Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mosquito
I purchased this book for my Uncle's 90th birthday. In WW2 he was stationed in Cornwall with the RAF to repair Mosquitos. He was a master carpenter and was reserved to this occupation which was actually a lot safer than his original application to be a rear gunner. The book is very comprehensive in that it covers the history of the Mosquito from concept to the production...
Published on 1 May 2011 by Peter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but lacks any meaningful analysis.
I am not a historian, but this book appears to provide a reasonable and comprehensive description of the role of the Mosquito in the second world war. The majority of the text consists of (unreferenced) personal descriptions, perhaps taken from debriefing documents, and this provides a useful and engaging insights into how the individual pilots and navigators felt and...
Published 11 months ago by Liz B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
information is mind blowing reading it is not a chore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MOSQUITO, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very comprehensive and interesting including schedules and pictures - it brings back memories of my RAF days in the 1940's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book but very factual, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed it but it is more factual rather than stories of individual operations. Good for those who want to know the different types of Mosquitoes and where they operated. I still enjoyed it in shorted lumps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Critical review, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: The Original Multi-Role Combat Aircraft (Hardcover)
Basically a very good book for the Mosquito enthusiast, with lots of new (for me) information. However there are a lot of errors, if the book is to be taken as a factual reference book. Many of the errors may be 'typo' and not fully proof read. Some of the 'photo titles have incorrect descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars plenty of photos and a good history of the plane, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: The Original Multi-Role Combat Aircraft (Hardcover)
Fast and efficient service,well packed,I bought it for my dad's birthday,he used to watch the mossie's as a boy when the war was on,and always talked about them,he really likes the book,plenty of photos and a good history of the plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mosquito, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great read about a fantastic plane.

All you need to know about the plane is in this book from it's conception to it's active roll.

Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book for those who have an interest is planes, especially WW 2 planes. Very informative. The mosquito would be my favourite plane from that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mosquitoe, 10 Oct. 2013
By 
Keith (Brotton, Saltburn,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forget about tabulation and the seemingly endless list of aircraft markings and you have a really good read about an amazing piece of valuable engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much detail can spoil a good read, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: The Original Multi-Role Combat Aircraft (Hardcover)
I read this book with a good deal of previous knowledge about the Mosquito story.I found it to be easy reading,which kept me interested,even though a lot of the facts contained were not new.My only criticism of the book would be that it attempts to include too much minor detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mosquito: The Original Multi-Role Combat Aircraft (Hardcover)
Just what I wanted - full of facts and descriptions. A useful reference book as well with interesting photos also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mosquito: The Original Multi-Role Combat Aircraft
Mosquito: The Original Multi-Role Combat Aircraft by Graham M. Simons (Hardcover - 17 Feb. 2011)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews