Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for pilgramages to Normandy
Walking D-Day' by Paul Reed is a concise, comprehensive and informative guide to the D-Day battleground. It is an invaluable volume for anyone making a pilgrimage to Normandy, identifying all significant places of interest with useful maps. This portable book contains many illustrations so that the visitor walking the footsteps of those that fought on D-Day can get a feel...
Published 23 months ago by P Kendall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful with the Kindle Version
We bought this as we wanted an up to date book covering walks in Normandy. We visit regularly and know the landing beaches area well. The author clearly knows his subject and we felt the text added to our knowledge.

However, if you are planning to do the walks you need to know that they tend to be long several are 10 or 12 miles. Also the map for each walk is...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for pilgramages to Normandy, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
Walking D-Day' by Paul Reed is a concise, comprehensive and informative guide to the D-Day battleground. It is an invaluable volume for anyone making a pilgrimage to Normandy, identifying all significant places of interest with useful maps. This portable book contains many illustrations so that the visitor walking the footsteps of those that fought on D-Day can get a feel for what these courageous men experienced and reconcile the events of 6th June 1944 with the sites that are detailed in the book. Together with detailed narrative which features firsthand accounts from the participants and documents from the National Archives Paul Reed brings the story of this significant date in WW2 history alive. I highly recommend this great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great detail and a useful guide for visitors, 5 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
Too many people rush through Normandy, pulling up at monuments to snap photos and looking at battlefields only as they drive past at 70 mph. This book encourages you to slow down and examine the battlefields in more detail. The walks detailed inside take in both the well known sites and those seldom found by tourists. With this book in hand, the hedgerows, cornfields, walled farms, bridges and crossroads will come alive for you as you contemplate the actions that took place in the summer of 44. The armchair reader too will enjoy the text - the author has walked and toured these battlefields personally and his years of experience and insight shine forth in the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking D Day., 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
A must for anyone visiting the battlefields of Normandy. Myself a veteran of Normandy and have been many times with the auther who is a militery historian. One can miss many things by trying to "do it oneself" as I have done in the past. Ones memory of something that happened some 68 years ago can be vague. Good reading anyway from an expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 21 Oct 2012
By 
R. Stewart (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
Paul R has written an excellent guide to the Normandy Beaches, I have taken his book to the region and used it there.
value for money , absolutely , it is clear , easy to follow, provides the reader with good ready to use information , background infromation which both informs yet does not overwhelm.
Maps, diagrams and photos are easy to follow , worth the small cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying even if you don't plan on walking, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
Bought this for my husband who is travelling to Normandy in June for 70th ceremonies . He is more than pleased with it . He already has a collection of good WW2 books & has studied the period for some years . He says it enables you to follow the campaigns you have read about & understand the overall strategy . The historical text is excellent & it has lots of previously unseen photographs . There are maps but he recommends supplementing these with the available BIGOT maps from the period . He is really looking forward to doing some of the walks .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
I bought this to help plan a walking trip to explore the Normandy beaches and surrounding area. It was very helpful. The book is great for walk ideas and for giving some of the history though I feel that you also need the French Institut Geographique National 1:25000 maps for detailed route planning and navigation. This is the only book I could find that covers walks around the Normandy beaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and informative, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
I look forward to using this book when I visit the beaches in March 2014. What I have read tells a great story and appears to be very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walking D-Day, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
This was a birthday present for my husband who is planning to visit the area next year; he loved it. Read it from cover to cover and is starting it over straight away; very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful with the Kindle Version, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We bought this as we wanted an up to date book covering walks in Normandy. We visit regularly and know the landing beaches area well. The author clearly knows his subject and we felt the text added to our knowledge.

However, if you are planning to do the walks you need to know that they tend to be long several are 10 or 12 miles. Also the map for each walk is not easy to follow (very difficult on the Kindle, a little better in the paper version). An indication of where you are meant to go would help, such as a thicker line for the route. Also, on the map, the points of interest are numbered, but these numbers are not included in the text. Some of the directions are vague or misleading, e.g. 'walk down the beach for about a kilometre until you come to a path through the dunes'. In reality the path is right next to the first house you encounter, so why not say that? On another occasion it said to take a minor road, when it meant a footpath. Fortunately we always take a walking map, so we could work out where we were meant to be.

If you buy the Kindle version, you need to become adept at using bookmarks to navigate your way around. If you bookmark the page with the map on and also the one at the start of the walk, then you can switch between them as needed, but it's still quite a fiddle. We saw the paper version of this book on the ferry and it probably would be a bit easier to use - but at over twice the price and it's quite heavy for a long walk.

So, if they could improve the maps and Kindle usability this would be a very good guide. As it currently is, it's frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walking through history, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
I have traveled to Normandy many times before and thought I had visited it all, but this time I took this book with me and along with my usual companions we took some of the suggested walks. And I must say we enjoyed the walks immensely and found places of interest we had not found before and never would have by staying in the car. I would recommend this book to anyone who is visiting the area for the first time and indeed on a repeat visit, I am not a seasoned walker but found the walks very easy going and it was great to get close the area which is very beautiful and a great place visit even if you are not that interested in the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe)
Walking D-Day (Battleground Europe) by Paul Reed (Paperback - 17 May 2012)
10.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews