Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars41
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2013
My ancestors are almost exclusively Scottish While I can see the book being very useful to people with English predecessors I was disappointed in it especially as there was no indication on the Amazon website that areas outside England were not covered.
33 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
A wonderful tool which fills the gap between what is available and what is still a mystery!
Full of gems you wouldn't necessarily know about, such as the apprenticeship of orphans so the parish did not have to keep them, and charity registers, which give details of how and where the wealthy left their money to buy land or stock with the interest paying to keep the poor of the parish. Fascinating through and through! For family historians, a must buy, definitely.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
This is an exceptionally dry book of sources and ways to find you way back in your family research, saying that it is an excellent source for all the ways that you would never think of yourself to get back that couple of generations further
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Generally very useful , but found it a bit difficult to follow at times.
Found the early work not detail enough to use as a source for tracing data
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
lot's of hints for where to look when the internet and the parish records don't cover very early records and index's
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
I received my copy in good time and was pleased with the delivery time.
I found the book a difficult read and needed a good level of concentration, all the information is in there to help the researcher but I feel you would need to be a very determined person if you were to follow the advice in the book.
Having said that no one said it was going to be easy.

George
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
First book that I ordered for kindle.As a keen genealogist,there were some useful information,I had not thought of before.So I
generally liked the book and now that it is on kindle,it will be a useful reference for me.A good buy in all respects.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
A very good book, with lots of information on how to trace your family back to the 11th century. It tell where you can find this information and the advantages and problems you may encounter.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
The book is set out in easy to follow format. The writing is factual but in no way is it like a dry old text book. Would recommend to any one interested in family history. Excellent book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
This book is so helpful in taking your family tree back a few more generations. Lots more areas where I can try and achieve my goals.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)