Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Pickett books - Wow
Joe Pickett books - Wow

YES , THEY ARE THAT GOOD, ONCE YOU START READING THEM YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT THEM DOWN.

What can I say that I haven't said before people! If you haven't started reading the Joe PICKETT novels by this author, you really are missing out on a good reading experience...

When we last left Joe he had just returned from...
Published on 28 Mar. 2012 by Tom Stronach

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Problems with kindle edition
i have read and thoroughly enjoyed 3 other of C J Box's books. Unfortunately this one was unreadable due to the ridiculous spaces between paragraphs and dialogue. after each person speaks, there is roughly a 3 line gap before the next line, which means a page could end up with maybe 8 lines of text on it. In a paperback, this would clearly be unacceptable, and i would...
Published on 23 Feb. 2011 by M. David


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Pickett books - Wow, 28 Mar. 2012
By 
Tom Stronach (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Joe Pickett books - Wow

YES , THEY ARE THAT GOOD, ONCE YOU START READING THEM YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT THEM DOWN.

What can I say that I haven't said before people! If you haven't started reading the Joe PICKETT novels by this author, you really are missing out on a good reading experience...

When we last left Joe he had just returned from assignment to another district where he ended up shooting a legendary game guide, fell out big time with the next director of the Wyoming Game Service and arrested for almost punching the American Vice President this guy just can't keep out of trouble. Added to that he had feelings for another woman, which we were all glad he didn't act on and then he also discovered that Marybeth, his long suffering wife had also had feelings for Nate ROMANOWSKI, which neither acted on. Good lord but life in Wyoming is getting even more complicated than it has been.

IN PLAIN SIGHT introduces us to a new danger that threatens the whole family in the form of a deranged sole living survivor of the long departed KEELEY family who you may recall also had a daughter that the PICKETT's tried to adopt, but before they could, she too died in tragic circumstances, something the family have never really recovered from.

So, John Wayne KEELEY is released from a five year prison sentence, where he has become more and more convinced that the reason he is the only survivor of the KEELEY clan is solely down to Joe PICKETT, and so heads North to exact revenge.

While he heads North, things in Saddlestring are beginning to fall apart as Opal SCARLETT, matriarch of the Thunderhead Ranch the biggest and oldest ranch in the valley goes missing. She has been the glue and the buffer of the family, holding them together at the same time as setting her sons against each other as youngsters to determine who would be the strongest and meanest, and therefore able to take over the ranch and business when she dies.

The town of Saddlestring is split down the middle as the blue collar brigade come out in favour of Arlen SCARLETT, the oldest and most articulate of the brothers who is also the majority leader in the state senate, with the bars and labour faction on the side of Hank, Arlen's younger brother. A third brother, Wyat, is in the mix but he is despised by both the elder brothers and is the local joke for his simpleton and strange ways.

A dead Millers weasel is pinned to the PICKETT's front door, four Elk are killed and decapitated, the carcasses left in town and the heads shoved onto fence posts outside the PICKETT house. Nate ROMANOWSKI has been missing for six months and Joe is fighting his new boss, Randy POPE, at every turn. He won't let Joe do anything without first getting permission. Then, all hell breaks loose as the drought is broken, the river is in flood cutting off everyone from everyone else and the PICKETT girls are kidnapped... AND Joe crosses another line

Yet again Mr Box writes in an easy flowing manner, a book full of suspense and danger, involving a good man and his family, a family who are growing up and teenage rebellion is in the air, he continues to deliver a consistently great readable story. You just can't stop turning pages.....

I am slowly getting there with these books, however as they are such a joy to read I am tending to keep those I have still to read in reserve, for that moment, where I know I want something special to read and I know I will get it from Mr Box through Joe PICKETT and his family

Book 1 - Open Season '
Book 2 - Savage Run '
Book 3 - Winterkill '
Book 4 - Trophy Hunt '
Book 5 - Out of Range '
Book 6 - In Plain Sight '
Book 7 - Free Fire
Book 8 - Blood Trail
Book 9 - Below Zero
Book 10 - Nowhere to Run
Book 11 - Cold Wind
Book 12 - Force of Nature

Editing for Kindle: 5 out of 5
Reading Enjoyment: 5 out of 5
Plot: 5 out of 5
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series of books, 15 May 2013
By 
GM Harlow (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like these yarns. You can just imagine Joe Pickett as someone you could meet if you went to Wyoming. The stories build up slowly, always keeping your interest, to a really exciting ending. I've read a few now and they follow pretty much the same tempo, but I am still intrigued to read the next one. If you manage to do this in sequence, it travels over time from his elder daughter being about 8.
If you need something to keep you reading and interested, these will keep you going for ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another book by C.J.Box, 16 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have now bought, through Kindle store 11 C.J books since Christmas. I am now reading the last one.
I've enjoyed reading every one of them. Will continueeto buy Joe Pickett books as they are published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not dissapointed, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I will say that all the C J Box I have downloaded onto my kindle have been great reading. Joe Pickett the main man is always, getting into trouble, but by some twist he sometimes gets out of it.
All books by C J Box re Joe Pickett have been worth reading so have a go not a bad price and truly satisfying and an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great CJ Box book, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
N. Ritchie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Joe Pickett series is excellent. I am making my way through them all from the beginning. Think they would make an excellent tv series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In Plain Sight, 25 Aug. 2011
This review is from: In Plain Sight (Joe Pickett 6) (Paperback)
C. J.Box captures the emotion of parents who will fight to save the life of their child. The personalities in the story are portrayed as clearly as a unique painting and the reader is drawn into the drams quickly. The facts given are true to current legal standards and the reader is compelled to agree or disagree with a decision to move behond the law to save the child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Joe Pickett Story, 9 Mar. 2013
Another in the Joe Pickett series that will keep you turning pages until you get to the end. C.J. Box is a master story teller, and I read through this book in 2 sittings, the story moves very fast at the end, and the conclusion is brilliant. On to the next one !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE JOE PICKETT!, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I AM GOING THROUGH THE SERIES BY C J BOX. IT DOESN'T MATTER IF YOU AREN'T INTO FISHING OR HUNTING AS THE STORIES ARE WONDERFUL AND THE DESCRIPTION OF THE SCENERY MAKES YOU THINK YOU ARE ACTUALLY THERE, FANTASTIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished reading all 13 of the Joe Pickett books. I read them all 1 after the other. Isn't Kindle great. Can't wait for number 14 from Mr Box. What job is Gov. Rulon going to give him do we think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 10 Mar. 2012
I am a great fan of Joe Pickett and really enjoyed reading about him and his family in this book. It's a great thriller/detective novel which keeps you guessing to the end. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Plain Sight (Joe Pickett 6)
In Plain Sight (Joe Pickett 6) by C. J. Box (Paperback - 1 July 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews