Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for England. But Scotland does not feature.
My ancestors are almost exclusively Scottish While I can see the book being very useful to people with English predecessors I was disappointed in it especially as there was no indication on the Amazon website that areas outside England were not covered.
Published 10 months ago by George Christie

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family History Research
Generally very useful , but found it a bit difficult to follow at times.
Found the early work not detail enough to use as a source for tracing data
Published 18 months ago by Regwilt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for England. But Scotland does not feature., 4 Oct 2013
My ancestors are almost exclusively Scottish While I can see the book being very useful to people with English predecessors I was disappointed in it especially as there was no indication on the Amazon website that areas outside England were not covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family History Research, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Generally very useful , but found it a bit difficult to follow at times.
Found the early work not detail enough to use as a source for tracing data
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tracing your Ancestors, 12 Jan 2014
By 
G. Garner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Ancestors from 1066 to 1837 (Paperback)
I received my copy in good time and was pleased with the delivery time.
I found the book a difficult read and needed a good level of concentration, all the information is in there to help the researcher but I feel you would need to be a very determined person if you were to follow the advice in the book.
Having said that no one said it was going to be easy.

George
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is more like it!!!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Annie Wright ""craftymadam" (Thetford, Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Ancestors from 1066 to 1837 (Paperback)
This is an exceptionally dry book of sources and ways to find you way back in your family research, saying that it is an excellent source for all the ways that you would never think of yourself to get back that couple of generations further
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ancestry, 23 April 2013
By 
J. H. Troth (thatcham,berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First book that I ordered for kindle.As a keen genealogist,there were some useful information,I had not thought of before.So I
generally liked the book and now that it is on kindle,it will be a useful reference for me.A good buy in all respects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have read on the subject, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is set out in easy to follow format. The writing is factual but in no way is it like a dry old text book. Would recommend to any one interested in family history. Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A HANDY GUIDE., 9 Jun 2014
By 
Boris "Martin Lee" (Milton Keynes England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is full of very useful information for any Family Historian who wants to go back further than the Census's allow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family History Research, 10 May 2014
By 
ColChris (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Ancestors from 1066 to 1837 (Paperback)
lot's of hints for where to look when the internet and the parish records don't cover very early records and index's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tracing Your Ancestors from 1066 to 1837 (Paperback)
Excellent service and the product arrived in excellent condition. The quality is excellent and this will be a valuable addition to my family history source collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideas read, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth a read as a guide to looking further back. Have got some good ideas for tracing my ancestors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tracing Your Ancestors from 1066 to 1837
Tracing Your Ancestors from 1066 to 1837 by Jonathan Oates (Paperback - 19 April 2012)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews