I will not be keeping this book. I would not read it again and I feel it has nothing in it to which I may wish to refer. Disappointing from an author whose work I have previously enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and fascinating, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Dr. R. Paton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt initially like a bit of a plane-spotter when I started out reading this but that nerdiness rapidly disappeared. In fact this is an excellent history of people as well as planes and of great events, perfectly described from the perspective of the air forces. The book is wonderfully informative and superbly researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a short and readable account. While it purports to be a complete history of all aspects of British air power, it quickly becomes a history of the RAF instead. There's little controversy in this book, but like all Patrick's work its engaging and clear. The chapters up to 1939 are a good summary, but the whole text is necessarily at a very general level as it's scope is so wide. A solid introduction to its subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing!, 8 Nov 2012
By 
T. Nattrass (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worn material with, surprisingly, several glaring inaccuracies, for example the location of RAF Coltishall. Rather too boys' own and it rather loses direction and thrust towards the end. Definitely bottom shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars War, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings (Hardcover)
This a book where in time of war how men gave their lives in the battle to succeed was in the hands of pilots from varying backgrouns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible history, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Ian Barker (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bishop writes history in a very accessible way, interspersing facts with recollections from people who were there.

The book focuses mainly on the two world wars and the interwar period which shaped much of the RAF's structure. As a result the last few chapters feel as though they rather gallop through events post-1945.

That aside this is an entertaining, informative and at times quite moving read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthwhile Read, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found Patrick Bishop's book very useful because it clarified a lot of the ideas I had about all aspects of the part the RAF played in the second world war. Spanning the early development of aircraft and their application in the first war to the part the RAF is playing in Iraq it is a useful reference book.
As an ex RAF man myself there was also the added sense of "involvement" as I read. Well written, in an easy to read style the book is well laid out and will be a useful reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As described, 9 Dec 2013
By 
S. Couzens (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately Amazon requires a wordy review regardless of the item purchased. No issues encountered otherwise it would not get the stars attribute to the item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wings
Wings by Patrick Bishop (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2012)
20.30
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews