Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR ALL CLASH FANS
Most of the photos in the book i have seen before ie Bob Gruen/Pennie Smith etc but it's great to have a good quality ones all in one book there are some black and white previously unseen ones.
The book also has some adverts/pic sleeves/album covers bits from the two clash songbooks,music paper front covers and articles, gig posters,postcards sent to family members...
Published on 29 Sep 2008 by Take the 5th

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars C-O-N- CONTROL
I hate giving anything clash anything but five stars...but this is a bit of a disappointment.
If you have the big version of this... The "Clash": Strummer, Jones, Simonon, Headon then this small paperback version is a bit of a let down. This version only has a few of the many pictures and illustrations found in the full size version...so this is mainly the...
Published on 28 April 2010 by T. Satchwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR ALL CLASH FANS, 29 Sep 2008
Most of the photos in the book i have seen before ie Bob Gruen/Pennie Smith etc but it's great to have a good quality ones all in one book there are some black and white previously unseen ones.
The book also has some adverts/pic sleeves/album covers bits from the two clash songbooks,music paper front covers and articles, gig posters,postcards sent to family members while on tour etc,etc.
Its a beutiful coffee table type book and THE CLASH themselves are credited as authors as embodied in this compilation work. All interviews are by Mal Peachey

Best 15 quid i have spent in a long long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table Clash, 6 Oct 2008
If you were ever looking for a coffee table story of The Clash, look no more. The stories and many of the photographs will be familiar to Clash fans but the book is none the worse for that.

The book is beautifully produced for the price, I think even at non Amazon prices the book would be a bargain.

A little naughty to say that this is an autobiography created by all four band members seeing as Joe has not been around for some time, however it is a book that any Clash/punk aficionado will love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars C-O-N- CONTROL, 28 April 2010
By 
T. Satchwell (A Tower in the Heart of London.......) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Clash" (Paperback)
I hate giving anything clash anything but five stars...but this is a bit of a disappointment.
If you have the big version of this... The "Clash": Strummer, Jones, Simonon, Headon then this small paperback version is a bit of a let down. This version only has a few of the many pictures and illustrations found in the full size version...so this is mainly the text/quotes/tour dates/discography that appeared in the large format.
As with big book..it goes in chronological order from '76 to '83
So I guess you keep the big pink book on the coffee table...and this one in your bag to read through....maybe I'm being unkind...I guess this is much easier to
take around with you...and it was published for that reason... so if I could do three and a half stars I would.
Considering you can pick up the hardback version for nearly the same price in some places..it might pay to shop around

But hell..it's the clash...it's bright pink and you can read it on the bus or train without looking like Bernard Cribbins as guest reader on Jackanory.

I hope the small version of the Bob Gruen book doesn't disappoint...hell that's all photos!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groovy Times Have Come To Pass, 28 Sep 2008
By 
T. Satchwell (A Tower in the Heart of London.......) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second you see the dayglo pink cover..you know you are in for something a bit special. This is about the same size as the "Punk" hardback that came out a few years ago. In some ways layout is similar..but it's 100% clash!
For the photospotters...there are some well known pictures gathered here...but a lot of cracking b/w and colour shots I've never seen before.There are also record sleeves and posters, singles adverts lovingly reproduced. I haven't had time to read all the way through yet..but I'm like a kid on Christmas day with this!
There are also some pages from the first Clash Songbooks- biogs and the like.
The book works through in chronological order 1976 -1983 with a mix of pictures text, tour dates, albums etc...Joe,Mick, Paul and Topper all have their say..
It's the "Must Have Toy...(well book) for Christmas" as my son keeps reminding me..how am I expected to wait two months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressing!, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Svein Ulven "zvein" (oslo, norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For us who "was there" during the prime years of the punk era it might not be very punk to drool over the infinite number of fancy looking punk coffee table books. But this book is a smashing experience, so forget about that! Featuring photos,sleeves,posters etc from the first and best period of the band ,it is a study in COOLNESS! You can almost hear the music while going through the pages. And smell the fume of tobacco,beer and sweaty leather pants! BUY NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something special, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Kevin H. Wood "Kev Wood" (Greenwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A treasure chest- full of great photos, comments from the band members and lots of stuff I didn't know or remember (like the actual dates of the 10 occasions when I was lucky enough to see them). Lovingly produced. If you like The Clash get it. If you know somebody who likes them, get it for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great interesting book, my hubby loved it!, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband loved reading this book and it has some good photography shots of the band in there too! Really pleased with it and he's just finished reading it after buying it for him for Christmas!:) Would definitely recommend this book to all die hard Clash fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You don't HAVE to buy it, 3 July 2009
By 
Kevin Fitzmaurice (London W10) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great introduction to The Clash for those who weren't around, and triggers so many memories for those who were. It's not boringly academic but it is pretty comprehensive. They seem to have got the balance just right.

There's a one-star review of this thing which rips it apart for being inaccurate and revisionist. Maybe that's true. But in the end there are some great pictures and it's funny to see all the punk xerox and glue marketing stuff sitting on the coffee table in a big fat glossy book.

And I don't resent The Clash making a few bob from their history - they can't reform like everyone else does - and we don't have to buy this stuff if we don't want it.

BUT WHO IS THAT BLOKE ON PAGE 64?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pretty in pink, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clash (Hardcover)
Highly recommended. Bought for the guitarist of SO 77 as a birthday present and was absolutely loved .Bigger and better with more unpublished stuff than previous versions also done in conjuction with band members (i believe)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Band Ever, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clash (Kindle Edition)
What can I say? A great book about the greatest band that ever walked this earth. If you need to know why people are still talking about them today have a look at this, then go and find their music..................enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Clash"
The "Clash" by Paul Simonon (Paperback - 1 May 2010)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews