Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O'Rourke can even make cars interesting
I'm not at all interested in cars, so I wasn't sure whether to bother buying this book. However, i reasoned that any book by P.J O'Rourke is better than none, so I bought it. And I'm glad I did. It's very amusing. Mr O'Rourke celebrates the pleasures of driving over 30 years of his life, and his accounts of various expeditions, some quite hair-raising, is very...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by L O'connor

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Recycled
PJ's just lost his form. This is just another recycled "Best of PJ" anthology of articles related to cars and driving. If you loved Holidays in Hell and the older stuff, give this a pass.
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by Miran Ali


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O'Rourke can even make cars interesting, 28 Oct 2009
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not at all interested in cars, so I wasn't sure whether to bother buying this book. However, i reasoned that any book by P.J O'Rourke is better than none, so I bought it. And I'm glad I did. It's very amusing. Mr O'Rourke celebrates the pleasures of driving over 30 years of his life, and his accounts of various expeditions, some quite hair-raising, is very entertaining to read. I particularly enjoyed his account of a trip through India, he has a wonderful way of summing up a place:

"The food sold on Calcutta's streets may be unidentifiable, but it's less likely than New York city hot dogs to contain a cow rectum. The crowding is extreme but you get used to it. You get used to a lot of things: naked ascetics, elephants in downtown traffic, a single file of costumed girls linked by electric wires, with one carrying a car battery and the rest having blue fulorescent tubes sticking out of their headdresses."

If you're not interested in cars, don't be put off by this book, it is fun to read anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest and most readable account of automotive adventure, 19 July 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Let me start with a disclaimer - if you are somewhat sensitive about irresponsible behaviour and prone to taking things too literally, you will be well advised to skip the first chapter (the National Lampoon piece promoting the virtues of intoxicating dribing while copulating), at least till you have read the rest of the book. It is so massively tongue in cheek that in might have some readers throw the book away in disgust and thereby miss some really fine, engaging, funny and quite superbly observed travel writing, with a motorized mode of transportation being the common theme.

The decades of O'Rourke's motoring journalism experience (from which several of the pieces were drawn) seem to have been a very fruitful ground for some good adventure - as he stated expense accounts used to be more lavish, and can press departments I assume more gullible and forgiving. And while you might find equal doses of (perhaps even more fascinating) automotive adventure in Llewellyn's The Road to Muckle Flugga: Great Drives in Five Continents, O'Rourke really shines in bringing them to light and making the book a page turning read, where many of Llewellyn's adventures, in the politically correct way they are described, fall a bit flat.

Compared to someone like Jeremy Clarkson, PJ O'Rourke comes across as better read, occasionally wilder but generally more competent about the primary topic (cars) and will be a better read in my eyes.

While somewhat hard pressed to find a favourite chapter, the three trips to Baja California do stand out for me, as does the one on Rent a Wreck. And again, even if you are not of a Republican leaning, you are likely to find O'Rourke very funny, as long as you do not take everything written literally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeremy Clarkson wishes he were PJ O'Rourke, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are so many PJ O'Rourke quotations floating around that he has been described as funniest man alive, or the wittiest heterosexual of all time. This is a book that argues drink driving laws were introduced as a precursor to the police state and the argument for that is worth the cost of entry alone.

His legendary status is based on his earlier writings where he eschewed a humorous gonzo journalism something that Clarkson draws heavily on; this is evident in the infamous "How to Drive Fast on Drugs While Getting Your Wing-Wang Squeezed and Not Spill Your Drink" which is reproduced in full in the book; its more or less chronological so you can see him mature through this book so that by the time he arrives at an indian customs outpost his world experience (Foreign Affairs desk chief for the Rolling Stone) he marvels at the joy to be held in the book used to work out duty payments. Its a fascinating read taking in motorsport and cross continent exploration and I cant recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely funny book, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driving Like Crazy: Thirty Years of Vehicular Hell-binding (Paperback)
This is a collection of P J O'Rourke's adventures on wheels including off-road racing the length of Baja California to driving Discovery Land Rovers from Lahore in Pakistan to Kolkata in Eastern India. Wonderfully told in O'Rourke's usual inimitable style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Recycled, 19 Sep 2011
By 
Miran Ali "I don't like anonymous reviewers" (Dhaka, Bangladesh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Driving Like Crazy: Thirty Years of Vehicular Hell-binding (Paperback)
PJ's just lost his form. This is just another recycled "Best of PJ" anthology of articles related to cars and driving. If you loved Holidays in Hell and the older stuff, give this a pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest and most readable account of automotive adventure, 19 July 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Driving Like Crazy: Thirty Years of Vehicular Hell-binding (Paperback)
Let me start with a disclaimer - if you are somewhat sensitive about irresponsible behaviour and prone to taking things too literally, you will be well advised to skip the first chapter (the National Lampoon piece promoting the virtues of intoxicating dribing while copulating), at least till you have read the rest of the book. It is so massively tongue in cheek that in might have some readers throw the book away in disgust and thereby miss some really fine, engaging, funny and quite superbly observed travel writing, with a motorized mode of transportation being the common theme.

The decades of O'Rourke's motoring journalism experience (from which several of the pieces were drawn) seem to have been a very fruitful ground for some good adventure - as he stated expense accounts used to be more lavish, and can press departments I assume more gullible and forgiving. And while you might find equal doses of (perhaps even more fascinating) automotive adventure in Llewellyn's The Road to Muckle Flugga: Great Drives in Five Continents, O'Rourke really shines in bringing them to light and making the book a page turning read, where many of Llewellyn's adventures, in the politically correct way they are described, fall a bit flat.

Compared to someone like Jeremy Clarkson, PJ O'Rourke comes across as better read, occasionally wilder but generally more competent about the primary topic (cars) and will be a better read in my eyes.

While somewhat hard pressed to find a favourite chapter, the three trips to Baja California do stand out for me, as does the one on Rent a Wreck. And again, even if you are not of a Republican leaning, you are likely to find O'Rourke very funny, as long as you do not take everything written literally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely entertaining journalism, 17 Mar 2010
I have read several of P.J.O'Rourke's books, and although I don't agree with his political views (which he can make comments for ad nauseum) he is nevertheless a very talented writer.
Most of the chapters of this book are re-prints of articles related to his various driving exploits over the years (from 1977 onwards). Occasionally he also writes a follow-up of sorts, giving background or at least some explanation for the article. By his own admission he has re-worked some of these when compiling them for this book, in order to remove some of the things he now (in retrospect) finds annoying or superfluous to the article.
I myself enjoy driving, but don't understand a great deal about how a car does what it does and even less about why it no longer does when it decides to fail. You don't have to be a 'petrol head' to understand the majority of the writing in this book, but you do have to have an appreciation of fine prose and observational humour.
A thoroughly enjoyable read and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Driving Like Crazy: Thirty Years of Vehicular Hell-binding
Driving Like Crazy: Thirty Years of Vehicular Hell-binding by P. J. O'Rourke (Paperback - 1 May 2010)
7.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews