Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2013
Dangerous Frontiers is a fascinating account of the author's military service and exploits in the Somaliland Scouts and the Sultan of Oman's Armed Forces. In British Somaliland 1949-51, Bryan Ray was doing his National Service; shortly after, he converted to a regular commission, and twenty years later he went to Oman to command the Sultan's Northern Frontier Regiment. It is fascinating stuff, not merely because it tells of the kind of life that (when I was a boy or young man) every boy or young man wanted to lead, but also because it gives an insight into the culture of both those countries and the mutual affection between the British and the local people with whom the author was working.

It is written in a highly accessible style, with imagination and humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
I bought this as I live in Somaliland and I have worked in Oman. Being too young to remember the days referred o, it was illuminating and sheds new iight on how these places were in the recent past.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Somalia was fascinating, I wish I'd been there.
Oman excellent, evocative and emotive, I was there for that one, but never met Bryan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
"Dangerous Frontiers" covers two almost contiguous zones, Oman & Horn of Africa. This is an extraordinarily vivid story of what it was like to be involved at the deepest level with the peoples of these two zones at some of the most critical periods of their history. Bryan Ray writes beautifully and the stories he recounts are full of surprises: one is, how to get a hyena out of a well. Try 50 guesses before you read the answers in this book...

A glorious, surprising and moving read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
I have spent time in Oman in the 70s and this is a well written and accurate record of the time. I totally enjoyed it and would without hestitation recomend to any students of history the earlier part of the book concening somaliland. Todays problems in that troubled land are put into historical context. Useful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
Excellent story well told and a compelling read for someone who arrived in Dhofar shortly after the author left. However, the spelling and punctuation errors were an irritation which detracted from the value of the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
An inspiring insight into one of those little known wars that the Brits did so well. No noise, no fuss, job done, unlike the cousins across the water. This and 'In the Service of the Sultan' will remain on my bookshelf, revisiting a certainty.
Thoroughly recommended to all especially those interested in the history of the secret wars of the twentieth century
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
An excellent book you can tell it has been written by a senior officer. The comparison between his tour in Africa and then in Oman was very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Very interesting book as parts of country's that one does not hear about very interesting book and the author's life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Having been in both Somaliland & Southern Arabia I recommend this book. It is a great read of a by gone era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)