Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars90
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2012
This was the first book that I have read by Richard Hopton and I hope he writes many more. Very well researched,interesting and entertaining and indeed difficult to put down. It was sad that Ryder VC an incredible and very brave sailor later found Parliament and the Retail Business difficult. In my opinion this book is a must for anyone who enjoys reading naval or military history.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
I knew of the actions that this man was involved in but not his name which is not surprising given his nature and explained by the title. One cannot fail to be staggered by Ryders casual acceptance of injury and death that went hand in hand with the operations he planned and took part in. The only real surprise is that he survived the most dangerous actions pretty much unscathed, if you have a guardian angel you have to hope it is like his. His other roles behind the scenes are no less fantastic. The book is well written with clear descriptions of plans and action. It is no wonder that with people like Ryder on our side we were able to defeat the Germans.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
An inspiring story of courage and adventure. I recommend this biography to anyone interested in the sea, the second world war or a life well lived.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
What an incredibly interesting life Robert Ryder led.
You think its a slow start, but this shows what a comitted person wih pure determination can achieve against all the odds.
It is an inspiration to us all in this modern selfish world we live in.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
One of the most enjoyable books I have read this year. An incredible life story of one of the heros of WWII. He was a man who led from the front and had the capacity to inspire others to achieve great things. If you are interested in naval history, sailing or Antartic exploration all between one cover, it is difficult to think of a better beautifully written book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
What a wonderful person this man must have been, and so much he achieved in life both for himself and for the Country. A very enjoyable story.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
one word describes this book -excellent. a truly amazing
account of the life of a remarkable and adventurous navy man.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
The classic concept of an Englishman..self effacing, brave, resourceful and what an amazing love and passion for the sea !!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
The story of the Saint Nazaire raid is probably one of the best modern examples of the British tendency towards raiding. This is a well written book paying tribute to one of the Great heroes of WW 2. Captain Ryder deserves to be remembered in this way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Standing high with the stalwarts of our naval tradition, the trait of Cook, Scott, Bligh, outstanding in navigation, to command is a lonely life, he was a
Great naval officer is that not the greatest accolade he would have wished for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)