Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somme tours
This is an excellant contribution to the Somme books as published by Pen and Sword. Covers some well-known areas, and other areas which have been badly neglected such as Gommecourt and Flers where tanks were used for the first time. What is good about this edition are the well mapped routes and suggestions for the first time visitor. Good photos too, particularly of...
Published on 16 May 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but not brilliant
The Somme is a large and complex multi-phase battle zone, and introducing clarity is hard. We used this alongside the Holts' guide. On balance we preferred that for its structure, but Reed's did have complimentary detail, and would serve perfectly well if it was all you had.
Published 7 months ago by paul stamper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somme tours, 16 May 2000
By A Customer
This is an excellant contribution to the Somme books as published by Pen and Sword. Covers some well-known areas, and other areas which have been badly neglected such as Gommecourt and Flers where tanks were used for the first time. What is good about this edition are the well mapped routes and suggestions for the first time visitor. Good photos too, particularly of the devastation the battle caused. Good all round account of what was perhaps the greatest battle of World War One.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAPPY READER, HAPPY WALKER, 20 May 2005
By 
M. C. Best "warwalkeri" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have used this book on a number of recce tours to the Somme. When asked, by battlefield visitors, how best to prepare themselves to get the best from their time on the battlefields, I commend Holts' books and maps as a 'get you in pack'. For those who need greater detail and who wish to walk as well as drive, then I commend the Battleground Europe series. Of this series, this book and its companion volume "Walking the Salient" remain my favourites. They're well-researched, packed with quotations and photographs from primary sources, and provide clearly written, easy-to-follow route descriptions and sketch maps. Paul Reed has invested much of himself in becoming one of the current experts and enthusiasts on WWI matters; and he's always happy to share his knowledge and to encourage others through his excellent website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 July 2004
This is indeed an excellent walking guide. Tried it last weekend and had no trouble at all finding my way. What it does miss however is an overall map of the area (it does provide a map per walk). A map showing the area around you could really help in finding the towns and villages mentioned in the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great walking guide!!, 6 Aug 2003
By 
J. Page "J Page" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first purchased this book before visiting the Somme battlefields and found the content a bit dry and also expected more of a background to the battles. If you are looking for detailed information about the battle of the Somme there are numerous books out there that cover the subject in great detail. I highly recommend reading one before visiting the area, particularly Martin Middlebrook’s “The first day on the Somme”, which is excellent.
However, it is not the intention of this book to be a detailed history of the battle of the Somme. Instead it is a well structured walking guide that provides information to the reader regarding particular areas that are of historic importance and gives some first hand accounts from the people who were there. The book contains accurate maps drawn by the author and also gives approximate times as to how long each walk takes which is extremely useful. There are also some excellent photographs of the places and individuals that are described in the text which, when standing on the actual ground, lends a whole new sense of reality to the events that took place there.
When I read this book now it transports me back to the places that I have visited and it will certainly accompany me when I visit this area again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful book for Somme touring, 9 July 2012
This review is from: Walking the Somme (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
We spent five days (4 nights staying in Peronne) visiting the Somme battlefields, and made extensive use of the new second(2011)edition of this book.

Whilst the Holt's Guide to the Somme proved more useful in planning our days out in advance, Paul Reed's book proved excellent to have with us once we were actually on the spot. We didn't do any of his walks in their entirity, but found ourselves doing portions of many of them, and he was particularly useful in indicating pathways through fields which can be walked, and cemeteries which were worth a detour.

I would have liked better maps, but the Battleground Europe series all seem to be weak on maps. But there again the much-vaunted Holt's map of the Somme proves to be poor as well - not nearly as useful as you think it is going to be, with complicated keys which have one constantly turning the map over to look on the reverse for the meanings, and it has simply loads of minor inaccuracies as to roads and paths.

Paul Reed clearly has a deep interest and knowledge of the areas concerned, and if you are going battlefield touring on the Somme then this book will greatly enhance your visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walking The Somme, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking the Somme (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
Better than earlier edtion. Walk much clearer, than Walking Arras, will comment further after visit in May. Nothing more to say at moment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but not brilliant, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking the Somme (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
The Somme is a large and complex multi-phase battle zone, and introducing clarity is hard. We used this alongside the Holts' guide. On balance we preferred that for its structure, but Reed's did have complimentary detail, and would serve perfectly well if it was all you had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent guide to the Somme battlefields and the monuments. Highly recommended having recently visited the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Paul R does a good job., 13 Mar 2014
By 
R. Stewart (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking the Somme (Battleground Europe) (Paperback)
A region of France which I hope to do more than drive through some day and Paul R has done a good job in this guide book.
Easy to read, good clear layout, sets the scene well and gives the reader a concise uncomplicated yet detailed account of the battle and what to do , what to see and how to get there.
I have used Paul's D-Day guide book and found it useful , this book presents in the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the enthusiast and even more importantly, a first-time visitor, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Walking the Somme. I have yet to walk one of the many routes in this guide but reading the planned routes stirs memories of our first visit to the Picardy area of northern France. Literally 90 minutes from Calais this guide vividly reminds us of our first visit (our second is planned and arranged for May 2014). We will, on our visit, attempt one or two of this guide's walks. From our experience the landscape is undulating rather than hilly and full of reminders of the horror that took place 100 years ago. Our first visit was life-changing for us, in the fact that we were embarrassed by our ignorance. This guide will further our knowledge of the area and its battlefields. First World War information in this publication, regarding the Somme, is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking the Somme (Battleground Europe)
Walking the Somme (Battleground Europe) by Paul Reed (Paperback - 19 May 2011)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews