Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as it gets
Cannell captures the '50s/'60s era, its drivers, the cars and the ethos compellingly, creating a story that contrasts starkly with today's Formula 1 scene. This was a time when track and race-car safety provisions were negligible and risks astronomical. Drivers died often, in all kinds of events from F1 to sports-car endurances races such as the Le Mans 24-hour...
Published on 4 Dec 2011 by John Joss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Motorsport in the 50's and 60's.......quite cold and clinical,but all the facts and figures present and correct.
The book recounts a very dramatic period in the history of Formula One and Sportscar racing,but the author although getting all the facts and figures in the right order fails to really convey the passion and atmosphere of the time and instead the book comes across as quite cold and clinical......glad I read it......but its been passed onto the charity shop now for someone...
Published 3 months ago by Robert Hart


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Limit: Life and Death in F1's, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb account of F1 in the 1950's. People just don't race like this anymore!
I don't think there's a better book on the subject. Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for F1 fans!, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent and informative account of motorsport's most exciting (and deadliest) period.
Hard to put down once you start.
A must have for followers of motorsport!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book., 3 Jan 2013
By 
T. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is beautifully written about a very sad time in F1's history. I read the Kindle version and the only disappointment was that the book ended at 68% with the rest being glossaries etc, I wanted it to carry on! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a sports or racing fan but..., 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book, I am a nostalgia fan and that combined with the reviews made me interested enough to buy this book. It was all I hoped for, an gripping read about a subject I knew very little about and it follows the old saying that truth is stranger than fiction. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of good research and writing. You really don't have to be a sports fan to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some less well-known stories from the era, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Jersey Customer (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Limit: Life and Death in Formula One's Most Dangerous Era (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for my F1-mad 18 year old daughter. She is a walking/talking encyclopedia of F1, she has all the stats and numbers and names just in her head, but is constantly adding to her knowledge by reading up on the more distant (to her) era of the earlier days of the sport. She says that the three drivers who are mainly referenced in this book (can't remember them all, but from memory Phil Hill and Von Tripps are two of them) offer a fascinating insight into F1 in those days, and as a result my daughter has become a real champion of their memories. A good book for the keen enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Limit: Life and Death in Formula One's Most Dangerous Era (Hardcover)
Although I am tempted to write a detailed and admiring review of this book, that would not do it justice. I have read hundreds of books about motor racing, and this is simply the very best. It is accurate, pacy and puts the reader in the cockpit. I bought and read my copy on Kindle, which probably makes it the most underpriced book on the Amazon web site; buy a copy while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
motor racing is an exciting sport to watch, and it is an exciting sport to read about also! a book full of true life tales
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The racing at the start of F 1, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a good reprise of the racing lives of two less well remembered top class drivers often overlooked in favour of Moss and Fangio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of F1, I found this insight into early car racing and the incredibly brave drivers, really interesting. It is written in an unusual style, but I really liked it!
Good read for F1 fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Limit: Life and Death in Formula One's Most Dangerous Era (Hardcover)
Got this for a Christmas present and he loved it so very pleased was well packed excellent service cant fault it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Limit: Life and Death in Formula One's Most Dangerous Era
The Limit: Life and Death in Formula One's Most Dangerous Era by Michael Cannell (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2011)
14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews