Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterly tale
The story of Tommy Broom is a great tale of modesty in action. It has the thrills of a story that simply could not be invented interspersed with Tom Evans' sense of historical perspective.
Tommy's modesty is reflected throughout, and his mother's reactions and responses as he develops his RAF life and career are the examples of so many families and their sons and...
Published on 25 Mar 2008 by Philip Bedford

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull
I struggled to read this, there was no drama and nothing to draw you in. With no disrespect, but not worth buying in my opinion.
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterly tale, 25 Mar 2008
By 
Philip Bedford (Henlow, Beds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story of Tommy Broom is a great tale of modesty in action. It has the thrills of a story that simply could not be invented interspersed with Tom Evans' sense of historical perspective.
Tommy's modesty is reflected throughout, and his mother's reactions and responses as he develops his RAF life and career are the examples of so many families and their sons and daughters during wartime Britain.
It is a story of the development of a successful navigator and his several pilots as the war moves from France to Berlin, and as the crews develop from innocent youth to professional warriors. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Local Hero, 27 July 2011
Tommy told me shortly before he died that he had had a wonderful life. It was a life that few would have known much about had his close friend, local schoolmaster Tom Parry Evans, not persuaded him to commit his story to print. In doing so, we are privileged to learn, not only of his courage but of his supreme navigational and bombing skills throughout the war, much of it alongside his namesake and great friend Sir Ivor Broom. This is the inspirational story of a modest, gentle, man who left our village a boy and came back against all odds, a hero. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I struggled to read this, there was no drama and nothing to draw you in. With no disrespect, but not worth buying in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Story, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful story about a national treasure, Tommy's story should be made into a film. Tommy was an example to all and I had the great pleasure to call him my friend who gave me the pleasure to read both the manuscript and have a signed copy of the first edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brave gental man, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Squadron Leader Tommy Broom DFC**: The Legendary Pathfinder Mosquito Navigator (Paperback)
Having met Tommy at his favourite watering hole (The Poacher at Portishead) and read the origional draft of a Posset Lad, I always thought this was worth a wider audience, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mosquito Man, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Squadron Leader Tommy Broom DFC**: The Legendary Pathfinder Mosquito Navigator (Paperback)
So little is written about this aircraft's operations that it wasa joy to be able to find this edition..........although long out of print.

A must read by anyone with an interest in aviation history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Navigator and Patriot, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Squadron Leader Tommy Broom DFC**: The Legendary Pathfinder Mosquito Navigator (Paperback)
Tommy Broom had a brilliant career, he survived many times as a navigator right through world war 2. The most brilliant part was as a navigator on Mosquito's with his pilot also called Broom (Ivor). They were known as the flying Brooms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Squadron Leader Tommy Broom DFC**: The Legendary Pathfinder Mosquito Navigator
10.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews