Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Espionage and Arcana
Tim Powers has written a number of novels on the theme of mystical influences behind the real world, and Declare is no exception. Protagonist Andrew Hale joins the British Secret Intelligence Service during WWII, serving against Germany and then in the infant Cold War, confronting increasingly strange events that culminate in some desperate mission on the slopes of Mount...
Published on 17 Nov 2010 by M. Hepworth

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An unhappy fusion of 2 styles
Tim Powers books usually blow me away with both his narrative style and the sheer grandeur of his ideas. In "Declare" the ideas are just as grand, but his choice of writing the book in the style of a Cold War thriller makes the book quite leaden.
The story is about a british agent who makes a discovery about the supernatural world that is being manipulated by the...
Published on 18 Nov 2003 by Andy Barkham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Espionage and Arcana, 17 Nov 2010
By 
M. Hepworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Declare (Paperback)
Tim Powers has written a number of novels on the theme of mystical influences behind the real world, and Declare is no exception. Protagonist Andrew Hale joins the British Secret Intelligence Service during WWII, serving against Germany and then in the infant Cold War, confronting increasingly strange events that culminate in some desperate mission on the slopes of Mount Ararat in 1948, codenamed Declare. Flash forward to 1963, and Hale is reactivated and thrown into another desperate attempt to finish Declare. Powers weaves the two timelines expertly, so we gradually discover some of the truth with the young and naive Hale, while following the older and more cynical man into the heart of the mystery.

Declare carefully takes as many true events as it can, inserting Andrew Hale and the mysterious forces he faces into the unexplained spaces between official accounts. A central figure is Kim Philby, real-life KGB double agent who worked for MI6 for 20 years before exposure. Powers also gives us real-life Soviet spy rings in Paris, machinations in Arabia, and post-war Berlin. He never leans too heavily on his intensive research, and it just flows and merges beautifully. Without Wikipedia you'd never be able to tell what is real and what is imagination. Hale is a character in the tradition of John Le Carre - insecure, frightened, and very human. The book depends totally on the reader engaging with him, and thankfully he is one of Powers' best characters.

Powers has never had the success he deserves, and Declare is a perfect example of why he should, but never will. It could have been a blockbuster-style spy novel with pulp monsters and sold well with a cheesy cover, but instead he crafts a Le Carre tale of tradecraft with enigmatic and subtly terrifying mystical forces. It's a brilliantly judged book, immersing you in the world and pressing you on to the conclusion. For me, it is his most successful book, where his obsessions with mystique and period detail meld to the best effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - Powers is BACK in the UK!!!, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Paul Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Declare (Paperback)
Don't be confused by the year-dates of the other reviews, or that given on the copyright page: the publisher and Amazon haven't accidentially flipped a 'zero' and a 'one' around the wrong way. This book was first released mass-market in the US in 2001. It has taken until 2010 for its UK release. That is NOT a reflection on the worth of the book (indeed it won several awards and got nominated for a bunch more) but it is a searing indictment of corporate UK publishers. A recent example will suffice: despite some success will her early novels, Scarlett Thomas experienced the full force of the conservatism of UK 'big publishers' who balked at her then new novel, 'The End of Mr. Y'. It took the maverick imprint Canongate to realise the book's potential and to take it and its author's subsequent books into the bestseller charts.

For me the best writers are the ones who mix it up: who wants 'a' horror novel, or 'a' science fiction novel, or 'a' crime novel? Nah, let's just throw a bunch of stuff in a pot and see what comes out. And some of the results in recent years have been fantastic, from Neal Stephenson's 'Baroque Cycle' (a HUGE historial fantasy/alternate history grand slam) to Charles Stross's giddy 'Laundry files' (a supernatural detective science fiction series). People like Dan Simmons and Joe R. Lansdale and China Mieville -

- and Tim Powers. This is the guy whose late-'80s novel, 'On Stranger Tides', has been optioned by Disney as the title and story inspiration for the fourth 'Pirates of the Caribbean' movie - featuring the fountain of youth and zombies!

'Declare' is a dazzling supernatural Cold War espionage novel, which takes the real life figure of Kim Philby and brilliant attempts to construct a 'true story' about what really happened to Kim and the other secret agencies he came into contact with. As the author explains in the fascinating afterword, he took many sources, directly and indirectly related to Philby, and 'read between the lines' whilst never straying from actual known events and dates.

The result is a beautifully realised novel, deliciously layered in detail, with the main action taking place in 1963's Beirut and Turkey, with lengthy chapters stretching back to 1948 filling in the back story. The novel takes in Britain, Kuwait, Berlin, Paris, Moscow and others - but never in broad strokes: Powers puts you RIGHT THERE, especially in the exquistely rendered Paris scenes with Elena, with whom the potagonist, Philby somewhat-rival in the British Secret Service Andrew Hale, has an unfulfilled love interest, and whose chance meetings over the years forms a kind of hidden love story and back bone to the novel, accumulating in the superb Moscow epilogue.

You will find no bumbling spies here: the Russian, French, British and American secret agents are all on the ball, out-tricksing each other at every turn whilst quoting scripture and classical poets, as they uncover the mystery atop Mount Ararat and the VERY different power there that the Russians are trying to harness and unleash.

The recent book from the UK indie press PS Publishing, 'Powers: Secret Histories Bibliography' by John Berlyne, features a fascinating collection of notes and outlines for 'Declare' wherein the reader gets a real sense of the magnitude of the task which Powers undertook with this novel. You'll be hard pushed to find a more intricately plotted, researched and absorbing thriller than this. Very highly recommended. (As an aside, Gauntlet Press are going to have to pull something truly remarkable out of the hat if and when they ever get around to releasing the now seven year delayed 'Fingerprints on the Sky: the illusrated Harlan Ellison bibliography' if they hope to compare with the gorgeous propuction and layout of PS Publishing's Tim Powers bibliography.)

As I said above, the best writers - for me at least - are the ones who cut loose and go nuts, although alas as the Scarlett Thomas incident clearly illustrates multinational corporate publishers, like big movie studios, and loathe to take risks. Despite being a post-World War II espionage thriller partly set in Britain it's taken nearly 10 years for this fine novel to grace our shores. But take heart: there are a number of independent publishers out there whose titles are infilrating the high street book chains as well as the supermarket bestseller lists: this one, Corvus, Quercus (publishers of the Sweddish horror sensation 'Let the Right One In' as well as the 'Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' trilogy), Solaris and the recent Corsair, whose forthcoming 'Coldbrook' by Tim Lebbon ought it be earmarked on every reader's 'must have' list. Seriously, if you want books that have that 'out there' quality then these are going to be the guys to look to: everyone else seems content to publish celeb bios and cook books.

I'll leave the last word with the Zeno Agency Ltd, who in October last year made this public press announcement concerning a four-book Tim Powers UK deal with Corvus:

"Following DECLARE will be another first UK publication, this time of THREE DAYS TO NEVER, currently scheduled for a January 2011 release, though subject to change. Corvus will then publish a brand new Powers novel sometime later in that year. THE LIGHTS ALONG THE SHORE is set some years after the events of THE STRESS OF HER REGARD, to which it is a loose sequel. STRESS will also be reissued as part of the deal."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Cold War fantasy, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Declare (Mass Market Paperback)
This WWII/Cold War supernatural, espionage thriller was excellent. I've only read two of his books but already I think I'm becoming a Tim Powers fan. I was very impressed by how well the story fit into the gaps between real events -admittedly I've mostly taken the author's word on this, but he seems like a writer who does his research. Declare was intriguing as at first I didn't know quite what was going on (much though I enjoyed The Anubis Gates I did guess a major plot point by the end of the second chapter). The supernatural elements unfolded far more slowly and were initially more subtle. It kept me reading as I wanted to know what was going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Le Carre meets Dennis Wheatley, 1 Jun 2011
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Declare (Paperback)
This was a fantastic achievement. Powers really is a great writer. This worked superbly as both an espionage novel and as occult/fantasy book.

It was slightly slow at the start and but I soon got into it. There were some slightly jarring elements to it, such as the English main character using American words and some very few slight historical inaccuracies.
However those are about the only criticisms that I can make.

The occult and the supernatural elements are very well done and always leave you wanting to know more. The spy and adventure story parts are also very well thought through.

The research that has gone into this book is very impressive and it doesn't overwhelm the plot.

Maybe the best thing that I can about this novel is that it almost seems believable and plausible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard work, but worth it, 17 April 2013
By 
J. Heritage "janeheritage" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Declare (Kindle Edition)
This book is written very much in the Le Carre style of gritty detail, which I find hard work and slightly depressing. It does however convey enormous authenticity, and as a result the added supernatural element is really frightening and horrific. I found I preferred to read during the daytime as I had bad dreams if I read chapters before sleeping!

I was delighted by a robust love story in a spy novel and really enjoyed the excellent recreation of the various milieux. However, I am an English pedant, and I wish Mr Powers had had an English friend proof read the novel for him. To have a quintessential upper class Englishman like Kim Philby say "in back" instead of "at the back", or refer to the "draft" when English people call it "conscription" is slack, and a let down when other things seem so accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping combination of espionage and the supernatural, 20 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Declare (Hardcover)
Ever wondered if there's more to the world than meets the eye? If maybe, beneath the surface, a whole other realm of wild possibilities exists? Tim Powers certainly has, and in Declare he takes us through a joyously inventive trip through the supernatural world underpinning the events of the Cold War. Taking as his lead the life story of the treacherous double agent Kim Philby, Powers' story takes us through war-time Paris, Cold War Berlin, and the supernaturally-charged Middle East as secret agent Andrew Hale, a man with a strange, hidden bond with Philby, struggles to complete a long-running operation called Declare - an operation to prevent the USSR from forming an unstoppable alliance with the djinn, the powerful creatures of Arabian myth. Powers' strength lies in evoking the sensation of huge, supernatural presences existing just off our limits of perception, and the psychological effects on those who become all too aware of their existence. He also perfectly captures a sense of place - in particular, scenes set in the Arabian desert will send shivers down the spine, the reader there, sharing the attention of unknowable creatures. Though some elements perhaps don't work as well as they could - the love story between Hale and a former communist agent feels a little underwritten - the giddyingly complex plot ensures that the reader is never bored, and that when the book is closed for the last time it is done with the satisfaction of having read a fantastic novel. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An unhappy fusion of 2 styles, 18 Nov 2003
By 
Andy Barkham "pandion1" (1picard) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Declare (Mass Market Paperback)
Tim Powers books usually blow me away with both his narrative style and the sheer grandeur of his ideas. In "Declare" the ideas are just as grand, but his choice of writing the book in the style of a Cold War thriller makes the book quite leaden.
The story is about a british agent who makes a discovery about the supernatural world that is being manipulated by the superpowers - most notably by the Soviet Union. Powers cleverly weaves this concept into his novel by juxtaposing two time streams - 1948 and 1963 so that the story skilfully unfolds. He has clearly done his homework - the precision of description of cities and the pen portraits of real people are very well portrayed.
However, the stark style of the cold war thriller slows the book down, which I think is a shame as the concept is an interesting one. The main characters are artfully drawn but none really captured my enthusiasm or my sympathy. The action scenes in the book are short and sharp - and separated by far too much long-winded dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging but a bit under-cooked, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Declare (Kindle Edition)
Loved the detail & the various periods covered.

There is a great ominous bulid-up to "what's really going on" - but the supernatural elements themselves are a bit underplayed.
A bit too mundane after the build-up.

Parts of it are under-explained, which obviously adds to the suspense and mystery.
but when the supernatural elements are eventually revealed, it's a bit matter-of-fact.

Great as a spy novel.
So-so as a horror novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A huge bucket of awesome, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Declare (Kindle Edition)
Declare was one of those books that made me sweat just reading it. The level of concentration required to keep track of this immersive plotline feels like being back at university studying for my finals. But such a reward lies ahead for those who dedicate themselves to this novel. I cannot stop thinking about this book, even two weeks after reading it. I was fully drawn in, and then in the afterword, where I read that Powers had based the narritive of this story on actual historical events down to the day, I was filled with wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 31 May 2014
By 
R. Edwards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Declare (Kindle Edition)
I obviously didn't read the reviews for this book carefully enough.
It started off really well, it took some concentration to keep up with the story as it was constantly going backwards and forwards in time and it's not the sort of book I found I could pick up and put down and leave for a while without starting at the beginning again. However it was a gripping story........ until the 'supernatural' starting to creep in which made it then lose all credibility and by the time I had read 55% of the book I gave up reading it as to me it was just getting silly. Without the supernatural events I could have thoroughly enjoyed it and for many people this was ideal but just not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Declare
Declare by Tim Powers (Paperback - 1 Jun 2010)
7.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews