Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than a 'good war'
Hugh Trevor-Roper's _Wartime Journals_, skilfully edited by Richard Davenport-Hines, makes a compelling read: by turns witty, inspired, and shrewdly self-observant. These journals also provide welcome insight into the maturation of a great historian, especially his quest for a suitable style. The close-knit world of pre-War Oxford opens out onto the grander reach of...
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by Mercurius Isiaci

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it seems to be
During WW2, H.T.R. was deeply involved in secret intelligence work for MI6 and I assumed that this would form a big part of this book. But keeping a diary about such things would have been strictly against all the rules and he would have been in deep trouble had he done so. Consequently this very much about him and his activities outside his war work. I found it...
Published 20 months ago by Batford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than a 'good war', 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Wartime Journals (Hardcover)
Hugh Trevor-Roper's _Wartime Journals_, skilfully edited by Richard Davenport-Hines, makes a compelling read: by turns witty, inspired, and shrewdly self-observant. These journals also provide welcome insight into the maturation of a great historian, especially his quest for a suitable style. The close-knit world of pre-War Oxford opens out onto the grander reach of Trevor-Roper's experience before and during World War II. We enter the hopes and fears of a courageous sensitive man, classically educated and alert to nature, as in his late twenties and early thirties he confronts a world at war. The subject matter is pleasingly various: country sports whether in his native Northumberland or parts closer the Thames Valley; friendships whether with the high-powered philosopher Gilbert Ryle or the seductive aesthete Logan Pearsall Smith; the breakthroughs and the confusions of British Intelligence during the war; a gallery of Oxford characters and many more beyond; travels near and far; life being fully lived. Of the spate of Trevor-Ropiana that has issued since his death, this with his life of Mayerne are the two books we could not have anticipated: two very different and wholly rewarding expressions of a real historian and fine writer at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it seems to be, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wartime Journals (Hardcover)
During WW2, H.T.R. was deeply involved in secret intelligence work for MI6 and I assumed that this would form a big part of this book. But keeping a diary about such things would have been strictly against all the rules and he would have been in deep trouble had he done so. Consequently this very much about him and his activities outside his war work. I found it interesting in parts but it was not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Waspish and largely pointless, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wartime Journals (Hardcover)
I had read "The Last Days of Hitler" - a book that I would highly recommend. However, this tome is as you would expect, desultory, but also pointless and generally waspish. It is no surprise that, when Trevor-Roper was caught up in the Hitler Diaries scandal, that there were plenty who evinced a certain amount of satisfaction. He is so full of himself.

You have to ask what you can learn from this book about anything. The answer is, "Not alot".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking read, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a dreadful read, I was seriously mistaken in my choice, dreadfully boring! Thought I was going to read about wartime experiences, not so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trevor-Roper, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wartime Journals (Hardcover)
This is not the easiest of 'reads', but well worth the effort. It provides so much information and so many insights that do not appear in the many history tesxs that describe this era. The book has certianly spurred me on to investigate further. On a diferent level it is interesting to gain insights into the individual himself; a very atypical person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wartime Journals
The Wartime Journals by Hugh Trevor-Roper (Hardcover - 30 Nov 2012)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews