Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The superlative guide for anyone genuinely interested in exploring Istanbul's history
There are guidebooks, then there are guidebooks. If you need a general introduction to the incomparable city of Istanbul, giving you an overview of its many and varied attractions, and perhaps helping you choose a hotel or a restaurant or nightclub too, there are several acceptable guides available - the Rough Guide is a fair bet, notwithstanding its inaccuracies...
Published on 12 July 2010 by Jeremy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars English, Please
Not bad, but really need more English translations of the areas shown on the maps and schematics. Too confusing for someone who has not been to the area before.
Published 8 months ago by ursafilms


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The superlative guide for anyone genuinely interested in exploring Istanbul's history, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
There are guidebooks, then there are guidebooks. If you need a general introduction to the incomparable city of Istanbul, giving you an overview of its many and varied attractions, and perhaps helping you choose a hotel or a restaurant or nightclub too, there are several acceptable guides available - the Rough Guide is a fair bet, notwithstanding its inaccuracies.

If, however, you are serious about getting away from the tourist drag and untangling Istanbul's many layers of history, truly getting to know the "real" place and how it has come to be what is today, then this is a book for you. Each of the 23 chapters takes you on foot along a suggested route through the streets and lanes of the Queen of Cities, enabling you to become acquainted with it in a way no other book I'm aware of makes possible. The authors are exceptionally well-informed, and prove themselves able to share their expertise in an intelligent and very readable way, devoting ample space to the countless sites of interest to the visitor without ever becoming tedious. If your particular interest is Byzantine history, or perhaps the Ottoman period, you can easily select which sites to visit - the book makes possible a pick 'n' mix approach to help you. Relevant input from historical and architectural viewpoints enables you to look at familiar locations through new eyes, and even to learn of the existence of sites you never knew existed.

The walks are of varied length, but none of them need take a full day. Plans of key buildings are detailed and appropriate to the text, and route maps are user-friendly minimising the chances of getting lost even in more remote residential areas. The 2009/2010 edition is bang up to date.

Absorb what this book has to offer before your visit, and it will genuinely enhance your experience - and thereby your memories - of Istanbul, a city like no other on earth. "Strolling Through Istanbul" has made available material previously available only in the old Blue Guide, until recently out of print for some years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Big and Golden Istanbul Book, 11 April 2010
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
I landed a few hours ago from my trip to Istanbul, where this book hasn't left my bag except to be eagerly read. This is not a classical, full of pictures, timetables, tips and tricks, and restaurant list guide. It's a guide that provides itineraries through Istanbul, describing in full historical and artistical detail what you find along the way. Includes more information and more places than any other guide, and it's very useful for reading while visiting; stop for a while, find the place in the index in the back, and read aloud for the benefit of your group, and to illustrate everybody. You'll be fascinated with the history, art and technique of Sinan, know about the descriptions of Evliya Çelebi and be able to spot Iznik tiles on sight. Granted. It's even more useful if you read, before going, Istanbul: The Imperial City by one of the authors, but, in any case, it stands by itself.
The only problem I find with this is that you'll have to complement it with, at least, a map (which you can ask in any of the Tourist Information booths, or at the hotel) and maybe some information on opening and closing times; some kind of prioritization would have also been a good idea, but, in any case, it's an excellent book to carry when you're in Istanbul, probably the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A guide for the serious visitor, 6 Feb 2010
By 
D. Baldry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
'Strolling through Istanbul' is a full and authoritative architectural guide. We shall use it on our future visit to the city. Meanwhile, we would warn that, while there are local maps in the various chapters, the visitor will also need a good map of the old city in order to find the way to each quarter that Freely describes. The book is not for the casual visitor, and everyone will also need a general guidebook (e g the Rough Guide to Istanbul).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars holiday extra, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
If you want to get more out of your sightseeing trip to Istanbul then this is the book for you. A bit heavy to carry around all day but as areas are clearly and sensiblely divided up, you could always break up the book and just take out sections each day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect guide for the serious visitor to Istanbul, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
On our recent trip to Istanbul, we found this book the best guide to the many historic sights of the city. The chapters are arranged by area and involve a detailed walking tour of the streets, with comments on ancient and modern buildings not covered by the usual guide book, as well as the main sites. We discovered many hidden gems. The style is scholarly but very readable. The book went everywhere with us and enhanced our visit. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 18 Oct 2013
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
There is more than i was expected.
Just one example: Did you know that the architect of bulding of British embassy in İstanbul is the same architect of Westminister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars English, Please, 15 Aug 2013
By 
ursafilms (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
Not bad, but really need more English translations of the areas shown on the maps and schematics. Too confusing for someone who has not been to the area before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a pocket guide, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
Comprehensive guide but too heavy to carry around therefore best for planning and reading up after visit. Great if you are a frequent or longer time visitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Guide to Istanbul, 20 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
One of the best guides I've found on the history and architecture of Istanbul. This is not a general guide, so you will need to complement it with a Lonely Planet, Rough guide or similar. I'm just back from Istanbul and pre-read this book before my trip. It gives a number of short walk itineraries together with the associated history and architecture of the sights you'll encounter on the way. Will put everything you see into context and vastly improve your travel experience. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual guidebook, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks) (Paperback)
We are not heading off to Istanbul until July so I have yet to make use of the guide within the city. I have, however, started to read it as there is too much information to take in in situ. Very readable and packed full of lots of background historical detail. Hopefully I'll have it read before our departure so that I can use it to simply remind me of my previous reading once there .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8f865d0)

This product

Strolling through Istanbul: The Classic Guide to the City (Tauris Parke Paperbacks)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews