Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatifully written and photographed
Classic Turkish cooking is, in my opinion, the quintessential guide to Turkish cuisine. The writing is descriptive and the sections on Turkish history and culture give the reader tremendous insite in the way in which Turkish cooking has developed over the centuries. The recipes are clear and concise and run the gamut from palace cuisine to village fare. There are...
Published on 16 Jun 1998

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the layout and photos
Having borrowed the 2006 version of this book from a friend I was really impressed with a lot of the lovely recipes so decided to get myself a copy.
I did, however, make the mistake of presuming the more recent version would be an improvement. There are two main ways that this isn't the case:
- LAYOUT: across some double pages there are three recipes with one...
Published on 14 Jan 2012 by R. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the layout and photos, 14 Jan 2012
By 
R. Thompson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classic Turkish Cooking (Paperback)
Having borrowed the 2006 version of this book from a friend I was really impressed with a lot of the lovely recipes so decided to get myself a copy.
I did, however, make the mistake of presuming the more recent version would be an improvement. There are two main ways that this isn't the case:
- LAYOUT: across some double pages there are three recipes with one crossing the two pages making is less easy to follow. The pictures aren't necessarily next to the relevant recipe meaning you have to double check what you're looking at. Quite a few recipes also don't have a picture at all.
In the old version there is one recipe to a page with a lovely big picture of the finished dish as well as one or two other pictures.
- PHOTOS: as mentioned, the old version has at least two photos per recipe and these have obviously been taken by a professional food photographer. In the new book the photos are by Jonathan Basan and it really show that using a family member to take your photos rather than a professional is a bad idea! If you can compare the two books look at the carrot and pine nut rolls photos: old book they look delicious and vibrant. New book they are burnt and the photo is too dark.
I have returned the newer version and ordered the 2006 version instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatifully written and photographed, 16 Jun 1998
By A Customer
Classic Turkish cooking is, in my opinion, the quintessential guide to Turkish cuisine. The writing is descriptive and the sections on Turkish history and culture give the reader tremendous insite in the way in which Turkish cooking has developed over the centuries. The recipes are clear and concise and run the gamut from palace cuisine to village fare. There are recipes for making everything from pickles and cheese, as they are made in most homes throughout Turkey, to the classic imam bayildi and an elegant courgette and apple salad in hazelnut sauce. The recipes are authentic. Jonathon Basar's photographs which grace the pages of this book are artistic and inviting.
I have enjoyed eating Turkish food for the five years that I have worked here and am convinced that no book could cover the subject more thoroughly or present it more beautifully. This is not a reference book it is the kind of book which is read from cover to cover and then read again purely for pleasure.
This book was obviously a work of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Similar to the local food!, 14 Mar 2005
Living in a very predominantly Turkish and Greek part of London, in this very well presented book I found many of the locally sold fares and having made a couple of my favourites, I would have to say they stand up well against the shop bought ones.
The recipes range from snacks and breads and pastries, making 'Village' cheese to meats, vegetables and desserts.
Apart from that, this book is very well illustrated with photographs, and gives the names of each recipe in Turkish and English. The introduction is interesting with a brief explanation of the different origins of some foods and explanation of of the areas of Turkey.
Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I can cook just like my Turkish grandmother., 4 Mar 1999
By A Customer
Basan used colorful and attractive pictures to get the users excited about "Classic Turkish Cooking." As a Turk who has grown up eating traditional and delightful feasts without any experience in cooking myself, I found Ms. Basan's book a breeze to follow. I strongly recommend CRACKED WHEAT WITH SPICY LAMB, it will wake up all your taste buds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and usable book - by Basan, not Dimbleby!, 21 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This large format hardback looks like a 'coffee table book' to be kept pristine and never used in the kitchen. In keeping with this appearance, it is full of beautiful colour photographs of many of the dishes. However, it would be a great shame to store this on a shelf and never use it, because the recipes are superb, authentically flavoured and easy to follow, including the best home-cooking versions of Imam bayildi and green beans in olive oil and tomato that I have ever come across. Extraordinarily both of these recipes work better for me than Claudia Roden's equivalents, which I have cooked for years! (YMMV of course.)
Buy it, use it and don't regret the oily finger marks on the high quality glossy pages. This is a practical cookbook as well as an intriguing insight into a food culture of which most holiday-making Brits only scratch the surface.
But Amazon - please note! This book is NOT by Josceline Dimbleby! Ms Dimbleby provides a foreword, sure; but the book itself is by the excellet Ghillie Basan. Credit where it's due please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Colourful Book, with a personal touch., 1 Feb 2001
The photographs of the dishes bring out the colour of Turkish cuisine, and the Basan's personal touch adds to the cookbook's readability. The book provides background to the origin of most of the dishes, and so is informative of the whole cuisine, and is not just a cookery menu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Turkish recipes, 21 Sep 1998
By A Customer
For those who have sampled it, Turkish food deservedly ranks highly amoung the kitchens of the world. This book is a marvelous introduction to the world of Turkish food.
The book takes you from meze to sweets with all the stops in between. The recipes have the sureness that comes of tradition and trial. The results are tantalizing. This is a cookbook to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I hoped it would be, 10 Sep 2009
Too often you buy a cookery book only to find that very little is what you can or want to cook yourself. Having enjoyed eating Turkish food I wanted to be able to easily recreate a wide range of distinctive dishes and this book is exactly what I hoped it would be. The recipes are well chosen as representative of authentic Turkish cooking, beautifully presented and explained, and easy to follow. I cannot recommend it highly enough and have found myself returning to it over and over again. Buy it - you will not be disappointed ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 18 Aug 2006
By 
J. K. Smith (Wiltshire , United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In many Turkish cookery books i cannot obtain the ingredients in the uk in order to carry out the recipe but I found few receipes in this book where this occured.Full colour photographs of the dishes , a nicely laid out book which I hope most of you will enjoy reading and using as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Turkish Cooking (Paperback)
Extensive and comprehensive list of Turkish recipes. My partner is Turkish and she swears by this book. Couldn't recommend it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Turkish Cooking
Classic Turkish Cooking by Photographs by Jonathan Basan (Paperback - 1 Nov 2011)
17.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews