Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did Christianity succeed?
If there had been no St. Paul, Christianity would not have survived.
But why did St.Paul's Christianity survive? There have been many explanations but I think this book comes close to the nitty-gritty.
It's chief strength is in my opinion that she shows that Paul did not write for us who live 2000 years later. He wrote for here&now people about here&now...
Published 22 months ago by Jens Guld

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
This sounded much more interesting than I have found it to be.
Published 5 months ago by hazieB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did Christianity succeed?, 10 Sept. 2013
By 
Jens Guld (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If there had been no St. Paul, Christianity would not have survived.
But why did St.Paul's Christianity survive? There have been many explanations but I think this book comes close to the nitty-gritty.
It's chief strength is in my opinion that she shows that Paul did not write for us who live 2000 years later. He wrote for here&now people about here&now problems. And those problems are still with us. And so Christianity survived.
Also the book is a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Band of Angels - A band of women we should not forget., 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book tells us of a band of women we generally know little about, but without whom our Christian faith would not possibly have survived, as they supported those who spread the Gospel. The book is interesting as it gives insight into their world and the lives of women at the time. As someone interested in both history and the bible this book has both aspects covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am still reading this very good book. It is full of (for me) new ideas and also is not dictatorial and leaves room for questions and doubt. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no conspiracy, 19 May 2015
By 
Mr. D. P. Jay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Band of Angels: The Forgotten World of Early Christian Women (Paperback)
The author is an historian rather than a theologian or a New Testament scholar. Maybe this makes for a fresh look at the material.

Despite the subtitle ‘The forgotten world….’ This is not a series of sensational accounts of women who were originally covered up owning to some conspiracy. This is serious history.

During a holiday in Tunis, I visited Qarṭāj (Carthage – meaning "New City"). The author well describes the site of Perpetua’s martyrdom and it’s just how I remember it. It is false to say that prayers for the departed and for remission from Purgatory were Catholic perversions introduced in the Middle Ages because Perpetua dreamed prayer for her dead brother.

Although men like Antony of Egypt and Basil the Great are credited as the founders of monasticism, it is likely that a woman was behind it. Because young women (sometimes engaged as early as age 12) married men much older than themselves, they were often widows at an early age. One woman lived in community with her teenage daughter. Three of Macrina's brothers — Basil, Gregory, and Peter — would go on to become bishops, and thus the public face of the family..

Jerome's letters in the 4th century give us an insight into a disarmingly modern world of clever, opinionated women debating with each other about books, and especially about the Bible.

The politically correct tell us about the ‘desert fathers AND MOTERS’. But the fathers had the utmost contempt for women.

The book ends with Mary as role model – virgin and mother = an impossible combination.

A bit of a tangent but: By the second century, it seems to have been agreed that each community could have only one bishop, though there might well be more than community in a given place. (So Anglican flying bishops, or a city with both Roman Catholic and Anglican bishops has some precedence.)

The book is quite repetitive in places and could have done with better editing and shorter chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The gender struggle in the church then and now., 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Band of Angels: The Forgotten World of Early Christian Women (Paperback)
Very interesting and well written, thought provoking and stimulating. When considering the increasing recognition of women in the church today it's good to look back to the early church and understand something of the difficulties they faced in a patriarchal society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Discretion practised with valour., 22 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very interesting, well-researched and entirely credible reconstruction (on obviously minimal evidence) of the lives and influence of women in the early Church. Without in any way diminishing the legitimate aspirations of those working and praying their way towards greater equality, it seems to me to remind us that women have always had other, more subtle ways, of influencing the societies to which they give birth. It is not necessary for feminists to forget or deny this, surely?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a really good book, inspirational and interesting. i like the personal touches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Band of Angels: The Forgotten World of Early Christian Women (Paperback)
This sounded much more interesting than I have found it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Band of Angels: The Forgotten World of Early Christian Women
Band of Angels: The Forgotten World of Early Christian Women by Kate Cooper (Paperback - 7 Aug. 2014)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews