Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2012
This book was a joy to read! Well written and meticulously researched. An epic tale of the evolution of the leader of the Western world. You'll need to be tenacious to stick with it...but you'll be glad you did. Fabulous!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
This is a lengthy and absorbing book. It is an honest and objective attempt to give a factual and detailed account of the influences that formed the character of Barack Obama. It explores the families histories of both his parents in Kansas and Kenya. It demonstrates the surprisingly random way these two histories touched on each other. We then follow the influences in Obama's childhood life from Hawaii to Indonesia and back to Hawaii, leaving his mother behind. We continue through his colege life and onto to his subsequent career. The detail is at times amazing. The author has attempted to reach and speak to as many people as he can who crossed Obama's path in life. He makes every attempt to be fair by demonstrationing conflicting recollections and treats everyone with human respect. The book left me a better educated human being with a greater insight in what is is like to be a multicultural human being raised in a multicultural world.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
This is really an introduction to more than most people know about President Obama. The more I read about him, the more I like him. He did not have it as easy as a lot of his critics seem to think. A very interesting and well written book. It was a pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Easy to read. Fairly comprehensive. Must read for those who are following current political situation in the United States. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Brilliant read. Definite insight into Obama to see what makes him tick. Sometimes hard to track all of the characters in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
still only got about a third way through (due to lack of time not inclination) but love it. A good understanding of the making of the man - just as the title implies - but also how much are any of us shaped by our parents/grandparents and others.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
excvellent read to understand more about the president as a person. would reccommend as it is an easy read :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Gives an interesting perspective on the life of the US president. I haven't finished it yet to see the conclusions. But looking at the issues in both Kenya and the US gives good insight into what was happening at these times. I have lived through a lot of this time so it is good to know more than what was reported on media at-the time. However I do feel that there is rather an anti British bias with insufficient attention to the rank racial prejudice and open apartheid that was present in the US in the 1950s and 60s
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)