Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2012
Walking D-Day' by Paul Reed is a concise, comprehensive and informative guide to the D-Day battleground. It is an invaluable volume for anyone making a pilgrimage to Normandy, identifying all significant places of interest with useful maps. This portable book contains many illustrations so that the visitor walking the footsteps of those that fought on D-Day can get a feel for what these courageous men experienced and reconcile the events of 6th June 1944 with the sites that are detailed in the book. Together with detailed narrative which features firsthand accounts from the participants and documents from the National Archives Paul Reed brings the story of this significant date in WW2 history alive. I highly recommend this great book.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Too many people rush through Normandy, pulling up at monuments to snap photos and looking at battlefields only as they drive past at 70 mph. This book encourages you to slow down and examine the battlefields in more detail. The walks detailed inside take in both the well known sites and those seldom found by tourists. With this book in hand, the hedgerows, cornfields, walled farms, bridges and crossroads will come alive for you as you contemplate the actions that took place in the summer of 44. The armchair reader too will enjoy the text - the author has walked and toured these battlefields personally and his years of experience and insight shine forth in the text.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
A must for anyone visiting the battlefields of Normandy. Myself a veteran of Normandy and have been many times with the auther who is a militery historian. One can miss many things by trying to "do it oneself" as I have done in the past. Ones memory of something that happened some 68 years ago can be vague. Good reading anyway from an expert.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
We bought this as we wanted an up to date book covering walks in Normandy. We visit regularly and know the landing beaches area well. The author clearly knows his subject and we felt the text added to our knowledge.

However, if you are planning to do the walks you need to know that they tend to be long several are 10 or 12 miles. Also the map for each walk is not easy to follow (very difficult on the Kindle, a little better in the paper version). An indication of where you are meant to go would help, such as a thicker line for the route. Also, on the map, the points of interest are numbered, but these numbers are not included in the text. Some of the directions are vague or misleading, e.g. 'walk down the beach for about a kilometre until you come to a path through the dunes'. In reality the path is right next to the first house you encounter, so why not say that? On another occasion it said to take a minor road, when it meant a footpath. Fortunately we always take a walking map, so we could work out where we were meant to be.

If you buy the Kindle version, you need to become adept at using bookmarks to navigate your way around. If you bookmark the page with the map on and also the one at the start of the walk, then you can switch between them as needed, but it's still quite a fiddle. We saw the paper version of this book on the ferry and it probably would be a bit easier to use - but at over twice the price and it's quite heavy for a long walk.

So, if they could improve the maps and Kindle usability this would be a very good guide. As it currently is, it's frustrating.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Bought this for my husband who is travelling to Normandy in June for 70th ceremonies . He is more than pleased with it . He already has a collection of good WW2 books & has studied the period for some years . He says it enables you to follow the campaigns you have read about & understand the overall strategy . The historical text is excellent & it has lots of previously unseen photographs . There are maps but he recommends supplementing these with the available BIGOT maps from the period . He is really looking forward to doing some of the walks .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
The book is complete and very useful for anyone visiting the Normandy D-Day locations, but two major faults, barely acceptable nowadays: poor black and white photographs, and we are in fact talking about a tourist guide, and too schematical and little detailed maps, which sometimes are hard to follow. The use of tools such as google maps or aerial pictures would be a great plus for a generally quite good book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
I used this guide recently when visiting the D-Day areas. While I didn't do the walking tours (due to time constraints) I was able to pick parts out easily to be able to do.
It has a good mix of accessible history and clear directions.
I would really recommend this to anyone visiting the D-Day beaches and Airborne areas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I bought this as a present for my husband - we planned a trip to Normandy this summer. Along with our Michelin regional map, this book helped us plan which D-Day sights to include. He was engrossed in the book - a sure sign that it was a good read. Several of the facts he chose to share were very interesting, if you are (or have) a WWII history buff, this would definitely be a good book to choose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
Paul R has written an excellent guide to the Normandy Beaches, I have taken his book to the region and used it there.
value for money , absolutely , it is clear , easy to follow, provides the reader with good ready to use information , background infromation which both informs yet does not overwhelm.
Maps, diagrams and photos are easy to follow , worth the small cover price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
I bought this to help plan a walking trip to explore the Normandy beaches and surrounding area. It was very helpful. The book is great for walk ideas and for giving some of the history though I feel that you also need the French Institut Geographique National 1:25000 maps for detailed route planning and navigation. This is the only book I could find that covers walks around the Normandy beaches.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)